We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bridge Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bridge Tavern
Ranked #5 of 14 Wicklow B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a 2 yr old and a 6 week old so the rooms are definitely soundproof! Tea and coffee making which helped for the bottles and a nice clean bathroom and very comfortable beds. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra27Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisling D, Public Relations Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sandra27Ireland

Thank you for your review of the Bridge Tavern, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your comments to the House keeping staff, who were pleased to find that you found your room comfortable and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at the Bridge Tavern again soon

Kind Regards

Aisling Doran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    22
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed at the bridge tavern on a friends recommendation- in town for his wedding. It was the perfect choice!! When we arrived Friday night the tavern was bumping, amazing live band and excellent vibes. We joined the fun as we knew we wouldn't get to sleep until the revellers had gone home! If you're staying the weekend in an Irish tavern you better be prepared to let your hair down :) 
Breakfast was spot on, the full Irish is excellent and the cinnamon French toast also- had to have the same again the next day!! 
Our room was clean and comfortable, simply decorated & we had a top notch sleep. It's not fancy but it really didn't need to be! You can't get a lovelier location in wicklow town, bang smack in the middle of everything, and yet just off the main streets, so you're very close to the sea. Plus it's got a lot of history with captain Robert Halpin having been born right beneath those very eaves (argh! I forgot to look for the piece of transatlantic cable in the snug bar...!) - the place is over 250 years old.
Bus eireann direct to/from dublin airport- takes 2 hours but is very accessible, we didn't need a car the whole weekend.
The icing on the cake, the thing that really made this experience, is how awesomely we were treated by Peter, Gerry and everyone there. They were so lovely and helpful (eg letting me check in for our flight online using their computer & leave our bags in storage for a few hours after we'd checked out) and it made such a difference from the indifferent treatment you get at so many hotels. We really loved staying here and would return in an instant. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orange5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aisling D, Public Relations Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear orange5000

Thank you for your review of the Bridge Tavern, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to let your hair down with our great live music!

I have passed on your comments to the House keeping staff, who were pleased to find that you found your room comfortable and clean and that you had a top notch sleep!
I have passed on your comments to Gerry and Peter and we all look forward to welcoming you back at the Bridge Tavern again soon

Kind Regards

Aisling Doran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay here, we love it, hassle free, relaxed, cheap, staff are very friendly and helpful, food is excellent, beer garden is a sun trap, atmosphere is brilliant and the band on Saturday nights are awesome. A mixture of locals and tourists. We'll def be back :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv O, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this review, 29 July 2015
Hi Rayberri

Thank you very much for such a great review - we can't hope to do better than that! We look forward to having you here with us again soon and hope you find your next visit just as good

Kind Regards
Viv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

On arriving at the tavern, we were asked to pay as we checked in; I wonder now in retrospect whether that's because after some visitors have seen the rooms they have chosen not to stay..??!?! While the food at the tavern is good and certainly value for money, I am afraid to say that I can't say the same for the room. We had no hot water on arrival so we were unable to freshen up, before a party which was being held at the tavern. The room and bathroom bothed smelled stale as though the room had been vacant for sometime and had previously been occupied by a heavy smoker. The room was a good size for the price but one of the covers on one of the beds had a stain on it and my mother thought her bed covers smelt of feet. The price of the room per night is very reasonable so maybe it's a case of getting what you pay for. On the plus side the staff at the tavern are friendly and service was always accompanied by a smile. It's a real shame that the rooms let them down because the pub grub and breakfast were very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a really lovely meal in the Bridge last night. The chicken & gnocchi I had was so tasty. I would totally recommend the orange chocolate cheesecake too. It really was absolutely delicious! Compliments to the chef and everyone else involved.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv O, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this review, 29 July 2015
Hi GWicklow

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us so much and have passed your compliments on to the kitchen staff, the cheesecake is one of my own favourites too!

We hope to see you again soon and many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review

Kind Regards
Viv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I booked in last saturday night and from a previous bad experience i thought to ask the staff to put the heating on in the room and was told no problem, after 15 minutes in the room nothing was happening so went down to the bar and a member of staff came up and showed me how to use the central heating but he actually turned the white knob clockwise instead of anti clockwise so after putting it back on nothing was happening, back to the bar and was given two keys for two other rooms same situation one knob even fell off in my hand so I ended up using two quilts for the night, met the owner next morning and all he had to say was ill look into it, I have stayed there many times before and have brought friends and recommended it to others but never again, customer service from the owner yeah right was not offered breakfast or discount nice way to treat customers thanks for that.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colm k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I dined here with my hubby this evening & the food was excellent. The pork belly with scallops is divine as are the many starters. My only criticism is the cost of a main course is €22 which I find expensive but the quality of the food is very good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
#1 of 4 in Wicklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
11.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.0 mi away
Captain Halpin's Bunkhouse
0.7 mi away
Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Tavern

Property: The Bridge Tavern
Address: Bridge Street, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bridge Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing