We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion, Llangynidr
Nearby Hotels
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel(Ebbw Vale)(Great Value!)
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
55
35
6
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
35
6
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubexcellent valuewarm weathergreat local pubget awaygreat atmospherefamily mealat reasonable pricesvery friendly servicebe visiting againgreen man festivalfood menusomething for everyonebrecon beaconslittle gemworth a visitsunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

plenty of choice lovely hot and plenty to eat in a country pub atmosphere ,staff go out of there way to be helpful and very friendly service. We also went for sunday lunch there as was not disappointed

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahFarr1941, Owner at The Red Lion, Llangynidr, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Read about a walk in the Llangynidr area where you park your car in the car park next door to this pub, where the bottle banks are. You then walk down to the narrow bridge that goes over the Usk and turn right, following the bank of the river towards Crickhowell. After about an hour walking past bluebells and tiny song birds you climb some steps which takes you up to the canal. From there you walk back to the car park, which was a beautiful walk on a sunny day. Then we found the Red Lion and ordered Sunday lunch. We had the roast beef which was plentiful and the veg was lovely too. Wasn't allowed to sit inside as was told tables were reserved. However we were there over an hour and the tables were still unoccupied after that so wasn't really sure when they were reserved for, which was confusing? Anyway it was still a good meal to end our walk with.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank bulletdozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahFarr1941, Owner at The Red Lion, Llangynidr, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi thank you for your review on trip advisor, I am glad you enjoyed your lunch. I can assure you all the tables were reserved, but unfortunately we don't know how long people are going to stay, so we can't put people on tables on that are booked in case those people have three courses, take their time and are still there when the booked people arrive. I don't know what time you came but we had a lot of people booked in at 1pm, 1:30pm & 2pm. Unfortunately even if people are booked at 1pm we can't put people on before hand. We also have a restaurant where people were eating from quite early on. We did 77 lunches on Sunday so I promise you we were busy, it just so happened that not many people booked early last week, sometimes we have people booked from 12 and we re-use tables, other weeks everyone wants to book late, it varies week to week. We are busy every Sunday so it is always best to book if possible. I hope you understand and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Visited here as a family recently for evening meal. Had booked in advance but it was fairly quiet when we arrived. Staff were very friendly and there’s a good sized menu so should be something for everyone. Some pub classics like lasagne and fish and chips as well as a curry and local chicken recipes. All at reasonable prices.

We had a mixture of dishes but they all looked tasty and everyone was stuffed. Large portion sizes so just a main was enough for us this time.

Would be happy to eat here again

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dan & Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahFarr1941, Owner at The Red Lion, Llangynidr, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your review and your kind words, we hope to see you again one day - Sarah, Ady & Teagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We Had a lovely time at the Red Lion. The locals were friendly particularly Vernon and his Landscape Gardener son Mark. Sarah the Landlady was pleasant and always busy doing something or other around the pub. Breakfasts were good as were the evening meals.Well cooked Pub grub menu.
We had the benefit of Very warm weather while here with Temps.up in the mid Twenties C.enabling us to appreciate the wonderful countryside around the Brecon Beacons. We walked right round the Talybont reservoir, a lovely walk of about 6 miles and then to the water falls further down the road 2 mile walk. On another day we did the river Usk circular walk coming back along the Brecon/Monmouth canal.
We also did the Table mountain walk it took us one and a half hours to get to the top and 25 minutes to get down ! We loved this part of Wales the people were so friendly and welcoming. Well done Wales and well done Sarah at The Red Lion in Llangynidr !
We loved the town of Crichowell.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahFarr1941, Owner at The Red Lion, Llangynidr, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words it was great to meet you all. We are glad you liked the area and hope to see you again one day - Sarah, Ady & Teagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed in Village on same road as The Red Lion so this became the local whilst we were here. Firstly everyone here is so welcoming and friendly, the prices are extremely reasonable, this is what we thought makes this pub local, busier than others and always looking after the Villagers and any visitors. We went at least on three or four occasions including attending the Thursday quiz night which was a full house. Also a dog friendly place for those passing through and food menu great choice as well. We sat most of the afternoon playing cards as we felt so comfortable there.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank PaulaSC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahFarr1941, Owner at The Red Lion, Llangynidr, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review, it is nice to hear you felt comfortable here, this is what we hope to achieve. Hope to see you again one day! - Sarah, Ady, Teagan & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews