We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground if you like to spend money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darnley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Shores Camping Area
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at Twin Shores this weekend for 2 nights. It was our first, and last visit, to this campground. Although the grounds are beautifully maintained, there were a lot of surprising downfalls.

The people working at the registration were not very friendly or informative upon check in- took my money, handed me a map, and said no more than "this is your site, straight down the road".

The site was a 3-way 50 amp site ($57 a night!!!), apparently meant for travel trailers up to 30 ft. Our trailer is 30 feet long with a slide-out and this site was barely large enough for it. We had just enough space to park our truck and the area that was left for a bonfire was much too close to the trailer for comfort. Most of the sites that were good sized seemed to be occupied by seasonal campers. I guess everyone else just has to be crammed together as tight as possible without much privacy or space.

The roads that branch off the main road are lined with trees that crowd the road and hang over in spots that would be too tight for a trailer of any size to squeeze under, unless you didn't mind tear off the vents and other gear on the top. Some spots were so tight that our truck without the trailer almost could not clear.

The beach was beautiful. The playground was really nice for the kids. There seemed to be lots of areas for sports. We looked at the list of activities and everything seemed to have an additional cost. The showers are coin operated (50 cents gives you a decent shower). Any more than 2 adults on the site will cost you additional.

Check-out time is 11am....and that means you have to be completely off the grounds, not just your site. We have been to other campgrounds that will allow you to move your trailer off the site, but stay to enjoy the facilities for a while longer......NOT HERE! They were quite rude and told us to leave because they had 170 campers coming in today and not enough time or space to let us stay for 20 minutes to let the kids play at the playground.

All in all, we were disappointed by this campground and feel that when you pay $130 for a weekend stay, you should be treated with a little more respect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank natalieb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

BRING YOUR OWN FIRE WOOD!!! Be sure to buy campfire-ready wood outside of the campground; there are plenty of locals along the route who sell wood. Twin Shores is a mecca for families - wonderful yes, but if you are looking for less activity and more privacy, I would check out other campgrounds. The campground is well manicured, with small gardens around some sites (not for those looking for a more rugged, wild experience). The beach is fine, but not nicer than Cavendish or Brakely. Overall, it was fine for one evening, but as a single in need of privacy and a lover of backcountry camping, this place did not leave a lasting memory.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This campground is beautiful. It has everything you need from a beach, to a driving range, to a coffee shop, to fast food and more. My family and I really appreciated this campground as we travelled with a 10 month old, 2 1/2 year old, 12 year old and 15 year old. Even I, at 18, appreciated many of the amenities offered for children as well as the ones for adults and families, such as the beach shuttle. The only complaint that I have is that there are only two showers in the one bathroom on the bay side of the park (where we stayed) and they are coin operated and the mechanism is outside of the shower so you can't put more money in if you run out. I really hope to go back next year and rent one of those 8 seater bicycle/cart things that they have.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristynJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family camped for two nights (tent) in this gem of a campground. The beach is beautiful, washrooms were pretty clean for a long weekend with a bit of rain. For a private campground felt the sites were fairly private - we had a wooded site near the beach. Very family orientated. You will not be disappointed here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was my second visit to Twin Shores with my two boys (13 & 10), and I honestly cannot wait until next summer. In fact one week is simply not enough time to enjoy what the area has to offer. The grounds are kept immaculate by the staff, constant attention to detail. The coffee shop came in handy on a couple of occasions!! This is definitely a campground with kids in mind, there really is so much for them to do. The beach ...... amazing ...... walk left or right ..... amazing !!! The water was warm for the boys who spent their week body surfing and snorkeling catching crabs and baby lobsters .... live release !!!! lol
They are close to Summerside and Kensington for groceries and any forgotten items, although the campground store has alot of the little items that could be forgotten back home and they don't gouge you !! Very fair prices on any items. In addition you are also very close to dock side seafood outlets ..... I'm still full and have been home 2 days !!!
Sincerely, I can't wait to return .... two weeks next year with any luck !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Camping with the family can be a fun experience. Twin Shores has everything to make it just that. I was on a unserviced site, camping with tents. The site was adeqautely shaded and everything, from the bathrooms to one of the most beautiful beaches on PEI, was at walking distance. We were so close to the sea that we fell asleep of the soft sounds of the waves. Staff takes great care in providing one of the cleanest campsites I have ever seen. Whether at the soccer field , basketball court or the movie theater, there is something for all to enjoy. The general store is well stocked and reasonably priced. My only darker spot is the firewood available on site. The price is fine, but it is too green, like I've experienced at so many other camp sites. There are however many residences in the surroundings that sell dry wood at a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephC67STH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We chose this park based on it advertising itself as big rig friendly which means large sites, good turning radius and 50 amp power. The site was large and if the young lady who gave us directions had understood what turning a 45 ft motorhome under tow was like I would say that there was good turning radius, except that she unnecessarily directed us down two tight turns with lots of cars from season campers parked randomly around the sites.
We were disappointed to discover that we were parked in a field of grass with 30 amp plugs.
This park does have a beach, great laundry facilities and restaurant but is located in a remote area with absolutely no restaurants or stores within at least a 20 minutes drive.
Lots of seasonal campers who seem to love the place but we would look for something a bit closer to Charlottetown in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank PrimeTimeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JD1951, Manager at Twin Shores Camping Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

To all Big Rig Campers- Twin Shores has over 60 nightly big rig sites available WITH 50 amp power. If you are a big rig camper and need 50 amp power please request it when reserving and you will be placed in one of 2 premium sections of the park. Sites with numbering WS720-734 and WS800-836 are 50 amp full service big rig sites. We are sorry you were not aware of these sites during your stay. We hope your next visit to Twin Shores is worthy of 5 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Twin Shores Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Shores Camping Area

Address: 705 Lower Darnley Rd, Darnley, Prince Edward Island C0B 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Darnley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Darnley
Price Range: £29 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 690
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Canada's premier beachfront family camping resort. Our central location, modern facilities and spectacular scenery make us the ideal place for your family's Island camping get away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing