We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECIAL BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”

The Barn Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Burniston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Barn, a unique dining venue near Scarborough, on Yorkshires beautiful heritage coast.The traditional farm building was lovingly converted in 2008, and now houses a fully licensed cafe restaurant serving an exciting bistro menu.The cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and supper, and our fantastic, traditional Sunday lunch is renowned locally. Delicious cakes and home baking are served all day, along with a selection of speciality teas and cappuccino coffees.Our cosy log burner and friendly staff will make sure you have a warm welcome, or make the most of summer and sit outside, in our beautiful courtyard seating area.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SPECIAL BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Have just had my special birthday evening here the venue is great. Both the meats and deserts were excellent The staff were very efficient and pleasant. I would not hesitate in recommending this venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 416Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    37
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shabby chic, on trend , gorgeously decorated country bumpkin eatery with the most fabulous, fresh , tasty food..”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

.. Found this gem on an east coast tourism website and just thought "perfect" .. The right amalgamation of heart shaped wooden signs, ribbons, tweed chair cushions and fabulous tasty can't -make-this-at-home food ( .. And rather pretty pigs in a pen outside that nearly ate the car keys my little girl gave them for their tea !!... ).. My only criticism of this quaint place with great food was our waiter who was quite uninterested and a tad rude.. One wonders if he had anything to do with the report beforehand .. But we would still call back .. Enjoy the ambience .. Delight in the food .. Ignore the waiter and not let the child be responsible for your keys ..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic7415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real change”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Called in to sample the American menu, good nearly excellent meal, service first class, internally a revelation, a real change in decor. Recommended for something different, look forward to what the chef prepares next.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was great shame about the sevice”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Me and my husband have been here many times before usually ok. but went a few days and the service was terrible the waiter didnt smile once and seemed more interested in what was happening in the kitchen and outside. The food was lovely as always but we will not be returning to be treated and spoken to like we did. Disapointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kateclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Good Lunch”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Called in when we were up in Scarborough based upon my sons recommendation and we weren't disappointed .
The whole place is delightful and appropriate for the area. the food is wholesome , and adventurous , with a range of English European and far eastern influences on the menu.The bread was a delight , the homemade chutney was fruity and the humous was tasty with a strong flavour of coriander.Home made soup was roasted butternut squash and had a good peppery flavour to compliment the sweetness.
prices were reasonable and the place was filling up at a rapid rate when we left at 1.00.
I would recommend it if you are in the area, we will certainly return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GilbertSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn Cafe Bistro also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Burniston, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Barn Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing