We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3 nights were great”
Review of River Lodge B&B

River Lodge B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Lodge B&B
Ranked #11 of 12 Wicklow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed three nights in May and we were very happy with the accommodations. We rented a car so the car park was a plus for us. The landing below the car park was a lovely place to sit and relax. The swans swimming by were a nice touch. There is market just down the hill, and a pharmacy, and then the pubs and restaurants all within walking distance were great. We especially liked the Bridgehouse Pub. The bathroom was tight but it was an ensuite, the water pressure was great as was the hot water. The only complaint was that the wifi was weak in the front room. Still, considering our next hotel wanted 9 pounds for an hour of Internet access free wifi was much appreciated. Breakfast was really good, too.

For those that are wanting a quite place to stay outside Dublin this would be a great choice. We didn't mind the drive and the peace and quiet in this lovely little town made it well worth while.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Trish was the sweetest host ever. We only stayed one night but she made us feel like family. She makes a great cup of tea & coffee and breakfast was amazing! The b&b is very cozy and in walking distance into the main part of town. We literally stepped out and walked down the road to restaurants, coffee shops and pubs. We also walked down to the harbor. I loved my experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Trish is a fantastic host who makes a wonderful cup of tea and is a wealth of information about the local area and beyond. The room are spacious and comfortable, though you need to go up stairs to access them - not a problem for us, but it may be for some. If you go in December, just remember it can get a bit cool. Breakfast was really good - fantastic white pudding served.

Rive Lodge is just a few minutes walk from the centre of town and easy access to pub food - though just be aware that on Mondays in winter, not all pubs have food. If that happens, Mario's takeaway makes good pizzas, chips and hamburgers and there is an off-licence at the opposite end of the street to Mario's.

Room Tip: Not needed all of our rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 885Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We didn't have reservations when we showed up in Wicklow. We found Trish at the River Lodge. The place was very clean and comfortable. We had a large room that was facing the street, but it was still quiet and nice. We would definitely go back.
We loved Wicklow! Great place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a tour or Ireland.
Landlady (I’m rubbish at remembering names) was very welcoming and friendly, we had a good chat and she gave us plenty of tips for the town and area.
Parking at the back is quite spacious, with room to turn to get back out.
From the car park there are a few steps down to the river. It must be lovely there in nice weather!
We ad the studio room, which is like a little flat. Access direct to the car park at the back too.
Shower was a little small, but plenty of power and hot water.
Breakfast was great.
We had to leave very early one morning, so landlady left us a jug of milk in our fridge while we were out for the evening, so we could grab some cereal in the breakfast room opposite.
Secured Wifi is available (password in the hall), and worked well. Signal in the studio room we had was good.

Room Tip: studio room is spacious, and quiet, and good wifi reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadTenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for one night and can't fault this place on any point.....Trish (landlady) was so friendly and welcoming, room was lovely, food was fab.....nice gentle stroll down to the water, spotted an inquisitive seal, and watched the Viking longboats.........when in Wicklow, stay here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetaL275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We travelled with 4 adults & 2 small children. What a fabulous place to stay! Trish was such a welcoming & helpful hostess. Breakfast was fabulous, probably one of the best cooked we've had in over 3 weeks of b&b's in Ireland.
There is a lovely setting by the river where you can sit & watch the ducks, swans, fish & crabs in the river at the back of the lodge. Good parking, wifi was accessible, but not in the bedrooms, though they were updating it with an extra aerial, which would provide wifi in the bedrooms too...the bathrooms were a bit tight, but the water pressure was awesome & the water hot. Beds were comfy & you could park the car & walk everywhere from there! Place was kid friendly & Trish even offered a lift if we needed it... There was also a area to sit inside & chat. You could hear as other guests came in & went upstairs but it didn't affect our stay or the kids sleeping at all... It really as a fabulous place to stay & would def recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shilo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wicklow hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#2 of 4 in Wicklow
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Halpins Town House
Halpins Town House
#9 of 12 in Wicklow
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bridge Tavern
The Bridge Tavern
#8 of 12 in Wicklow
77 reviews
0 mi away
Knockree Youth Hostel
Knockree Youth Hostel
#1 of 7 in Wicklow
109 reviews
8.4 mi away
Abhainn Mor Guest House
Abhainn Mor Guest House
#10 of 12 in Wicklow
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge B&B

Address: Riverlodge Church Hill, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Hotel Class:3 star — River Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Lodge BnB is located in the heart of Wicklow Town on a quiet side street. It is an ideal location for golfers, hikers, garden enthusiasts and cyclists. we are located just 55 minutes from Dublin Airport on a direct route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your River Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing