We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful day trip out from Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sally Gap

Sally Gap
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.15*
and up
Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Wicklow
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful day trip out from Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I took the drive for Sally Gap from Dublin via Glencullen, Kilternan and The Scalp into Enniskerry. From here you can visit Powerscourt Estate and Gardens, which include the highest waterfall in Ireland. Continue to Sally Gap, a notable crossroads situated between Kippure Mountain and the Djouce Mountain, where the road leads to Glendalough, by Glenmacnass and Laragh.

The drive was simply magnificent through rolling hills and countryside. On the way, stopping by Powerscourt, which National Geographic rated as one of the Top-10 gardens in the world was well worth it as well

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    36
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Long Tall Sally!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Every time we visit the southeast of Ireland we take time to go through the Wicklow mtns. It is one of our favorite places. So near to Dublin, yet you feel really transported from the city hustle and bustle. Sally Gap is a great spot to visit and look around. You ride over and through ancient boglands and can see the spots where turf gathering is still in full swing. It reminds me of the moors in England of Sherlock Holmes fame. Over the years the county has improved the scenery. It used to be a spot where car thieves would leave and burn stolen cars from the city along the mountain roads. Now all of that is removed and the remote landscape quickly envelopes you. A great place to stop, take a walk, enjoy the view and maybe even spend some time in introspection.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views. We'll away from the crowds. Expansive, lush green and cool and to motor exhaust. Excellent for hiking but carry food and water.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 466247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped to take pictures on our Wicklow day tour with Tour Dublin and I thought it was absolutely beautiful .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1AwaywiththeFairies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Good views
Down the valley
Very scenic
Would be lovely on a sunny day
Nice diversion from the rat race

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigmacAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sally Gap also viewed

Wicklow, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Sally Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing