We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangynidr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coach and Horses Llangynidr
Ranked #1 of 2 Llangynidr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel/inn is fabulous! My husband and I stayed here for only one night on a whirlwind driving tour of various parts of the UK, and we feel so lucky to have found such a gem. After staying in London, Bath and York, we found quaint country places like the Coach and Horses to be the best memories of our short trip. First of all, Wales is gorgeous, and this lovely place is situated on a quaint country road. It was getting to the end of winter when we visited, but we enjoyed the outdoor activities even so. There was always a cozy fire in the pub, and our hostess was so welcoming and friendly - we felt immediately at home. She offered to make dinner for us since her cook was out for the evening and we were the only guests, but we decided we'd like to explore a bit and take a beautiful, cool starry walk down to a pub down the road to mix it up with some locals. I believe the pub was called the Red Rooster or something to that effect, and they have excellent food! My husband ordered a traditional shephard's pie, and I went for the non-traditional pizza - and both were delicious! Great Welsch beers, of course and a roaring fire made for a wonderfully memorable evening.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious, as well as the bathroom and all was very clean. If we could have stayed a week, we would have. Our hostess was very knowledgeable about lots of hikes and walks nearby and we took her advice on one the next morning, which was delightfully refreshing. This place will be a fond memory of ours forever!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatravelerNingbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    15
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
38
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went here on a Sunday, on a belated birthday gift from relatives. It was a groupon voucher for a two course meal and coffee. Everything was perfect. The people, the room, the food and the atmosphere, and obviously the lovely drive down and views :) Exquisite if I mist say. The staff are very friendly and caring especially the land lady she was always up for a chat and.very friendly. The food is exceedingly good for what your paying, the sticky toffee pudding is a nice treat aswell haha. Great selection of alcohol and local ciders/ales, great atmosphere, and the bar was a nice touch a chance to watch the footy too and play a bit of pool/darts. We both loved every bit of it even after expecting something horrendous, it was fantastic would recommend to anyone who wants a nice break away with nice people and lovely walks and views. Top notch! This is a place we will return to again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We've been regular customers of the Coach and Horses for many, many years - through several changes of management and staff. The pub itself is in an ideal location, with a beer garden overlooking the canal and a spacious car park. Inside, it's retained the feel of a traditional pub with a cosy bar and large restaurant area.

The landlady is exceptionally welcoming to each and every customer. She's attentive without being intrusive and nothing's too much trouble. The rest of the staff are friendly and accomodating.

So it's with sadness that I can no longer give this establishment greater than 'average'.

We've had some lovely meals here over the years, and recently enjoyed a top-quality Sunday roast. Unfortunately, since then there's been a change of chef and the food has, in our opinion, plummeted in quality since his arrival.

The menu is more restricted in terms of choice than it was previously and gone are our beloved sauted potatoes. Onion and garlic now dominate the choices (an issue for me as I'm intolerant) and every one of our main courses were overcooked. The chips now resemble croquettes and taste like oven chips, the new potatoes and vegetables are dry and the sticky toffee pudding is a shadow of its former self. My father was very disappointed with the ice cream, saying it tasted like supermarket own-brand, and the little serving boat of custard contained only around one tablespoon of custard. The apple in the crumble was undercooked and very hard.

Out of a party of four, not one of us enjoyed a single course: we left feeling disappointed. So whilst we'll continue to drink at the Coach and Horses, we won't be eating there for the forseeable future; certainly not whilst the current menu (and possibly chef) remains as it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at the Coach and Horses last night using a groupon voucher and after staying there I would be happy too pay full price for the stay and food, it really was good.

We had a very warm welcome upon arrival from the Landlady, who showed us to our room (room 5). The room was basic but clean and the en suite was very spacious... as other reviewers have mentioned the bed really was very comfy.

The Landady and all of the staff were great, very friendly and the pub had a real 'local pub' feel to it and were were made to feel welcome by everyone. There is a great selection of real ales and ciders along with a pool / darts room.

It is in a great location with plenty of lovely walks around..the walks along the canal are particularly pleasing.

We had a 2 course meal in the evening which was excellent.. they brought out gluten free bread with my girlfriends prawn cocktail (which she hadn't requested, but the waitress remembered that she had a gluten and wheat intolerance from where we were chatting by the bar) This really stood out for us and made my girlfriend very happy :-). My only complaint was that my steak was over cooked, when I mentioned this to the waitress she was great and had a new one cooked and sent out to me very promptly so there were no gripes there!

Overall we were very happy with the stay and were glad we saw the deal on groupon. We will certainly return again and will be recommending the place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bananabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed overnight in March 2013. Very friendly, landlady was outstanding, enthusiastic and welcoming. She obviously loves what she does. We arrived on Sunday afternoon the day after Wales had thrashed England in the Six nations and she had a rugby team in having Sunday dinner and watching a rerun of the game so it was packed in there. It only has 4 rooms and the one we had was very comfortable and clean. Restaurant is quite spacious and the food was fantastic, try the steak it was great and perfectly cooked. Breakfast is cooked by the landlady and was everything you would expect plus good conversation. The inn is on the eastern edge of the Brecon Beacons and the area around the it is beautiful with some great walks around the Brecon and Monmouthshire canal. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just back from an over night stay at what I would describe as "Tracey's", don't get me wrong every single person there was polite and very very helpful. Tracey really is the essence and its shows that the locals and staff respect that. We arrived at a very busy lunch time, to be whisked off to a double room with the biggest bed ever. Stay for Sunday lunch very nice and we enjoyed it very much. We then took in the wonderful views and walked the canal which is right out front very flat and great for all walkers. So much so we walked nearly ten miles before we realised its time we should head back. That evening we had a nice two course dinner, it was nice fresh and great portion sizes.
Breakfast was great no hassle and what I can only describe is a very impressive landlady that just seems to be a Duracell bunny. Very impressed .
We made it up for y foel the next day it was very very cold even though we had the right clothing on. It turned very quickly so wear and take plenty with you. As soon as we came down and was back on the canal it was much much improved. May I just say it was winter the worst march in 40 years, I'm going back for the summer. Maybe even the pink walk in may.
Tracey thank you and your great team.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tich88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed Friday 29th March on a groupon deal - amazing value. Very friendly pub - the landlady is amazing, can't do enough for you. Enjoyed the local ales and Welsh cider.
We stayed in room 4. Not ensuite but it had it's own bathroom just three steps away - not a problem at all. Linen and towels superb. Bed was super - very comfortable, we slept well.
Our evening meal was a real treat - some unusual touches. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order.
We'll be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveswellcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangynidr
4.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
4.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
5.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses Llangynidr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses Llangynidr

Property: The Coach and Horses Llangynidr
Address: Cwmcrawnon Road, Llangynidr, Brecon Beacons National Park NP8 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llangynidr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llangynidr
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Llangynidr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing