We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-round hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2005

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of November 2005 and it was an excellent all-round experience. We upgraded to a superior deluxe room which had a 6 foot bed, a huge bathroom, a balcony and loads of room. The food in both the restaurant and the bar was really good and both were really busy on the 3 nights that we were there! They have musical entertainment on 3 or 4 nights a week and it was great to see the locals doing their set-dancing on Friday night.

The management and staff were really friendly and helpful and the pool and leisure centre were lovely (the pool temperature was a bit hot for me, but that's my personal preferrence - my husband loved it!).

The hotel was spotless and the cleaners were friendly and very efficient.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel either to a couple who want a bit of craic or to a family who are looking for somewhere to bring the kids!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dubliner41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 881 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
457
Reviewed 1 November 2005

We stay at Whitford at least 4/5 times per year. We love it!

The hotel started off in the house of Kathleen Radford and Jim Whitty (has sadly passed away) and has developed into a hotel in it's own right, with it's own conference rooms, leisure centre etc. (Whitty & Radford=the name of Whitford)

It is still owned and run by Kathleen Whitty. She is not hands-on, but can be seen eating in the bar most weekends. Her sons/daughters and family are management there.

The hotel is classed as 3star, however, as I travel quite a bit for leisure, I would class it as 4 star.

BAR
It has a newly renovated bar, which serves carvery and bar food. The food is second to none.

RESTAURANT
Footprints Restaurant serves lovely food. It has much coveted AA Rosettes. The presentation of each dish is also superb. I simply have not tasted a better steak! No request is too much. Liam (maitre'd) is fantastic at his job and all the staff are so helpful and friendly.

LESIURE CLUB
Whitford has a recently built deck swimming pool, also with gym and treatment rooms. Lovely lesiure club only open to club members and guests at the hotel.

ROOMS
Standard rooms are basic, but comfortable.
For an extra €25 per room per night, it is well worth upgrading to a superior deluxe room. It will mean being housed in a newer wing of the hotel, with a huge bed, much larger room and a balcony/patio.

ROOM SERVICE
Room service is great. We always order our breakfast to the room and it is delivered at the exact time specified! Ok, so it costs extra, but it's well worth it.(especially if you have a superior deluxe room, with 2 armchairs and a table)

LOCATION
It is located on a roundabout on the main Dublin-Rosslare road. It is 15mins walk from Wexford, you can drive it in about 5 mins. Takes about 20 mins to drive to Rosslare beach.

SUMMARY
We have enjoyed every stay at Whitford and have never, ever had any reason to complain over anything-not even anything small! Absolutely faultless!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2004

have spent 2 weekends in Wexford this year, at the same hotel as it was AB FAB! Wexford is one of the most amazing places I have been to and I have traveled the world. It has a great nightlife with live bands playing in most pubs. The food everywhere is outstanding. The Whitford guest house is excellent, every detail was perfect it was the equivalent to a 5 star hotel in London the leisure center was amazing and very quiet. The restuarant was divine, and the breakfast unbelivable. The rooms (superior deluxe) just perfect. What can I say, this is one town and hotel you must visit.

21  Thank rach1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No tuve ningun problema con la habitacion en la que me aloje. Fue una habitacion doble y te hacia se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,686 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,933 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
431 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club

Address: New Line Road, Wexford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Family Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: £54 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitford House Hotelis a 4 star hotel which prides itself on old traditions and first class facilities that ooze luxury. If your idea of a getaway break is staying in luxury hotel accommodation, indulging in fine locally sourced food while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing in a jacuzzi and hydro therapy pool followed by a decadent spa treatment, then this family run hotel is just for you. Located just 3km from medival Wexford town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitford Hotel Health And Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing