We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value for home cooked meals!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Delights

Northern Delights
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great value for home cooked meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

the fish and chips (lightly battered cod, fresh cut homefries) was one the best i ever had! a great portion (2 large fillets), perfectly cooked, served joyfully by very friendly helpful servers!!!!! great value in a non-pretentious, down home kinds place , just what you would want in a small community in western newfoundland. hope to be back some day!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank adda191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    60
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Timing is everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Went with another couple here on a thursday night and were entertained by local music and a mummery. Good Newfoundland fun. Had the pan fried cod and was very pleased with it. Place was packed. Lots of locals which is always a good sign.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank outandabout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and fun to boot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We recently ate at Northern Delight and what a delight it was! Fish and chips was great, there is a choice of traditional French fries or home fries. I chose the home fries which were julienne strips from real potatoes. The fish was lightly battered and the cod very moist. I also had a garden salad which was fresh. Hubby had the pan fried cod which was also moist and tasty. The mashed potatoes were clearly from a box..one thumbs down. But thumbs up for the cod and rhubarb pie with ice cream. The entertainment was great, traditional Newfondland music and a visit and dancing with the Mummers, a fun treat! Pricing was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank em-T-sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Listen to the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We overheard a tour boat captain recommend this restaurant to a tourist looking for a good Cod dinner, so we decided to give Northern Delight a try as well. The skipper was 100 per cent right on. Our family had lunch on one day and dinner on the second and we were not disappointed. The menu selection had something for everybody and the portions were good. The quality of the food served was very high and the prices were actually a little lower than some of the other area restaurants close by. We happened to have dinner on the night the Mummers were there, so our meal included a healthy dose of entertainment. Our stomachs full, our sides aching from laughter of the Mummers and a resonable bill for the family meal meant for a very enjoyable evening. I don't know what restaurant rates above this restaurant in popularity, but we would clearly come back to Northern Delight without giving it a second thought.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFeckner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Anthony, Canada
1 review
“Highlight...Deep fried Icecream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have eaten at Northern Delight a few times. This time however I can't say I enjoyed my food. I had the clubhouse with poutine. The gravy was very bland and I was very disappointed not to have any bacon on my sandwich and to see that they had substituted roast beef for chicken without even asking me first. My husband had the viking burger with poutine and again could not eat his poutine. Service was very friendly. The deep fried ice cream however was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Delights also viewed

L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland
St Lunaire-Griquet, Newfoundland

Been to Northern Delights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing