We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed in the excellent Woodenbridge Hotel and availed of their fantastic 3 rounds of golf and 2 nights B&B all for €145!! You play Coolattin GC, Arklow GC and Woodenbridge GC - all with different challenges but all a good test of golf. The hotel is great with a choice of bar food or the restaurant - either serves up good fare at reasonable prices. The staff are efficient and friendly and there is always good craic in the bar. At the given price it is excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorp688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review, we love to hear feedback from our guests. We are delighted that you had such an excellent experience here, and enjoyed our golf deal. Our chef was delighted that you thought the food here was good, and at a good price. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, we take service here very seriously, all our staff have been with us for a number of years. As the oldest hotel in Ireland, there is always a great atmosphere and we are thrilled you included this aspect in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back for another game of golf very soon.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I booked this as our centre point for a 3 day tour around Wicklow. It did not disappoint, it is a little gem set in lovely surroundings with easy access to the most scenic parts of Wicklow.
The hotel is probably one of the oldest surviving Coachmans Inns in Ireland, dating back to the early 1600s. It has a new purpose built lodge on the banks of the Aughrim river across the road from the main hotel, with ample parking and was where we spent our 2 nights. It is a good location for sightseers, walkers and golfers.

My first impression when I drove in and parked was a little off putting, the lodge due to it design has many external corners and these were full of Cobwebs. This appears to show a lack of maintenance. However inside, it was very clean and not a cobweb in sight. Room was spacious and clean, there was a comfortable double bed and a single bed, with the usual tea making facilities, TV and hair drier.
It would have benefited from Air Condition due to the exceptional warm weather we are having at present.
There were two minor issues with the lodge,
1. The room doors slam, and this it is easily fixed by maintenance adjusting the door closers.
2. The window is a patio door and as we were on the ground floor it was not possible to leave it open in a secure position while we slept. This would not have been an issue if the room was Air Conditioned.

However the above should not put you off staying here.

The staff were excellent, friendly, courteous and jovial. Food was excellent and was the reason we eat in the hotel both evenings.
There are many old pictures on display, but no information on the history of the building displayed, which was a shame, given the history associated with the place and the area.

Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely and we will return.

Room Tip: If staying in the Lodge pick a room upstairs on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we greatly appreciate and take seriously all guest feedback. Firstly I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities provided were up to par, as the satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. We have looked into the issues you have raised, we appreciate all suggestions as it helps us make our hotel more comfortable and a better experience for our guests.
I am delighted to hear that you explored the area, as Woodenbridge and Avoca are abundant with natural scenery and breath-taking views. You are correct the main Hotel is over 400 years old, making it the oldest hotel in Ireland, we do provide history on the area in our complimentary historical brochure, on your next stay, make sure to pick up one as it is very informative. We look forward to seeing you here in the not so distant future.
Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I booked a surprise 40th party for my husband in the ' cowhouse ' a small function room within the hotel adjacent to the bar which comfortably holds 50 to 60 people , we had finger food around 11 pm which was fresh and very well presented , the room itself was decorated very tastefully with tea lights all around and lovely chair covers adding to the ambience . Staff were friendly and very helpful and manager Gerard o Brien ensured everything we needed for the night was catered for including the fabulous family meal we had in the Restaraunt for 12 people prior to the party itself . The room would also be ideal for communions , confirmations or just family get together a where you want a little bit more intimacy and not a large half empty function room. Management were open to all my suggestions and helped in any way including allowing extra decorations I put up in the afternoon . There is a small stage which was perfect for the 2 piece band we hand Citrus Sam and Miss Tangerine playing anything from the Beatles to Adele in acoustic style , just fab ! All in all a great venue for a great party atmosphere , beer was flowing and a warm welcoming hotel . We and our guests stayed overnight in the hotel , great accommodation and a delicious breakfast . Thanks to all the team at the Woodenbridge especially Gerard , we will be
back x

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvachell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed in the old part of the hotel while on a short business trip in last june. It's not 5 star but it is charming and also has all necessary amenities in the room and hotel area. The breakfast was good with prompt service. Check in was courtious and quick and the bar food was good. The setting is great and the sense of history seeps from the very timbers of the building - as the oldest hotel in the country it should be on everyones list. Most certaintly not a chain hotel.

Larry, Newbridge, Ireland

Room Tip: Go for the old rooms and enjoy the history of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful and positive review. Woodenbridge Hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland, dating all the way back to 1608. There is great atmosphere and character to the hotel, and the framed photographs and documents from yester year provide an insight in to the history of the area. We strive to maintain the original charm of the hotel and we are glad that you appreciated the atmosphere whilst you were on a business trip.

The newer Lodge Building is known for its tranquillity and peacefulness. We constantly get positive feedback in relation to our food and I am delighted that you found the food so good. We hope you stay with us again, and hopefully it can be a leisure trip next time.

Kind regards,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting, good food and service. Played golf on great course, staff very attentive at golf club. Stayed in the lodge rooms across the road from the hotel, rooms were clean and suitable, however all the doors slam and if your stay coincides with late night revellers it can be noisy!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNENIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we always look forward to hearing from our guests. Our staff were delighted to hear your positive comments, it gave them a great boost and encouragement! The staff at the golf club will be delighted to receive such nice comments. We do not normally get complaints about the noise of doors but we take all comments very seriously and we shall look into trying to reduce the noise for our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review, and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had our wedding at this hotel over a weekend, and were absolutely delighted with how it turned out. The staff really take care of you - the attention to detail is second to none, and the atmosphere is wonderful (as is the food!) They are very good about small details, like providing complementary tea and coffee while you're waiting for taxis and so on, and they're excellent value. We were left with such good memories that it's now our first choice of hotel when we're in the area, and on a recent stay we were amused to find that the staff had remembered us, and booked us back into the bridal suite!

With respect to the visitor who had trouble while staying at the same time as a wedding: we did not find that this was a problem at all. The hotel bar had quite a few locals and other visitors present on the night of our (large!) wedding, and they didn't seem at all unhappy - I was congratulated several times! I would also note that the hotel gave us a choice of which of our guests to place in the "noisy" bedrooms over the bar. We were able to put guests who were guaranteed to be up until the end of the party in there, which meant that the music wouldn't be likely to disturb visitors wanting a quiet evening.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning on staying in the area!

Room Tip: Accessibility is somewhat limited in the main hotel (one of the downsides of a historic building) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NotJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Lillian and Ger,

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, and I’m glad it was an enjoyable one. I am delighted you found the food so good and I appreciate your comments in relation to the staff here.

We place a huge emphasis on customer service here in the hotel, all of our staff have been with us for a number of years, and we consistently get positive feedback from guests regarding the quality of the service. All feedback we receive is displayed in the staff areas, and it is a great encouragement to everyone involved when we receive such an excellent review.

I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hotel, as we aim to maintain the original charm of this historical hotel. Ireland is full of beautiful, historical locations, but we believe Woodenbridge is up there with the best of them, and I'm glad you agree.

I'm glad we could do our bit to make your stay such an enjoyable and peaceful one and I hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Regards,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in the lodge and the rooms were excellent, clean and tidy, the breakfast was superb too. Filled you up for the rest of the day.

staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, highly recommended, this is our third time here and it won't be the last

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Norms23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent, positive comments regarding your stay with us. The Lodge Building is known for its peacefulness and tranquillity, and we are thrilled to hear you thought the rooms were to such a high standard. We constantly receive positive feedback on our food and we are delighted that you agree.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff. We place a huge emphasis on customer service here in the hotel, all of the staff here have been with us for a number of years, and we consistently get positive feedback from guests regarding the quality of the service. It is a great encouragement to everyone involved when we receive such an excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
708 reviews
21.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
19.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,037 reviews
6.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
522 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing