We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Escape!”
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Llangynidr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Coach and Horses is set in the picturesque village of Llangynidr, surrounded by the Brecon Beacons and adjacent to the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal. We have 4 rooms available for B&B, a separate games room, spacious beer garden and a carpark suitable for parking up to seventy cars. We can accomadate large parties or small gatherings, and have a large bar area too.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Perfect Escape!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting The Coach & Horses for years after walking the canals...it's the perfect place to stop for a pint & food during all seasons! Always a friendly atmosphere & warm welcome!
We stayed for one night in the Double Room ensuite. Perfect! Clean & Comfortable! Food was excellent as was the service. The Landlady is lovely & so funny and really makes your stay! Breakfast was scrummy. Will Definately be staying again to escape away for a couple of nights!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    74
    35
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a family party here with Tracey and her team and it was brilliant. She couldn't be more hospitable. Llangynidr is a beautiful village and the location of the pub is so pretty by the canal. Dogs are allowed in the bar which is super or us. Love it!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 995Mejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch in Country after long, long walk!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Sunday March 3rd saw a dull very cold day, but after a gap of about 25 years (last there when we were courting) we at long last returned to the Coach & Horses. It was warm and welcoming on entering. We were made very welcome. Kattie our young watress was nice and very efficent. We had an excellent portion pf pate and two rounds of thick toast with a plum chutnney - this with Carrot soup were both excellent, and great value at £3.95 each. Our two roast beef dinners at £8.75 were good but not "fantastic" this is so hard, as it is all subjective but beef was very thin and looked as if sliced with a machine but roast potates and flavour good and only £8.75!
We arrived just after a very large party but did not suffer service wise as Kattie was good.and kitchen coped well. A reasonable bottle of Merlot at £9.95
The "famous" Tracy that I have read about as being such a super landlady was sadly off on this occassion, we would have liked to have met her. It had been 25 years since our last visit but it won't be so long next time. If we have any summer the Coach & Horses has a wonderful beer garden over looking the Brecon & Monmouthshire Canal, great walking country we will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul_doubler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Cutting back I think, shame.”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We ate in the restaurant last Sunday. The service was very cheerful and helpful. Sadly the Sunday beef roast was only average. It did not taste fresh and basically similar to a Weatherspoon's reheated meal, only smaller. I do sympathise as we were the only customers in the restaurant at the time. There were several in the bar. A bar snack might have been better. Very nice people, I do hope it improves.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyfastgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here with a groupon voucher , everything other reviewer say is correct.Tracey the landlady is wonderful, funny ,friendly,very organised and knows everyone in the village .
The tavern is on the side of a canal with lovely views ,very flat walks along it.
The rooms are spotless and comfortable , homely is a good word.
We eat in the restaurant and it was superb.I had spicy koftas for starters and I had trout on a bed of potatoes which had been chopped and fresh herbs,then the Welsh cheese board,my husband had the 10oz rump steak which was excellent.it was so good we are returning next week for Mother's day lunch.I cannot praise the food and Tracey the landlady enough .Excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evanhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Llangattock, Crickhowell
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing