We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, well located with fab views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Drom Ard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drom Ard
Ranked #7 of 14 Wicklow B&B and Inns
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, well located with fab views”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A really lovely house set on the outskirts of the Wicklow Mountains. A wonderful hostess who couldn't do enough to help and cooks a mean Irish breakfast. The setting for breakfast is tough to match, with magnificent views over Wicklow to the sea.
Everything you need from a B&B; comfy bed, good breakfast, parking and hot shower. The option to make a hot drink when in the room, or to make use of the kitchen facilities, would have been useful but only a minor thing.
Good location for heading up to Dublin, which took about 30 mins and around 40 mins to Ballainstoe Trail Centre for a good MTB blast.
Thank you Catherine and Drom Ard, we'd come again.
Claire

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cameron park, ca.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were only able to stay one day at this wonderful place. It is in a beautiful setting and the windows take advantage of the views. Our room was beautifully decorated and had all the amenities. Catherine was a lovely and welcoming hostess.....but our favorite was the welcome we received from her sweet and friendly yellow lab!! Breakfast was excellent and we sure wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasquehal, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We highly recommend Drom Ard. It is the ideal base for touring Wicklow or on the way back to Rosslare for the ferry.
Catherine is a wonderful hostess and we felt really welcome.
The rooms are very lovely, quiet and comfortable. The Irish breakfast is delicious, served in a room with a fantastic view.
We would surely chose Drom Ard and stay a few more night if we have another opportunity to go in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a little trouble finding the B&B but once there we got a nice welcome and shown to our room. We had a nice room and the bathroom was fine. We got directions to go to town. We ate at a nice place The Bridge Tavern Pub. The food was good and we looked around a bit. The town is lovely and well worth the visit. We enjoyed our B&B it was very clean, nice yard and the breakfast was tasty. We slept fine. We would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived in Dublin and drove out to Wicklow, and stayed our first night at Drom Ard. It is a beautiful home. Our room was very comfortable, all toiletries were provided, as well as tea in the room. It is a quick walk into town, and we felt very welcome. Breakfast was great, with a spectacular view in the morning. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherd, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Due to some unexpected weather we ended up changing plans and booking at Drom Ard the day before we arrived. We arrived a bit early and just camped out in our car until the teenaged son of the proprietors arrived. He provided us a key and since we were pretty well spent from our flight, we took a little bit of a laydown before heading into Wicklow Town. The proprietress, Catharine Doyle, was a very lovely, hospitable hostess. She gave us suggestions and even places we should visit on our way to stop #2. A delicious breakfast was served in a glassed-in breakfast nook with great views of the Wicklow Mountains and Wicklow Harbor. Unfortunately for us the views were a bit obstructed by rain. We enjoyed conversing with a couple from Australia who had obviously stayed with the Doyle's before. One word of caution is the steep decline of the driveway. I am the driver in our party and not wanting to completely burn out the clutch on the way back up, I found it easier to park at the top of the drive and take the short jaunt down. And one other thing, the bathroom is tiny. If you are obese, this may not be the stop for you. Conveniently located. Good value. Friendly folks!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay in Drom Ard. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The house is situated in a beautiful, picturesque area and very close to many local attractions. It is the ideal base for touring Wicklow and surrounding areas. The rooms were lovely with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and it was so peaceful. My three children slept soundly all night and loved the house, the beautiful dog and the garden. The hosts were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they made such a fuss of the children. We really felt welcome and relaxed. I particularly liked the selection of toiletries left in the bathroom. It really felt like a home from home and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aiobhinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
12.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
977 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
8.3 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
977 reviews
1.0 mi away
River Lodge B&B
River Lodge B&B
#4 of 14 in Wicklow
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glen na Smole Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drom Ard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drom Ard

Property: Drom Ard
Address: Ballynerrin Lower, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Drom Ard 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Drom Ard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing