We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wedding venue!”
Review of Kippure Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wicklow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kippure Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding venue!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were at a friend's wedding at Kippure Estate in June this year. What a wonderful wedding venue! Full of character and rustic charm. Had known the place from before as I had been at Kippure with my walking club for a weekend's hiking in the Wicklow hills last year. On both occasions we had a great experience. I read some of the reviews other people have put up here and I am not sure what rooms they had, but ours were lovely both times. Clean and spacious and just right for us. The staff is welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much for them. The food is excellent and the scenery magnificent. Thank you. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippureManagement, Manager at Kippure Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this. I certainly will pass this great feedback on to everyone concerned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    13
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Attended a wedding here recently. It's a budget location. Place is dirty and grotty. Bar prices are a complete rip off. Houses are ok, our room was a joke though. Two single beds, and no ensuite. Was charged €98 for the pleasure of staying in a shared house and a separate bed than my girlfriend. I had been quoted €80 prior to arrival and was told I'd have a double room. Would not recommend this place for a wedding or holiday.

Room Tip: Get there early because apparently it's first come first served for the double rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Darbles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippureManagement, Manager at Kippure Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience as a wedding guest at Kippure Estate. The venue was chosen by the bride and groom after an onsite visit and viewing; the feedback from the couple after the wedding was brilliant. They were very happy with our services, the venue and their ‘big day’ at Kippure Estate in general.

Please note that our bar prices are fully in line with other residence bars around the country and for a good number of drinks we charge less than most pubs. Our guest rooms are of various standards, and are reserved on a ‘first come first serve basis’. Our accommodation type (lodges) allows guests more freedom than a hotel room would, especially when staying for multi-day events and often with family members coming from abroad. We frequently receive great feedback for our comfortable “accommodation with a difference”!

We don’t know what exactly you saw that made you call our venue “dirty and grotty”. This is certainly not the feedback we receive from other guests and we would have very much appreciated if you had pointed any short-comings out to us during your stay so that we could have done something about it - rather than now calling the entire venue “dirty and grotty”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Attended my niece's wedding and the location was perfect. Staff were particularly attentive and friendly and the food was lovely. Rooms are basic and clean.brrakfast was fantastic.plenty of outdoor activities on site.ideal for families with children or teenagers. Difficult to get a signal on mobile phones in this area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsdfuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippureManagement, Manager at Kippure Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the lovely review! We are thrilled that you had a great experience! Will pass it on to all Kippure staff. Hope to have you again as a guest any time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely Wedding Venue
- but the "Guest House" was over priced. €80 for one night for two people in a hostel/ house sharing environment. Breakfast was included but did not stay around for breakfast because we were annoyed - house was noisy and our room had been used the morning of the wedding. Clothes and toiletries flung everywhere and towels used. I asked for fresh towels and got them straight away - We just felt €80 was too much.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippureManagement, Manager at Kippure Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. The venue was chosen by the bride and groom for their big day after a viewing and onsite visit and their overall feedback after the wedding was excellent all-round. We also received lots of praise from other wedding guests. Obviously we are concerned about your own, unfortunately negative, experience as a wedding guest - as this is certainly not our usual standard. At the time we had "teething problems" with our new accommodation management system, which accounted for the towel issue. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this. And we are sorry of course that you did not have a restful night. Weddings, by their very nature, are quite often 'one big party' - which is one of the reasons some couples book us for their wedding - they love the idea of a 'house party atmosphere'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

To Grainne and all Kippure Estate team

Just to say a big big thank you for making our wedding day so very special. Even our high expectations were surpassed on the day by the very professional and friendly service we received from all of the team at Kippure Estate. The mouthwatering food was excellent, compliments to the chefs on duty, and the waiting team took care of our every need with nothing being too much trouble.
Please pass on our thanks and gratitude to all involved in making our wedding day perfect.

Lina & Liutauras

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippureManagement, Manager at Kippure Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear Lina & Liutauras,

Your feedback here on this portal means a lot to us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write these kind words. It was a absolute pleasure to work with you. Wishing you all the best for the future. May all your dreams come true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We book a 6 night stay at Kippure Estate, for a chill out and the Punchestown festival. The drive to Kippure to me was wow, the views amazing (roads on the narrow side). Arrived at the Estate, our room wasn't ready, we waited by the bar area, which was very pleasing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our house was clean and tidy, with everything we needed, as went self catering. House could do with a little maintanence, but nothing drastic enough to ruin what you see when looking out of each window. The views something out of this world. Had a really lovely stay, and if up early enough will see the sheep in the gardens. Will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippureManagement, Manager at Kippure Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you very much for this great feedback! Will pass it on to staff at Kippure Estate. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Overall I really enjoyed the day of activities, we felt the orienteering was a little dangerous and should maybe be adapted...

Facilities where great. Instructors where really knowledgable and didn't rush the activities encouraging people to conquer their fears.

We done rock climbing, high ropes, leap of faith, abseiling & orienteering

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KippureManagement, Manager at Kippure Estate, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback - and thank you for taking the time to writing it!

We are very happy that you had a great experience at Kippure Estate. And we have passed your comments about orienteering on to our activities manager. These comments are very important to us as they help us to adjust certain activities so that we meed the client's need better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
8.4 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
19.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
22.8 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
3.3 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
19.4 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kippure Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kippure Estate

Property: Kippure Estate
Address: Manor Kilbride | Blessington, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Wicklow
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing