We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That view WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for one night last weekend.
Although the hotel is hard to find even with gps we were not disappointed when we got there! The view from our room was just breathtaking, we felt as though we could of been in a different country.
The staff were friendly and food was good, I would stay in this hotel again only next time We will bring our clubs.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fififerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. As a family run hotel, all of the staff have been with us for a number of years, and it really is a great lift to everybody when we receive such positive feedback. I'm glad we could do our bit to make your stay such an enjoyable one and I hope to see you back with us in the near future. Don'f forget your golf clubs!

Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed in the Woodenbrige for 1 night. It is in a great location. A family run the hotel and are very friendly. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that there is no lift, but the staff were more than happy to help. The food is lovely especially the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated and I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. The hotel itself is over 400 years old and unfortunately due to the nature of the building we are unable to put a lift in, because of this we always offer a helping hand and would certainly bring your bags to the room. Thank you again I hope you will visit us again in the not so distant future.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in the Lodge (annex) a five minute walk from the hotel.
The hotel is quaint in a low ceiling, dark furniture kind of way. We didn't see the hotel bedrooms, which were full. The Lodge bedrooms were bright and we had a view over the river.
A hearty Irish breakfast was enjoyable but don't forget to order some fruit as it doesn't come automatically.
Good location for golfers.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is lovely to receive such kind comments, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us such a thoughtful review. From quest feedback we have recently updated our bar, and restaurant menus, introducing a new breakfast menu, keeping with some old favorites and introducing a variety of healthy options, to cater for all whilst being environmentally friendly, we are delighted they went down a treat. Woodenbridge Hotel is the oldest in Ireland, dating all the way back to 1608. We are quite conscious of the immense history of the area and there is a great atmosphere and character. Maybe on your next stay you will get a chance to experience the hotel rooms.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I have been staying at this hotel every year since 2007 and one of the things we always enjoyed was the breakfast. As in the vast majority of Hotels across Ireland, guests could help themselves to cereal, grapefruit segments, prunes, yoghurt etc, before tucking into a hearty "full Irish" cooked breakfast. But not anymore! Some brightspark, perhaps a new manager (?) probably for cost cutting reasons, has introduced a new breakfast menu and now you can either have a "low calory" breakfast where such things as cereal fruit etc are provided OR you can have the Irish breakfast -but not both! This is very disappointing especially as prices have also gone up. We paid 95 euros for B&B in the lodge part of the hotel ( a separate building down a hill from the hotel) in what is afterall only a 3* hotel. Lodge rooms used to cost from 65 euros a night as the large board outside proudly displayed. It's now nowhere to be seen?

Room Tip: Pick a lodge room as they are away from the main hotel and in addition to being much quieter, are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerobrien, General Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your stay was not completely to your satisfaction. Just on the issues you raised, firstly on the smell in the corridor, we had an elderly man in one of the other rooms attending a local summer school who accidentally left a tap running which completely flooded his room and the corridor. We did our best to rectify this with the minimum of disruption to other guests, but unfortunately the water damage did cause a bit of a smell in the corridor for a couple of days. In appreciation that the damage was totally accidental, at our own cost, we’ve now replaced the carpet and the problem is completely fixed.
On the breakfast menu, we take all guest feedback very seriously and any changes or initiatives we undertake are generally as a result of guest feedback. It was from such feedback that we noticed our guests were increasingly looking for more variety and healthier options. We brought in a new breakfast menu that included items like home-made granola, pancakes, smoked salmon as well as all the usual. Prior to launching it we consulted with our almost 6000 fans on Facebook as well as many regular guests and to date it has been generally well received. Cereals etc are all still available but not on a buffet. However based on your feedback, maybe this isn’t clear enough and I will take a fresh look at the menu and attempt to rectify this.
On the price, our prices have not changed that much to last year, we did remove the €65 sign, but this rate was always only a room only rate and is still available off peak. Your rate of €47.50 per person for bed and breakfast is the same price as last year for B&B.
I hope this answers most of your questions, and I hope you will come back gain some time and give us a chance to redeem ourselves. If you would like to discuss this further with me, please call me on 0402 35146.
Kind regards,
Gerard O Brien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable 3 days at the hotel.
It was very pleasant and comfortable, without being overwhelmingly grand.
The staff were local, friendly and helpful.
The place, and the people, had a local, friendly atmosphere that appealed to me.

Room Tip: We were in an extension to the original building. I would prefer to vein the older part. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It’s always such a pleasure to receive such a positive and complimentary review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would have to agree with you, the area is very relaxing and has a welcoming idyllic ambiance (including breath-taking views!) There is a great atmosphere and character to the hotel, and I am happy to hear that you felt comfortable and well looked after by our team, as customer service is our main priority. We look forward to seeing you here again in the near future and .

Kindest regards,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here recently. Food was great. Fresh and very tasty. Lovely staff and the food not to expensive....... Lovely little place for an old hotel. Warm and cosy. Although it was very busy , our order was taken shortly after we sat down and we were served our food within 15 mins. Will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am particularly pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us; it is nice to get a little treat, so let us do the cooking for you! As a family run hotel, all our staff have been with us a number of years and we are delighted to hear you found the service efficient. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Woodenbridge Hotel for 2 or 3 nights bed and breakfast and one evening meal ; included in the promotion. We had a lovely meal in the bar when we were not using the restaurant. We stayed in the Lodge part of the hotel, our 2 nd visit. We would have liked to stay in the old part but there was a wedding party and maybe they had booked that section. The lodge is fine. It is modern, rooms are spacious with views of a strong flowing river. Good and free car parking. an ideal location for touring Wicklow or playing golf. I assume the local club welcomes visitors.
The wedding party had a disco on Friday night in the ballroom attached to the old hotel so we were glad we stayed in the Lodge.

Room Tip: Some wedding groups hold noisey discos so ask the receptionist to give you a quiet room in the Lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pauldublinrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbhotel, Receptionist at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is lovely to receive such wonderful feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay; I have to agree with you, the lodge is very relaxing and tranquil, especially with the river flowing behind it. When you are booking next time, if you ask for the hotel we will give you a nice room, and will certainly let you know if there is a wedding on, as you mentioned you liked the quietness of the lodge. We have many golf offers and packages with all the local golf clubs; maybe on our next stay you can include a round or two! We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Is mise le meas,
Ciara Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
4.3 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
708 reviews
21.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
19.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,037 reviews
6.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
522 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge

Address: Vale of Avoca, Arklow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the vale of Avoca, one of Ireland’s most beautiful locations, and established in 1608, Woodenbridge hotel is the oldest hotel in Ireland and one of the few remaining family-run hotels. The hotel itself overlooks the vale of Avoca and the amazing Woodenbridge golf club, while Woodenbridge lodge is adjacent to the main hotel and is surrounded by peaceful gardens on the banks of the Aughrim River. All of the rooms are en-suite and with complimentary wireless access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodenbridge Hotel And Lodge
Woodenbridge Hotel Arklow
Best Western Woodenbridge Hotel
Best Western Arklow
Arklow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing