We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Cafe

Bay Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Coffee & Tea in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Thank you Jennifer and John for booking us into this wonderful Bay Cafe for lunch last week. The atmosphere was wonderful, very busy, it is so popular, you really need to book a table. The staff were very cheerful and attentive. Now for the food. I have never tasted Granary bread like this (recommended by Jennifer) I had a BLT on Granary, it was freshly made and delicious, I would like to know what coffee they use, it was wonderful. All i can say is if you are ever in the vicinity of Brittas Bay, please visit this cafe. You won't regret it. Thank you Belinda and staff for a wonderful treat. I will be back on my next visit to Ireland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    14
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Bay Café, Brittas Bay is well worth stopping at on route between Wicklow and Arklow by the coast road. It is run by two sisters Belinda and Maria and both the food and friendliness make a visit so relaxing and enjoyable. Delicious freshly baked cakes are a speciality! It is a little oasis of calm just beside the wonderful sandy beach of Brittas Bay and is very well supported by both local people and holidaymakers from the nearby mobile home parks. The sisters serve delicious evening meals on Friday and Saturday each week. Do stop at the café, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“exceptional , worth the trip from the N11”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

healthy breakfast exceptional ( in fact all the menu ) , 5 star at very reasonable prices ,
best kept secret of brittas bay, great service ,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just so lovely....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

From the decor, to the display of cakes, to the presentation of the food, to the friendly staff - I love this place. Thin my favorite is the poached eggs and bacon with green leaves. Plenty of healthy things on the menu if your watching the waistline, and on occasions where you let it slip the pancakes are amazaballs!
Great spot to call into if you have just had a walk on the beach and fancy some lovely home-cooked tasty food - or in the summer if you fancy a bite of lunch in the sunshine. I am from Brittas Bay area and often love popping down to the Bay with my Granny or Mum. This place is open about 2 / 3 years, before that there was nothing like it in Brittas Bay, I think all the locals are delighted to have this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smaguired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab little coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Quite a find near to Brittas Bay Beach. Lovely little coffee shop with excellent food. Great choice for breakfast, brunch or lunch or just a catch up coffee with your friends. Ate lovely pancakes with fresh fruit when I visited, but the variety of home baked goods on offer on the day was also very tempting. Will definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mythmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Cafe also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing