We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We knew it was good as soon as we arrived.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 14 Wicklow B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We knew it was good as soon as we arrived.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

It is simple logic to look at what others think is good and follow
Them. When we arrived the parking was busy but manageable and for a midweek out of season the place was busy (full). The rooms were bright and airy and the solar water provided copious hot water. Breakfast was fresh and ample and it was just simply a really nice place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    22
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for one night. The owner was very welcoming, we had a lovely comfortable bedroom. There were tea/coffee facilities in our room, along with a welcome jar of flapjacks. The town of Wicklow is a short drive away, and we enjoyed an evening walk, and also a lovely meal in a local Chinese restaurant.
Breakfast at Glen na Smole is lovely - lots of choice - and this is served in a lovely sunny room. Would definitely recommend, and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevIdForrest86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Fiona is so friendly and helpful. The ambience of the property is just so inspiring. The room was spacious and spotless. And, what a delicious breakfast. We loved everything about this facility and would certainly stay here again. Fiona, we hope you enjoy the Garth Brooks concert in July...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband I stayed here during our vacation. I HIGHLY recommend anyone considering booking to go for it. You won’t be disappointed. Breakfast was top notch and Fiona made us feel right at home. She also gave us great suggestions on what to do and where to eat. Located just a short drive from town, Glendalough, and Powerscourt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I wouldn't have enough words to describe how amazed we are. I have stayed in a couple of B&B's and I can surelly say that it is teh best B&B I have stayed at. Location is great. It is located in 4 min by car from the city center. The interior design is just amazing. Everything was decorated with love. Rooms are just lovely!!!! We really adored our room. My mother was staying in a single room and that room had an exit to the backyard, which is really amazing. The sitting room is a cosy place where travellers can relax in the evenings. Our child adored crawling there.
Breakfast is the most delicious I have ever had! There is a range of items in the menu.
We have stayed just one day (it was raining the whole day), but we will definitely come back. A big THANKS to Fiona, she made our stay unforgettable. She created the best B&B in the whole world!:)

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleobyrne, Owner at Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks Anya for such a very positive review - it is much appreciated. Hopefully the next time you come to stay at my bed and breakfast you will have better weather and will be able to get out to see the beautiful countryside. Your glowing review means so much when you have seen so many other beautiful places both here in Ireland and abroad! Again, many thanks. FIONA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Wanted to get out of Dublin after an early evening arrival. This was a great b & b. It was an easy 50 min drive from the airport.

The room is great. Comfy beds and pillows.

Breafast is first rate.

The owner is lovely and very helpful. As an Aussie it was a joy to have Vegemite for breafast!!!!

Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleobyrne, Owner at Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here and if you are ever back this way again you will be more than welcome at Glen na Smole. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Fiona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Fiona is a lovely host. Although I'm late with the review, it's certainly needed as this is a great little place. 3 night stay with sister. Fiona picked us up from the bus stop in Wicklow 7:30pm after our flight from Edinburgh and bus from Dublin airport. She also dropped us to the train station the afternoon we left. Comfortable and warm, perhaps a little small, but not an issue for us. Can walk to town, a good 10minutes though. Walking back is on a very slight incline and I'd recommend catching a taxi (5 euro) at night as there aren't many people on that road, however, it is lit. Plentiful breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emcen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
8.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Lodge B&B
River Lodge B&B
#4 of 14 in Wicklow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glen Na Smole Ashtown Lane | Marlton Road, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing