We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I recommend !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse

Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I recommend !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A clean and simple hostel with a cozy and fully equiped kitchen. I particularly want to mention the very friendly host Ian that seems to be always ready to give you some good advices (in my case for hiking tours). I recommend!

Room Tip: You definitely should go hiking on the wicklow walking trail, it's wonderfull!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good quality hostel, located close to shops/pubs/restaurants. Homemade wheaten bread made for breakfast, along with a selection of cereals. Free Wifi, good showers and a very friendly owner more than happy to give tips on seeing the local sights. Good quality for a staying on a budget

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hostel would have been great had it been a bit more clean. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and meeting other travelers. The location is pretty unbeatable too. Wifi is very good and the owner has lots of great Wicklow tips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

A perfectly located, good quality bunkhouse. The owner is amenable and looked after us very well. The room facilities (shower, heating, wi-fi, lounge, kitchen etc) were good too and overall the bunkhouse has a lovely character and feel about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amymv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The bunkhouse is lovely, I had a really great time there, the owner of this place is the nicest person ever, he even drove me on a rainy day to go buy a suitcase cause mine was broken.
The rooms are nice, the shower is the best shower I've ever had on my trip, the people who stayed there were friendly and the atmosphere there was the best.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayelet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the private rooms in the "back" house for a few nights. Although the room was nice enough, clean, comfortable, the best part was the friendliness and hospitality of the owners. We had a wonderful Irish meal prepared for us on our last night. It was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flikflak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a while in October, it is fantastic! Wicklow itself is a great town and this hostel is just a walk away from everything there. The breakfast is good for 2€, Ian's home made bread is the best! Ian is a local and helped with all of our questions, and he was happy to drive us out to the amazing glendalough national park (15€) Definitely recommend this one!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
7.8 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
9.0 mi away
Glenmalure Hostel
Glenmalure Hostel
#2 of 4 in Wicklow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse

Property: Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse
Address: Bachelor's Walk | Wicklow Town, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With family, private and dormitory rooms this is the perfect stop off for your trip in Ireland, close to Dublin yet surrounded by the beautiful scenery of the Irish coast and Wicklow Mountains National Park. Run by an Irish couple, this Victorian house in the seaside town of Wicklow wraps you in an old fashioned Irish welcome. Located smack bang in the centre of Wicklow Town on the river bank 60 seconds from the beach and main street. Hourly buses to and from Dublin and regular rail connections make Wicklow easily accessible. The self catering kitchen is well equipped and there is a supermarket behind the hostel. Lounge in our beautiful common room, relax to music while reading, enjoy a film and surf our free wireless internet. On cold days enjoy a real coal fire. Many rooms have their own private bathroom and can be booked as privates for families or friends traveling together. Homemade Irish Brown Soda bread is baked fresh for breakfast. Captain Halpin’s Bunkhouse is happy when you are happy and it is the staff’s goal to help you enjoy your holiday. Some things to do: Wicklow’s Past Wicklow’s Historic Gaol- short Irish history using actors in old prison- well worth the visit. Ghost hunting- night time in Wicklow Gaol spooky time Halpin Trail and museum- The story of Captain Robert HalpinEasy Time Great picnic spots Do nothing- just chill - pick your quiet spot.- perhaps by the Old Black Castle ruins Good pubs Sandy Beach Brittas Bay or ask about the secret beach –shh! Sea trip to Wicklow head and seal colony possibly dolphins and basking sharks too!A bit of exercise – nothing too strenuous Coastal Cliff Walk and seal colony Flat seaside walk Golf Driving RangeWork up a sweat! Bicycle hire Summer swimming in harbour –daytime lifeguard last year the dolphins were there too! Great Wicklow Hikes- let us tell you about some great walksEnjoy a Local Festival Wicklow Arts Festival Annual, 26 – 29 May 2011 Round Ireland Sail Fest- Biannual next June 2012 Bray Jazz Festival annual Easter weekend Annual Wicklow Regatta- great local festival last week of July and first week of AugustDo something different Horse riding Play golf Go Fishing- Cookery classes- numbers dependentTake a Trip Forest Walk with sculpture/poetry and waterfall Glenroe Farm Day trip to Dublin Tour in Wicklow Mountains including Glendalough Free Stuff:Breakfast- continental- includes homemade Irish Brown Soda Bread, Bed Linens and Duvets, Coffee and Tea All Day, Wireless Internet connection, Advice, Boarding Pass printout. Staffed around the clock- manager and night warden. Directions: We are easily accessed by both bus and rail. Bus is best there are hourly connections. Take the 133 bus route from Dublin Airport or from Dublin City Centre. The train will also take you straight to Wicklow from Dublin City Centre, Dun Laoghaire or Rosslare Harbour.By car From Dublin Airport, take the M50 Southbound. Continue onto the N11 and take the exit for Wicklow Town, this should take just over an hour depending on traffic. From Dun Laoghaire follow the signs for the N11 or M50 Southbound and take the exit for Wicklow Town. If you are driving from Rosslare, take the N11 Northbound and take the exit for Wicklow Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing