We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible”

Backstreet Simply Delicious
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: House specialties include local seafood, steak and pasta. The special board is always loaded with local favorites like baby lamb chops, crab imperial and more. The bread is made fresh daily and desserts are made in house. We are BYOB.
Shoreham, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were a group of 7, and across the board it was a thumbs down. Commenting on my own dinner...crab and corn chowder...white paste with about 7 kernels of corn in the bowl (corn is cheap!), and gave up looking for the crab. The shrimp scampi with rice was drowning in way-over garliced sauce which had obliterated any lemon, and I use garlic very liberally. It was inedible. Ate the shrimp and called it a day. We ate dessert somewhere else. The waitress was incompetent, rude and arrogant. I wouldn't trust her to buy my groceries. And, when I asked the owner why they were out of almost all of the specials which were on the board outside the door and above our heads, he said they were busy the night before and on a limited schedule, but they would have them next week! Our jaws dropped.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank j5s1v2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    48
    19
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A true and honest review.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Went here last week and the food was medium to lower quality diner food.
You read their claim to have a chef who appears like a good chef but all our dinners were over priced and not really good.
I observed other peoples dinner plates and they did not look good.

I'm surprised and disappointed but had to give an honest review...and will not go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmiccic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Flavors, Offbeat Location”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

In an unassuming location, but a reasonable walk from the Cape May beach. Food was delicious, with delightful combinations of flavors, and generously portioned. Extensive selection of specials, largely seafood. Largely local crowd who seemed very comfortable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Walk to West Cape May for a Memorable Meal”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is, in a single word, a gem! Chef Tee has a great regular menu, but the daily specials is where her creativity really shines. Check the chalkboard, because that's where it's at. The service is attentive without being annoying. The restaurant is BYOB without a corking fee. Don't miss the made to order cobblers for dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best in Cape May”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I just had one of the best days ever in Cape May. It was topped off with dinner at McGlades Backstreet Cafe. My husband and I had one of the best dinners we have had in years. We shared the panfried tomatoes to start which were amazing. I ordered the Chilean sea bass and he ordered the panfry fish. On a scale of 1 to 10 both entrees were a 10. The flavors were married to perfection. Dessert was a slice of homemade peanut butter pie and a chocolate molten also homemade. Heavenly!!! If you have never eaten at Backstreet you dont know what you are missing. Once you try Backstreet you will be a repeat customer for life. SIMPLY DELICIOUS!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backstreet Simply Delicious also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Backstreet Simply Delicious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing