We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of The Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Barn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ruislip
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have stayed here on several occasions and this hotel is simply superb! I usually stay in the five star standard Deans Lodge, which is opposite, but part of, The Barn Hotel. Staff are brilliant and bend over backwards to help you. The Hawtrey restaurant is very nice and was serving top French cuisine upon my last visit. If you are visiting this part of London, I would highly recommend visiting this hotel. Ensure you book a Deans Lodge room for that extra special touch.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room within Deans Lodge. It is almost a brand new addition to the hotel and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pp7822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    138
    101
    52
    52
See reviews for
98
144
31
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had never stayed there before, but will do again.Right from booking in up until booking out, a 1st class experience with the most friendly,helpful staff, superb rooms and quality food. Well done.

Room Tip: all good, even though you are close to a main road you hear nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayahtolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a choice of this or the Premier Inn, both located near Ruislip Station and the same price but The Barn included breakfast.

The main parts of this complex are Grade II listed dating back to the 17th century. The new modern areas have been added sympathetically. The first room we were given was small but new and clean. Unfortunately, there was a problem with the plumbing and very noisy when neighbours showered. The staff promptly moved us to another room, which was great. Very peaceful even though it's next door to the underground station.

We had breakfast served in our room, which carried a cover charge of just 3.50. A nice cooked breakfast and pastries.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel is a little oasis of peace whilst still being close to the A40 and Ruislip underground. We were pleasantly surprised and would stay again when we need to be in Ruislip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFLAUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Staff did little to respond and ushers had to catch water in bowls!! Eventually a tarpaulin was placed over the roof outside and inside however water continued to pour down the wall during the ceremony.

Standard double room is Very small - one person needs to sit on the bed while the other moves around. Room recently refurbished but not finished well. We paid £69 per night and I would not pay any more. Location excellent with underground station right next door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ruislip hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have stayed at the Bran prior about two years ago in which we had a great stay so decided to stay again recently. On both occasions we stayed in the Dean Lodge rooms, however this time we got upgraded to the Bangkok Suite...what an amazing room, very modern, luxurious and relaxing. Wonderful tub to relax and unwind. Would defiantly recommend for a romantic stay. Only negative is that there are no curtains apart from a thin net in the main living area, so be very careful in what you wear (or not) as you can very easily be seen from outside. The staff are very helpful, polite and keen to make sure you have a good stay. Cannot fault the food in anyway, substantial breakfast, bar food has a good choice of a high quality. (try the afternoon teas). Will hope to return soon

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb0sw0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Barn Hotel is in a convenient location and easy to find. However, the room we were allocated (standard double) was terrible - it wasn't very clean, the wallpaper was ripped, the old style TV wasn't tuned in, the floor was uneven and the bathroom was falling apart. There was constant running water outside the window and it was very noisy. I think there are a lot better rooms available so I would check exactly where you're staying if you make a booking. It was very poor value for money compared to the standard you get in other budget chain hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751purple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have stayed at The Barn several times now, and I must say that I always look forward to it. The welcome at reception is always warm, friendly and professional as are all the staff in general. I love the relaxed atmosphere of the bar area and am happy to spend time there, even when on my own if staying for work - in many hotels this isn't the case. The food has always been fabulous and I highly recommend Hawtrees Restaurant, just make sure you're hungry! My room on my most recent visit last week was clean and very comfortable and looked as though it has just been refurbished. The shower was amazing!

I highly recommend The Barn to anyone travelling for business in the area and also for those wanting to explore London or go to Wembley - the tube station is just next door (not that you ever hear a train!). If in this part of the world, I won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruislip
1.4 mi away
Ramada London South Ruislip
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier by Eurotraveller Hotel, Harrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 5 in Uxbridge
608 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Uxbridge Central
6.1 mi away
Hilton London Wembley
Hilton London Wembley
#3 of 12 in Wembley
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn Hotel

Property: The Barn Hotel
Address: West End Road, Ruislip HA4 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ruislip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ruislip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel London
The Barn Hotel Ruislip, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing