We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday lunch in idyllic setting”
Review of Coach and Horses

Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Llangynidr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Coach and Horses is set in the picturesque village of Llangynidr, surrounded by the Brecon Beacons and adjacent to the Monmouthshire and Brecon Canal. We have 4 rooms available for B&B, a separate games room, spacious beer garden and a carpark suitable for parking up to seventy cars. We can accomadate large parties or small gatherings, and have a large bar area too.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Well worth a visit for Sunday lunch - delicious! And I'd definitely recommend the apple pie! The setting is beautiful, right by the canal, perfect for a long walk along the towpath to walk off all that food! The pub also has a lovely beer garden where you can spend a few hours watching the barges. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    71
    33
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Under new ownership, and worth a visit.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Situated by the canal in Llangynidr the Coach and Horses is a lovely old coaching inn, which is now under new ownership. There is evidence of TLC, and the pub/restaurant being restored to its former glory. It has a garden by the canal with a play area for children. The lunchtime menu included the traditional options, but the staff were happy to prepare whatever one wanted. There are daily specials, which all sounded delicious. Our sandwiches/baguettes/ploughmans were all well-prepared and presented. We'll certainly go back and try other options when they've finished the upgrading.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaenau Gwent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We called into this pub on the off chance, well where do I start. We had a lovely warm welcome off the staff as we approached the bar,the service was fab. We ordered food which didn't take long at all and when it arrived it was fantastic, the dessert menu was to die for especially the lemon tart and liquorice ice cream. Well not much more to say other than Amazing food, amazing pub and fantastic owners. Well worth a visit if your in the area. Good luck both xx

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiselew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

this pub as been just taking over and it is a verse improvement from the last few owners we have been going here on and off for years..and I think this is the best it can get .a bit slow at the bar at first but the food just kept coming ..this is a fantastic place for food beer .and wine I wish them well and thank all the staff for the service they gave ,,we will be back ....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oucab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable visit.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We called in here on a very wet evening,during the first week in April. Apparently,it was the first evening for the new owners,who had moved in just two days before and we were the very first diners. The menu was unusual. My husband ordered a fish dish,which was a large bowl packed full of different fish and prawns in a delicious sauce. I ordered Welsh lamb with leeks, topped with
mashed potato,which I thoroughly enjoyed.During the short wait for our food, the waitress brought us a fresh home -baked loaf and salted butter,which we tucked into,it was such a nice touch.If we lived locally,we would definitely eat here whenever we could.As tourists to Wales we will surely be back to the Coach and Horses whenever we can.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coach and Horses also viewed

Llangattock, Crickhowell
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing