We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a find! Friendly and welcoming pub with great food.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangynidr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion, Llangynidr
Ranked #2 of 2 Llangynidr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real gem of a find! Friendly and welcoming pub with great food.”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent a very enjoyable two day break at The Red Lion recently and would like to thank all of the staff for making us feel so welcome. The pub is situated in an excellent location for exploring the local area and the village of Llangynidr also offers some lovely walks either along the canal path or if you feel less energetic, a meander around the village itself is also very relaxing. We took our dog Dewi with us and he certainly enjoyed the pampering he got in the bar from the friendly locals and also the tasty sausage I saved for him from breakfast! Which brings me to the food. Both of the meals that we had at The Red Lion were of excellent quality and generous in portion size. My husband ,who is a vegetarian, particularly enjoyed the home made Glamorgan sausages and my Mixed Grill was delicious - certainly no cheap cuts of meat there! We would highly recommend a visit to The Red Lion and we will definitely be returning for another visit in the future.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    32
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Had a mixed grill and it was barely passable. Cheap cuts of meat and the lamb cutlet was definately off but not according to the staff who tasted it but not in front of me. The answer was it was just strong flavoured lamb. Tasted more like liver.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank qwertfdsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahFarr1941, Owner at The Red Lion, Llangynidr, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your comments, I didn't taste the food in front of you because I thought that would be a bit rude. It is funny that you ate every scrap of other food on your plate apart from a very small piece of gammon and half of the lamb, all the other meat, chips, tomato, mushrooms & onion rings were finished. I mentioned your complaint to our butcher the following morning and he could not believe it he would never put off meat (as you put it) in our mixed grills. I sold another mixed grill the following evening (from the same batch) and they polished the whole lot off and said how lovely it was! It is sad to say that there alot of people around today who are just out to blag a free meal (even though they had eaten the majority of it) and because you were unsucessful in getting a free meal you felt it necessary to bad mouth us on trip advisor - tut tut!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Called in here for a drink whilst walking past, having left our hired narrow boat moored on the canal. We did not eat here, having ate at a hostelry down the road, but had several drinks. During our time there, we were made to feel welcome and had some intersting concversations with the friendly locals.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicwelshwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Many thanks for a two day Brilliant, get away, booked by our daughter with Groupon. A nice village inn. Room small but cosy and spotlessly clean. Good food and plentiful. Beer very good. 1 VERY strong!! Staff and Locals VERY welcoming and made us very comfortable. Benjy, our staffy dog,spoilt rotten. They tried to feed him Boneos which he doesn't like. We explained his favourite treat was Pepperoni which they didn't sell. The next night they produced one and refused payment. Very happy dog. Would recommend strongly

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Draigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I do not think this is the norm but my family went there for lunch on Saturday 23rd March for a meal. We had the side room to ourselves which was great and service very good, friendly however and I mean this the meals were not up to the standard that I would Expect. We were sent the new menu by Sarah which was small but good, the chips were one of the main big selling points. Real chips cooked in different ways, but please tell the cook that they need more than 1 minute tooooo fry. Hard tasteless. I had the mixed grill from a local butcher in Brecon who does grissly gammon, pork concrete,sausage as a mash. Now I could go through the other 12 adult meals but NO reason an off day can be had by all. I hope after this review I do not get barred when I return because I've had many a great Sunday Lunch at The RED. A small but very attractive village pub needs to be on the ball 24/7.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahFarr1941, Owner at The Red Lion, Llangynidr, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for your comments however I am slightly confused, on the day when you were all here no comments about the food were made and I know you were checked on at least twice, once by myself and once by Richard. When the tables were cleared there did not seem to be much left on the plates the only whole item that was sent back was a full bowl of vegetables which you had asked for as an extra portion and not touched. It is more helpful to us as a business if comments like this are made on the day rather than on a website where it can actually do harm to the business. I know two of your party had the Welsh Cheese Chicken which is the most popular dish on the menu which we have been selling on and off for 4 years which everyone who has it raves about so I would appreciate it if you could tell me what was wrong with that and the same goes for the Steak and Ale Pie. As for the chips it does not state anywhere on the menu that they are real chips cooked in a number of ways, they are chilled prepared chips which we offer with seasoning of salt, pepper & paprika if required. I am sorry if you feel the food was not up to standard but please if you have any future problems please let us have the opportunity to rectify it on the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

If large boring "every room the same" type hotels are what you like then the Red Lion isn't for you. But if you crave quirky country inn rooms, a warm welcome from owners, staff and locals, real ales and lovely food served in generous portions then give the Red Lion a go.
We enjoyed two nights using a Groupon voucher and had a great time, especially thanks to Sarah, Charlotte, Jill and Anne, and Adrian for streaming his personal TV channel (Sky Sports2) into the bar after the main bar TV broke down (now replaced in time for the Wales v England match - who won that ? Sorry !)
Only try the mixed grill if you are VERY hungry. Or try the home-made pies.
Llangynidr is an excellent centre for exploring that beautiful part of S E Wales and the hotel sells guides to local walks.
The Red Lion is situated on a quiet road with no passing traffic so a restful night is guaranteed unless the sounds of a quaint old inn disturb you.
We will definitely return !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betwsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. Excellent food and a great selection behind the bar. Location was ideal, very picturesque. Already planning a return visit in the not too distant future.Thoroughly recommended...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaul68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangynidr
3.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
939 reviews
9.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
521 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kestrel Inn
The Kestrel Inn
#7 of 16 in Crickhowell
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion, Llangynidr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion, Llangynidr

Property: The Red Lion, Llangynidr
Address: Duffryn Road, Llangynidr, Brecon Beacons National Park NP8 1NT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llangynidr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llangynidr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is a 17th Century building with a bar, restaurant & games room downstairs and 3 B&B rooms upstairs. There is a childrens play area outside and plenty of benches so the adults can relax. If the weather is against us there is plenty of room inside with an open fire and plenty of character. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Lion, Llangynidr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing