We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant accomodation for big groups”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain View

External Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External Front
External Rear Downstairs 'Den'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
External Front
External Rear
Downstairs 'Den'
Upstairs Lounge
Air Hockey and Table 'Foosball'
Pool Table
Dart Board
Basketball
Family Room
Upstairs Bunk Room
Sample Bedroom
Sample Bedroom
Sample Bedroom
Sample Bedroom
Sample Bedroom
Sample Main Bedroom
Sample Main Bedroom
Sample Bedroom - Turret 2
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom
Main Bath
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
17 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Penmaenmawr, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JamesB367...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant accomodation for big groups”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I've rented a few places in Wales over the years but in terms quality, price and location, this is by far the best. It's a huge place, really well presented and furnished and perfect for big groups. There were 25 of us and it was easy to find space when needed. The rooms are lovely and there are plenty of bathrooms for everyone. Everything is finished to a very high standard as well so feels very luxurious. There's plenty of nearby amenities and the Beach is about a 5 minute walk so perfect for summer getaways. I'd highly recommend Mountain View to anyone needing a big place and we'll definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
James, you are a superstar! Thank you so much for your kind words it makes all the difference to Gill and the team to know their work is appreciated!
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCC2014
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“40th Birthday Bash”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I, along with 30+ friends have just returned from an excellent weekend at Mountain View.

The housekeeper, Jill, was most welcoming and helpful in advance of our arrival. We found the venue to be perfectly clean (no mean feat given the size of the place!) and very well equipped to cater for all our guests. There’s sufficient space to chill out with comfortable beds and seating areas. The games room and basement disco went down very well and the owner Mark genuinely wanted us to enjoy ourselves... which we did!

We received many positive comments from our friends on how perfect the venue is for a large party such as this. Thanks a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Now that has lifted my day! So pleased MV lived up to expectations and thrilled you recognise Gill and the team's awesome dedication to the cause! Hope to welcome you back to any of the growing crop of Huge Holiday Homes soon!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James3202...
2 reviews
““What a great weekend””
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A perfect place for a party and also for a large group of children. Definitely booking again next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Hey James, thanks for those kind words. Let me know what dates you are after as things are booking up fast..
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jan 2018”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a 3 night break at Mountain View. We were a large group of family and friends celebrating my 30th birthday and making up 30 guests in total. I can honestly say that every single person who spent the weekend at Mountain View cannot praise it highly enough. We have stayed at many similar properties before although as a slightly smaller group and I would have to say this is a favourite.

The location is fantastic. We took walks to the sea, local cafe, local pub, shops and takeaways...everything is on your doorstep! The scenery is amazing.

As for the building itself... the kitchen is spacious and has more than enough crockery and cutlery for large parties. There are numerous fridges, ovens and 2 dishwashers. There is more than enough seating in the adjacent dining room. In the lounge there is plenty more seating on comfortable sofas and another table with chairs. There are stairs leading to the basement games room in the lounge. The stairs are quite steep but did not cause us any problems. The basement is absolutely amazing for little and big kids alike! Pool table, darts, air hockey, football table, sound system all in one large open plan room so everyone can be together! There is also plenty of seating around the outskirts of the room for those who prefer to watch. The bedrooms are large and spacious, most had ensuite and for those that did not a bathroom was very nearby. Unfortunately one ensuite was out of order during our stay but this was no problem as there are general bathrooms on ground and first floors. No bathroom in the basement which meant a few crossed legs whilst playing the games!

Mark who dealt with me from day one has been so friendly and welcoming. He said I would love the house and he was absolutely right! Thank you so much for having me, my friends and family to celebrate my 30th birthday all in one place! It was truly a fantastic weekend and I cannot recommend this house highly enough to anyone considering booking.

Thanks again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
Sarah, you are a superstar! Thank you so much for your detailed report and I know the whole team will be thrilled that MV lived up to your expectations! Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherylchi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at mountain view, we were a large group of 28 and the property was absolutely perfect. The location is ideal with a variety of shops and food outlets within walking distance with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains.
There was plenty of room for the entire family, the lounge was a perfect size for socialising and the kitchen was a fantastic size and well equipped. Each room was laid out wonderfully and was very well cleaned. The Christmas decorations were also put up before our arrival which was a perfect addition. It was simple to navigate around the property with the use of door numbers for each bedroom. The children’s dormitory was fantastic and allowed for plenty of space for them to run and play but also be near enough to the rest of the family.
The best feature of this property is the games area including an air hockey table, pool table and disco lights , everyone made use of the area and was especially loved by the children. Although the stairs are steep and connect via the living area, stair gates are provided.

We all had a fantastic time at mountain view and we would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2017
Hey Cheryl,
This review gives us special cause to be pleased as we know you were one of our first customers at The Ship years ago and you have been coming back year after year to celebrate this special time of year with your whole family which is EXACTLY what Christmas should be. We take great pride that time and again you trust this important event to our team! Thank you again for your continued custom and look forward to welcome you back. Same time, same place, next year?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glutenfre...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Big birthday bash this year and I wanted as many of my nearest and dearest around me as possible. Seriously need to find another event to rebook this place though as it was just so amazing.

Couple of teething problems when we arrived quickly resolved by Gill. Great hands on customer service and nothing was too much for her.

The rooms were lovely and the bathrooms were modern and clean. We didn't realise the attic shower room was quite as short though and in hindsight shouldn't have allocated the room next to it to a couple who are both over 6ft tall! Oops! (They ended up using an alternative bathroom, of which there were many!)
We snagged the four poster of course which is literally the largest and most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Could've done with an extra bedside unit or some more storage but overall a fantastic room.

Loads of fridge/freezer space for all the food. We ordered online in advance from Asda and Tesco who delivered right to the door. There are also supermarkets nearby.

Games room: fab. Loads of space for kids and teens. Dorms: fab beds and loads of space with decent bed linen and mattress protectors. Two fire doors between kids and main rooms = no noise transference so they aren't disturbed by noisy adults.
Disabled access to the ground floor (i.e. Kitchen, one dorm, living room, one ensuite bedroom plus another bathroom) and plenty of space to charge a disability scooter out of everyone's way which was fantastic.
Dining arrangements worked well we could fit everyone and with enough access for our guest with mobility problems to be fully accommodated which was very important to us. High chairs were provided so our smallest guest could also dine in comfort.

The location is fab, a short walk to a beautiful beach, driving distance to many great destinations including national trust and heritage sites. There is literally so much to do around here. Our group split into mini groups and everyone had an opportunity to fully enjoy their stay. (Museums, pier, smallest house, sea swimming, playing cards, hiking, caves, picnics, castles, cable cars and much more)

If you're like us and just love a good day out followed by a nice meal, maybe some card games, wine flowing and a good nights sleep then you can't go far wrong here. There is also a full sky tv package but the only time we used the tv was for the tired toddler to relax to on one evening!

We did have a big party one night, with a murder mystery we bought online. There was loads of space to interrogate suspects plus a full buffet laid out in the living room and a 'bar' in the dining area. Everyone dressed up in their finest clothes and had an absolute ball, and the best bit we didn't have far to walk to our rooms afterwards!!

A brilliant birthday that I look back on with great joy and will remember always.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Ruth! Amazing! I can see I am going to have to offer you a job in PR for us! To be honest it has been a tough week and reading this really jollied me up for the weekend. Thank you so much and just let me know WHEN you want to return and we'll be all over it! Mark and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky G
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! What a place!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I booked this property for my daughter's 18th birthday weekend for 40 friend, all different ages This place is amazing and the beds are so comfortable. Considering the size of the house, it's surprisingly warm and snug. All of our guests had an amazing time and some want to book the place themselves. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Mrs Green,
You would be MORE than welcome!
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing