We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverbank House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverbank House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very welcoming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in this quaint hotel for 1 night stay on 27th December and were very impressed with this place. The staff are absolutely lovely and the hotel is quaint and inviting. The dinner and breakfast were perfect and we would definetly recommend and return.
The location is across the bridge from the town, with beautiful views and a short walk to shops and pubs.

Room Tip: Beautiful views if you can get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65susiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm C, Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear 65susiel

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the food so much and reassuring to learn of the friendly staff.

We hope you had a safe onward journey and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards
Colm Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    117
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
102
137
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

As president of one of the many bridge clubs in the Wexford bridge centre I am delighted to report that all of the bridge players who attended the Christmas dinner in the hotel had nothing but total praise for the meal, the staff and the atmosphere. This latter is created by the wonderful Christmas lights that line the opening, the candles and open fire in the reception and the welcoming attitude of management that travels down through all of the staff. A great experience and super value for money. Well done and thanks for making the night special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review the Riverbank House Hotel. Please forgive the lateness of my response as seem to have missed responding to you but remember very much reading it with great appreciation at the time. I very much appreciate your thoughts and appreciation of out little hotel and hope your group will return soon. Kind regards, Colm Campbell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were just in Wexford from Sunday 8 Dec to 10 Dec. We had a great stay at the Riverbank. The hotel is quaint and very inviting. We arrived before check-in and Barry made sure we were able to get in our room early. The bed was very comfortable after long travel and the staff was very helpful on our first trip to Ireland. We went to a concert and arrived back at the hotel late, but the bar was kept open for late drinks and the bartender was great. We'd love to stay again.

Room Tip: Request a riverfront room for a beautiful view of Wexford Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_S201330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riverbank.

We are delighted you enjoyed the facilities, Food and more importantly that my team looked after you well.

We look foward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Colm Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at the Riverbank Hotel for one night, but I was still met with the care and respect I would assume would be left to guests of a more lengthy stay. We entered with no reservation and got a room. We were given our room key and shown the way. After that we didn’t stay in the hotel for too long, we only returned at the night so I can’t say much about the service but the room was clean and the employees were nice. It had the utilities that you’d expect in a hotel (t.v, bed, kettle, etc.) so I was given no reason to complain.
The food was great, we only had breakfast but it was good nonetheless. The service was also great; the waiters and waitresses were very kind and mannerly.
The overall experience was a pleasant one and I would go back again if I was given the option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Ben

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We love hearing from our guests and your kind comments will certainly help our morale in the busy season.

We look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Colm Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel Thursday evening and we were met by candles all along the entrance and the delight continued into the hotel. The staff were lovely and so helpful added with humor. We had a meal in the hotel and the food and service were 5 star. We had a late check out so had breakfast in bed, just fab. We will go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Kitters1

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Colm Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the second time I stayed in this hotel and both stays were excellent.

What makes the Riverbank stand out from other hotels is the amazing customer service; the friendly staff and their willingness to go the extra mile.

Whilst booking the hotel, small chat led to me telling the lady I had passed my final exams and was excited to celebrate in Wexford that evening. On arrival, our room was fabulous and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries with "Congratulations" written in chocolate was awaiting. Such thoughtfulness and kindness; making every customer feel valued.

I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear lorrl5

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor on your recent stay here with us.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Riverbank House Hotel.

We take great pride in our friendly and efficient staff, as well as all other aspects of our services and are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards
Colm Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently and really enjoyed it. Place was clean, food was great. Although it is a little old fashioned, our room was perfectly fine. Excellent value for money. Will be returning very soon, i hope

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colm C, General Manager at Riverbank House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi Nicola

Many thanks for the fantastic review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your kind comments which I have shared with the entire team. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Colm Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
2.4 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
2.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbank House Hotel

Property: Riverbank House Hotel
Address: The Bridge, Wexford Y35 AH33, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverbank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Since opening the Riverbank House Hotel our aim has been to create a refreshing alternative venue for exceptional yet reasonable accommodation, good consistent food with availability all day and a level of service to be proud of. From the feedback I have received to date I am confident we have achieved, and are maintaining our goals. However we are constantly striving to improve our standards so that you ‘the customer’ receive the highest possible level of service and customer care. Whether you're passing through or a registered guest, on behalf of the management and staff, I wish you an enjoyable stay with us at The Riverbank House Hotel." Colm Campbell, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Riverbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbank Hotel Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing