We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple cuisine, well cooked”

CAFE COUR du MIRACLE
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Vouvant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Friendly hosts and good food, together with a beautiful courtyard full of flowers - what more could you want for a relaxing lunch or afternoon tea. Open late on Friday evenings in the summer, the cafe provides a perfect meeting place for a meal or a drink and an evening with friends. Draught beers and Irish cider available, together with good local French wines and beers. All food is home-cooked to order and the English sponge cakes are the best around!
Darlington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple cuisine, well cooked”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently had lunch at Cafe Cour du Miracle in the centre of picturesque Vouvant in the courtyard area. We enjoyed a delicious ham omlette with salad and chips, all locally sourced food. And a pot of tea to wash it down. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. The food was very well cooked and service was outstanding. Next time in Vouvant we will certainly go again. And, free wifi by the way. Eat inside to view the magnificent castle tower opposite. Spectacular view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FormulaCubRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Excellent cafe, lovely food, great welcome. Whether it is just for a petit cafe, a cup of tea or something stronger, a leisurely lunch or a three course dinner on a Friday evening, it is always of a high standard. A regular for us. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pollyneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had lunch here whilst on holiday in Vouvant. We arrived early and were lucky to get a spot in the Courtyard. My husband and I had lovely salads whilst the kids tucked into bacon and cheese baguettes. Great fresh food and service ( almost an Anglo- French fusion menu- you can get chicken and ham pie!) and I would recommend for a lunch stop. They also open for late nights twice a week. Always worth reserving a seat if you want to sit in the Courtyard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeetrootBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice cafe in a lovely location”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Didn't eat here but enjoyed the courtyard and nice cold beer. Friendly owners and good service. Will eat next time we are in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very popular with Anglos - this has disadvantages”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Have been going here since it opened over 3 years ago when in the area on vacation at my brothers. It was a gem but is now perhaps a bit too busy and popular which has a negative on service. Still the same high quality food and the welcoming owners but could not get a seat in the courtyard- you have to book to ensure a table there. Service was also slow - too many customers and drink which were served quickly were finished 15 minutes before meal finally arrived. We had to order more for the meal whereas we would have liked the originals to be served with the meal. Glad to say quality has not suffered due to popularity - still sell the best home baking in France.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieb0fa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Owner at CAFE COUR du MIRACLE, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for your review and we're really sorry you couldn't get you into the courtyard. This year we have added another member of staff to help us cope with our growing popularity however this August has been incredibly busy for the whole village. Glad you still enjoyed the food, it's still home cooked and the best quality. If you know you will be passing give us a call and we can reserve you a table in the courtyard. Appreciate your continued loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CAFE COUR du MIRACLE also viewed

 

Been to CAFE COUR du MIRACLE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing