We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangynidr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coach and Horses Llangynidr
Ranked #1 of 2 Llangynidr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

A wonderful place to eat or just have a drink. Beautiful surroundings, next to Brecon canal. Recently refurbished and very welcoming.Staff very friendly & helpful. Sean the chef produces fabulous food, lots of fish choices, no portion control here! Not to be missed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    16
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwent
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stunning food, very warm welcome and stay, licorice ice cream to die for would stay again set in a beautiful place by the canal he's the hostess with the mostess loved it lovely atmosphere rooms were spotless clean breakfast to die for great off road parking all the family welcome would recommend to any one great excellent fab brill wicked what more can I say loved it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianashtonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here for birthday meal. Good meal although a lack of vegetables. Would have been good if there was a bowl of vegetables. Peas on the plate not enough and left me feeling disappointed. Pies looked excellent will certaunly try next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Coach and Horses while exploring the Brecon Beacons. The pub has a lovely location right on the Monmouthshire Canal and is excellent for exploring the local area. The room was clean and comfortable and had tea/coffee making facilities. We ate both nights in the pub and after the first night decided not to bother with starters on the second! Huge portions - we're big eaters but struggled with the amount of food. The steaks were lovely and served with chips, onion rings and salad. The pudding menu was limited and if I'm honest not very exciting. The pub was very busy both nights and is clearly a popular place to eat. Breakfast was delicious - full English one morning and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on the second. The pub is under new management and signs were well underway of improvements. The manager Sean was extremely helpful and the staff were all very friendly and polite. Worth a visit!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddypatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Coach and Horses have recently come under the management of the Old Rectory Hotel. in Crickhowell. The standards usually found there which are excellent have been transferred to the Coach. Went to give support to the Ellis family and the food just blew us away as always. Unbeatable value, great service and welcome from Shaun, Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OzzyMidWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Anniversary Lunch on Sunday .What an absolute pleasure.Really warm welcome,food was wonderful and exceeded all of our expectations.It was hot well cooked and presented and tasted delicious.Service was spot on and could not fault a thing.A definite return is required.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1960tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We dropped in here for a drink as we were eating on our canal boat and were impressed at the selection. the staff were a delight and offered us some yorkshire puddings and gravy on the house. What a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RH1447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangynidr
4.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
4.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
580 reviews
5.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
111 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
355 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses Llangynidr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses Llangynidr

Property: The Coach and Horses Llangynidr
Address: Cwmcrawnon Road, Llangynidr, Brecon Beacons National Park NP8 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llangynidr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llangynidr
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Llangynidr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing