We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Mystic Celt

The Mystic Celt
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Mystic Celt will open in Wicklow town in October. No bookings from September 15th until October 10th as we are renovating. "The Mystic Celt " restaurant is the dream of Paul and Sylvia Smith. We are trying to promote an age-old tradition that nourished not only our forefathers' bodies, but also their spirits. Thus we coined the phrase "Traditional Celtic Cuisine." Ireland has an enviable reputation for good wholesome dishes, many of which offer some of the finest quality foods.Recently we have developed a new awareness of the dishes of our ancestors and the confidence to recreate and enrich our native culinary tradition. A new Irish food culture is growing, driven by the lavish bounties of our seas, lakes and the rich land of Erin.Our "Traditional Celtic" menu is a celebration of the rich, ancient food culture of a uniquely beautiful land. This is our tribute to the country of our birth, a land where we are privileged to live.
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

From arrival to leaving we were made feel special and welcome. It was our wedding anniversary and to our surprise were brought out beautiful pavlova with happy anniversary in beautiful icing on the plate, after out meal, It is the simple gestures like this and the head chef and proprietor Paul, coming to each individual table after his long day to speak to customers to make sure you were happy is what makes this place so unique. Excellent staff and excellent food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you Joy for not only a lovely review, but also for sharing your anniversary with us. It was our pleasure to have you dine with us and look forward to plenty more anniversary celebrations. Slán agus beannacht Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for The Mystic Celt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely food and lovely service, we visited in May 2013 and haven't been since as it is too pricy for us. I would definitely recommend though!!

Thank Chyna_Le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you Chyna for a great review and yes we have listened to customers like yourselves. We not only do our famous early bird menu for 25.00 for 5 courses, we have also priced each dish individually so you can have 1, 2 or 3 course. On a wednesday night for an extra 2.50 (27.50) you get your 5 course with a glass of wine or a bottle of beer including craft beer. We are also the cheapest restaurant in Wicklow town for our fillet steak per oz. Would love you to visit again and see what you think of our new prices and menu. Slán go foill Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The food was good, the service was great and the design and layout of the restaurant was excellent. Having live lobsters in a tank on the way in gave you all the confidence you needed to order one - they were fresh and kicking. My advice, leave room for the desert, they are fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you John for a lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed our lobster tank. All lobster and crab come from Wicklow Bay. and your right they are still kicking. We have a new dessert menu coming soon, so you will have to return. Slán go foill Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a lovely meal in this restaurant last night. the service was great, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was even better! Would definitely recommend the Mystic Celt to anyone looking for a good quality restaurant in Wicklow Town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much John for your review and for taking the time to review us. The Mystic Celt family really enjoyed your visit and look forward to another. Slán anois Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to another night out here at what I felt was a hidden jem ,at the May bank holiday. We were booked in for Saturday night. After being seated we were told that there was only a set menu as most of the food was sold out. ??We then proceeded to order to find out at least half that menu was sold out as well.
Over all very disappointing ,the point of the the night was to enjoy some quality food off what is usually a good menu. Sold out of food on a Saturday night on a bank holiday, not good enough!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 987,665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fear1916, Owner at The Mystic Celt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Sincere apologies for your experiance not been as good as it should have been. You must mean the bank holiday Sunday 4th of May, not the Saturday night. We have never had a limited menu on a Saturday night or run out of food as you stated. We are in buisness 15 years and Sunday 4th of May was the first time ever that we had to reduce the menu from 6.30pm until 8pm. We had 127 customers booked into our restaurant that day and ended up feeding 460 people which is the buisiest we have ever been. Sylvia, Karen and Mandy all explained this to every table that arrived in and also because of the small selection of food left on offer(7 starters, 9 main course and 4 desserts and cheese), we offered our steaks etc at a reduced price to include in the early bird. Again if you dined with us on the Sunday, apologies and we have learnt from this and will try to insure it never happens again and will keep more stock on Bank Holiday Sundays. Slán agus beannacht Chef Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mystic Celt also viewed

 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Mystic Celt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing