We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy at night and Spoilt by breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. George Guest House
Ranked #6 of 29 Wexford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
N/A
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noisy at night and Spoilt by breakfast”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

When we stayed at St Georges guest house we stayed in a a room at the front of the house which we found we were woken up in the early hours by people shouting as they were passing by we stayed two nights and it was the same on both Also the breakfast was very poor as it was over cooked and was not very presentable or apitising Room was satisfactory towels changed cleaniness satisfactory

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annekincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    30
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
34
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Wexford on our way around Southern Ireland! Based on the local tourist office recommendation, we booked a night. Very clean, the owner took pride in the building and grounds. He was a gracious, thoughtful host! Close to Wexford city center, it is a wonderful pace to stay! Good value

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for just over two weeks and have no complaints whatsoever. The weather was cold all of the time I was there but the central heating was on 24 hours a day - so lovely and warm. Michael keeps the place immaculate and such a good host. The breakfast is good too, cereal,fruit,yoghurt,fruit juices, several choices of breakfast and as much toast and coffee as you want! Good location to the town just a few minutes walk and plenty of places to find something to eat and drink. There is also a car park so you get off road parking which is a big bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock2Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here over St Patricks weekend and cannot reccommend it enough! The rooms are lovely, free wifi and satelite tv, absolutely perfect for a relaxed weekend! The whole property is really charming with a beautiful recpetion, lounge areas and the breakfast room really adds to the friendly, relaxed atmosphere of the place. Looking back through the rest of the reviews they are completely right, michael is a fantastic host, so friendly and helpful and great fun too! I really cannot reccommed it enough, it really was the highlight of a brilliant weekend in a brilliant little town, stay here and enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MT_Mockler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here in sept during the national
Ploughing championships. Michael was so helpful and welcoming at such a busy time and he couldnt do enough for you. The breakfasts were great! This place is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed and MichaelIs a fantastic host - location great too v.central :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel 31st August 2012 as a group for a family wedding. The owner of the guesthouse Michael was very friendly and went out of his way to help in any way he could. A member of the family hadn't been able to travel due to illness and Michael was great reducing the rate for a single room instead of charging as booked - something he didn't have to do. Great location close to the local town. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of toast and always an offer of extra eggs / bacon etc if you wanted. Rooms were clean and tidy - adequate for a base when travelling. Would definitely return here when visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I'm not overly impressed by this guest house. The location is excellent as it is right in the centre of town, just a couple of minutes to the main street. It also has its own car park which is a very definite plus given the lack of parking places in Wexford town! The host was lovely on check in. The room was nice, however the bathroom was a little cramped. The next morning it took a while to get served our breakfast. We were sitting in the breakfast room for some time before anyone appeared to greet us, which was a little awkward. We were not offered a choice of breakfast-merely asked if we wanted tea or coffee, and when we asked about a cooked breakfast we were left under the impression that the hostess would return with our tea and then ask about our preferences. Not so. We were left sitting again without anything in front of us. The tea only arrived some time later with a full breakfast, which we hadn't wanted in the first place as we don't eat everything on it. It may be hospitality on their part, but it is a bit of a waste of food. I felt it was quite a poor breakfast with regard to the standard of food-it seemed overcooked and a bit tough. I do hope they work on this, as otherwise our stay was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sall3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wexford hotels
0.5 mi away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,736 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Jim McGee's Traditional Bar and Guest Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Guest House

Property: St. George Guest House
Address: George's Street, Wexford, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and staff assure you of a warm welcome to the St.George Guest House, situated in the centre of Wexford Town in the heart of the Sunny South East. From here it is but a short walk to shops, nightclubs, restaurants, and all other amenities, while a brief drive will take you to miles of sandy beaches,angling,golf,tennis,horse-riding and many more outdoor activities. E-mail Michael directly for best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St. George Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing