We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knockree Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hostel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We arrived at the hostel on a dark, wet and windy night to find that our room had been upgraded! The room was big and very clean with a large and very comfortable double bed which had lovely clean sheets on it. The en suit was nice and clean with a good shower that had lovely HOT water, which was exactly what we needed to warm up on our night of arrival and the next after a long day of hiking. After we worked out how to turn on the heating the room warmed up a treat. Possibly the best part of our trip was the breath taking view from our room (which was named Maulin) presumably after the rather large mountain that could be seen in all its glory through the window from the bed. The duty manager was extremely accommodating and very friendly. She gave us advice about good places to go for food and allowed us to borrow one of the hostel maps when we were hiking up to Prince Williams Seat on a rather windy day to make sure we didn't get lost. On the last morning of our stay we ordered the hill walkers breakfast which was wonderfully cooked and very tasty on a lovely sunny morning. There was great facilities for cooking your own food and a wonderful comfortable TV room to sit in and relax. Basically I cant recommend this hostel enough. It made our trip to Ireland wonderful and I will defiantly be returning with friends in the summer!

Room Tip: Ask for Maulin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha16454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    24
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
24
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very comfortable, well kitted out hostel! Very friendly accommodating staff and rooms are spacious, modern, clean and well kitted out, most with en Suite. Great base for walking in the Wicklow mountains.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I really enjoyed my visit to Knockree it was really away from it all, pleasant and helpful staff, great kitchen and dining area, breakfast was also provided if you choose. Rooms comfortable but would have liked a locker in my room. I will be back it was so relaxing. Met really friendly people. Recommend it highly. We did a moonwalk spectacular views of countryside by nightfall.

Room Tip: every room I imagine it quite here you are in the countryside surrounded by mountains, green fields...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilkenny Town H... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Worst experience I've ever had at a hostel. I say that having spent a total of 18 months backpacking in hostels through India, South East Asia and South America.

Myself and my friend wanted to walk part of the Wicklow way over a few days so we booked a twin room.

The room itself was disappointing, at the back of the old house, austere, no views and a paper thin walled ensuite that channelled the noise of the water system (? we think?) so there was a regular engine roar and a strange clunking noise, day and night. The single bed was an extremely uncomfortable thin foam mattress and you could feel the springs sticking in to you all night. There were only two plug sockets in the room and they were positioned close to the ceiling so our charging phones had to dangle precariously at the end of their leads, crashing down a couple of times.

But we shrugged off our disappointment in the room as we were only staying one night. We didn't mind the astonishingly early check-out time of 9.30am as we intended to be up early to keep on walking the next morning anyway. All we needed was a place to get a good nights sleep.

Unfortunately we didn't get that.

As we were told by the defensive manager the next morning, the hostel is a "youth hostel" and so our expectation of a good nights sleep was not just unrealistic but unreasonable.

A youth group of about fifteen teens were in the new building next door and, having been working together on a worthy project, their leaders thought it'd be only fair to bring them away to celebrate their hard work and let them "blow out and enjoy themselves".

I would've thought that the leaders wouldn't choose a hill walkers hostel in the most peaceful valley in Wicklow marketed as "an ideal rural retreat for those who want to ‘get away from it all" for a big blow out, but there you go. And they duly partied in that wonderfully noisy way that teenagers do, their revelry carrying for miles no doubt through the still air of the countryside.

None of this is particularly strange. I've seen it before plenty of times. I've seen the staff of hostels burst into dorm rooms to confiscate stereo players, quieten down arguing couples (and couples doing other noisy but happier things), evict drunk guests out etc. Its a tough job running a hostel. I don't envy them.

Not so with this hostel though.

By 1.30am we began to realise that the party was not being stopped and we were going to have to complain ourselves. So my friend stumbled outside in pyjamas, went across the yard and asked them to stop. Their leader apologised and immediately stopped the party. We eventually went to sleep, uncomfortable bed springs and roaring engine noises notwithstanding.

We got up, groggy and tired the next morning to have breakfast and met the youth group's leader who apologised again and explained the celebrations. We didn't really blame them though, it's the management's responsibility to make sure people are considerate to other guests.

After breakfast we sought out staff to complain to. We expected to meet someone who wasn't aware of what had happened, concerned to hear we were unhappy, apologetic, keen to make amends, keep our future custom etc. You know, normal customer relations stuff.

Oh my god! Talk about the opposite! The duty manager from the previous night was in fact the woman looking after breakfast and she certainly didn't appreciate receiving a complaint. She told us that she knew all about the noise, she'd been here herself and she'd spoken to them a couple of times about the noise too, but that this was a youth hostel and they were young people. She said that when we went out to the group ourselves at 1.30am it was "only" one hour past 'quiet time' and they'd quietened down after we spoke to them, hadn't they?

We pointed out that the hostel was marketed as a hillwalkers hostel and we'd paid €64 for B&B and should be able to expect a decent night's sleep. She replied that she was "sorry you feel that way".

We were gobsmacked by her defensive attitude. I've never experienced anything like it. She had a stand-up public argument with us in the middle of the canteen. I also found it very hard to believe she'd gone out to the group about the noise herself as she claimed, considering they were so instantly responsive to our appearance at 1.30am.

We could see this was going nowhere, so we asked for the number of someone else we coukd talk to and then left immediately. My friend was shaking with shock at her aggression towards us and her defiant defence of what had happened. She followed us out to shout after us that we had to come back and put our breakfast trays away.

The combination of the bad experience the night before along with this awful response from the staff completely ruined what was supposed to be a relaxing and enjoyable break away in the countryside.

If you're going to market to "individual hiker, couples, families, groups" as their website does, then you should be making sure you properly care for each of those people's needs. Like sleep.

A 'quiet time' of half twelve in a hill walkers hostel with a check out time of 9.30am is a questionable policy combination for starters. But given that that's the case there should be zero tolerance of noise after that time.

You should also train your staff in customer service and how to deal with problems.

But clearly the bread and butter of the hostel is big youth groups /schools and so the needs of those customers dictates how the place is actually run.

The manager's assertion that "this is a youth hostel" should, in that case, be stated categorically by the marketing people and they shouldn't market to the rest of us.

Anyone over 18 with unreasonable expectations like sleep should go somewhere else.

I recommend you do just that. There are B&Bs along the Wicklow way better suited to you for around the same price and they might actually give a flying one about your experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RosieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here as part of large organised group. Staff were very amenable and accommodating of our sometimes rowdy (but lovely) young people, even down to the late-night, accidental fire alarm. The surroundings are scenic, the grounds have plenty of spaces and the hostel, despite being large, really retains a homely feel- the TV room feels like you really could be at home. Has it's own shabby-chic style ( think polished concrete with 70's teak and Swedish superstore) the I found really homely and welcoming. We didn't eat their food, but kitchen was very well stocked for us to prepare meals for over 20 at a time. Plenty of space made available to us to store our large amount of supplies too! There were also a couple of decent vending machines and a coffee machine. A games room with ping pong table doubled up as a great space to carry out group work and meetings. Has a partner business on site, offering outdoor activities at reasonable rates too. The atmosphere was great too, in true hostelling spirit, we met all sorts of people who were very friendly and interacted with the young people travelling with us.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms in the hostel building as opposed to in the adjacent main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowLovelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

If you are looking for a getaway in to the Wicklow mountains be it for a walking or cycling break you will get no better location than this hostel. Friendly staff at check in, great facilities and easy on the pocket this was a great find. Lovely atmosphere among the other guests which added to our stay. Stunning scenery all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dunnangallIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This place is excellent, so far from the usual hostel. the rooms are modern, spacious, comfortable and cool. The whole place is so cool, great laid back atmosphere and funky furnishings. We loved the sunny breakfast room and beautiful grounds. The food was yummy and we were glad of the kitchen for making our own lunches to take with us the next day. There's also a room with lots of films to chill out in and watch some movies - great. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight downside for us was a rather pokey, cold shower room.
Overall, we loved our stay!

Room Tip: We got to the hostel early and managed to bag the two beds on the mezzanine level, which was great b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
16.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
12.7 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
11.2 mi away
Glendalough International Youth Hostel
Glendalough International Youth ...
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Avon Ri
Avon Ri
#2 of 2 in Blessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
21.8 mi away
Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockree Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockree Youth Hostel

Property: Knockree Youth Hostel
Address: Lacken House, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knockree Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Knockree Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing