We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Barn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ruislip
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

First of all the staff are lovely and very attentive. Great location. The main building has a lot of character and is pretty cool, the problem is the suites, they are great on first appearance but when you look closely most of them need a little renovating.
I find the biggest problem is the mattresses, I know you can't cater to everyone's tastes but some of the beds have very obvious dips in them, and sometimes the drains in the bathrooms are not great.
I sometimes prefer the junior suites.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mistoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    130
    99
    51
    48
See reviews for
89
134
29
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times over the last few years, and it does have some sort of an old historical charm and I've usually been fairly happy with the place. However on this trip I was given a room that has the most sagged out and lumpy bed that I've ever slept on. And that includes comparison hunters huts in the back blocks of New Zealand! The thing kept trying to pitch me out onto the floor all night. The bed in room 301 needs serious attention.
During this stay, a couple of workmen came and removed the curtains from the main lounge and only partly replaced it with a blind. Obviously they dropped tools and knocked off work at 5pm leaving the job only partially done along with all their rubbish. I had to spend a night in a virtual fish bowl with all that walked by having a good view right through the flat and into the bathroom. I also had to endure a security or street lantern that lit up the entire flat from the outside. To be honest, when I dared to complain to reception, it reminded me of the television show Fawlty Towers minus the laughs.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bimroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ruislip hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is a good hotel, right next to the train station in Ruislip, with good access to central London.
The parking is free and reception / check-in good.
The hotel itself is very old and has been adapted over the years, including the introduction of a small conference centre recently.
The rooms are in smaller blocks, over two floors, dotted around the complex.
Rooms are fine, have Wi-Fi access, en-suite and all the usual tea/coffee etc.
I suspect some could do with an upgrade, especially in the bathrooms, but it was pleasant enough.
Didn't use the restaurant, but the bar area and outside seating by the bar is nice.

All in all, a bit quirky and something a bit different!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just stayed for two nights at the barn hotel. The setting is lovely and the old parts of the building add to the look of the place. We had a standard room which was small but adequate for what we needed. The walls of the room needed a coat of emulsion to cover up all the dirty marks on it. The main part of the hotel was very nice with lovely furniture, curtains etc with plenty of room for lounging or drinking. Unfortunately after meeting friends and returning to the hotel on Sunday evening we found the bar was just closing. We said we were guests at the hotel and could we have a drink. We were able to get one drink and that was it. The next night the bar closed quite early for a hotel.We did not eat in the hotel as friends had booked a meal elsewhere as the restauraunt did not do meals on Sunday evenings but we thought the continental breakfast was beautifully prepared and the food was lovely. We would stay there again but perhaps up grade to a bigger room. ,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I took advantage of a late deal, 70% off and I'm so glad I did. The hotel comprises of a number of Elizabethan farm buildings. My room was not particularly large but the bathroom was exquisite, the bed was comfortable but the quilt and the pillows were the best. Really warm, soft and snuggly. The receptionist was chatty and helpful. The only drawback was that after 8pm the car park was full to bursting.
This brings me neatly to the Restaurant. Because parking was so difficult I opted to eat in. There were good quality bar snacks reasonably priced but I elected to try the set price fine french dining experience. £21.50 for two courses £25.00. The meal and the service were superb.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR1chardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

in September 2013, we had our wedding ceremony and breakfast at this wonderful venue, yes the guest rooms could be a little more bright, but the our executive rooms were fantastic, we had family and friends travelling in from around the world, so its location on the underground and only 30 mins from LHR made it easy for all to get too.
The room for our wedding was done out fantastically , it almost felt like a church, and then the same room was prepared for our wedding breakfast, while had drinks and canopies served on the lawn ( the weather stayed fine for us)
The food was wonderful and we had a tasting session prior to our day, and the chef listened to our thoughts and prepared the courses just as we wanted, the serving staff were very attentive, and Neeto / George and whole the team sorted out any issues which came along, which if i recall was only one and that was our guests were drinking the wine very quickly !! so a nice problem, but sorted by the team.
They helped us in every way, and we could not have been happier with our day and the way all of the Barn staff helped out.
A little pricey ? maybe , but in terms of no worrying and feeling confident worth the little extra cost.
Treat the guys there as professional friends, respect their knowledge and the help is amazing , it was a real team effort and I can not recommend them enough

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fargher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The executive block is a bit quirky with lots of electronic gadgets (blinds, lights) many of which don't work. They are spacious though and the new (firm) beds are comfortable. Bathrooms have not been thought through properly, some of the shower cubicles are long and narrow and it's impossible to turn the shower on without getting sprayed with cold water.

I've only stayed in the standard rooms three times and wouldn't recommend them. Small and basic although the last one had been semi-renovated. Still not comfortable though.

Good selection of restaurants nearby. Indian, chinese, nepalese, Cafe Rouge, Pizza Express and a boutiquey type of pub thing which I think is a converted bakery.

Staff quality varies but on the whole they are pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay away from the standard rooms and stay in the executive block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruislip
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Ruislip Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ramada London South Ruislip
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Tudor Lodge
The Tudor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Eastcote
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 6 in Uxbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
Lancaster Hotel and Spa
#4 of 6 in Uxbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn Hotel

Property: The Barn Hotel
Address: West End Road, Ruislip HA4 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ruislip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ruislip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel London
The Barn Hotel Ruislip, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing