We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”
Review of The Fish Shop

The Fish Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Roughton
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have used the take-away three times and on each occassion found the cod to be dry, the chips greasy and the gravy had been heated in the microwave and was congealed. Not impressed!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Funky farrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    11
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A truly old fashioned but wonderful fish and chip shop”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a find and almost on our doorstep. The quality of the food is incredible and the service cannot be faulted. We went as a group of ten - 5 couples and 5 individual bills was not a problem! Between us we must have had every fish on the menu and even the standard portions were huge and perfectly cooked. Service was without criticism - attentive but not over the top. O.K. the decor is plain but what do you expect for main courses costing £10.00 or less. I would recommend this venue without reservation but I just hope that too many people decide to go there otherwise I will not be able to get in and I am almost local!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The 'PLAICE' to be :)”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is definitely the PLAICE to be for great fish and chips. Brilliant portions sizes for both the take-away and restaurant, tasty fish and super fresh chips. The staff are great - really friendly and polite and they look after you well. Make sure you stop and try this fish and chip shop soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best chips around!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

These are seriously the best chips ever, good portion sizes and reasonable price! staff generally ok but not always over friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amansomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Norfolk's Finest”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Don't usually get excited about Fish And Chips but these are well worth shouting about.
Calling in there whilst in the area on a busy Friday night the service,portion size and quality were well worth the trip.
We will return

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveNKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Shop also viewed

 
Thorpe Market, Norfolk
Cromer, Norfolk
 

Been to The Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing