We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Thai restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Boys Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Twin Boys Thai Restaurant
Price range: US$11 - US$31
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Friendly staff, good choice on menu (though scallops not available day we visited). Food delicious and vegetables all very fresh.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Owner at Twin Boys Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your visit and thanks for posting a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
195 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent food good service reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a new restaurant run by Thai people. Plenty to choose from, and nice atmosphere. The "bag" dishes are unusual but tasty. The Thai coconut pancakes are very good. Cost for 2 inc drinks £46. My only criticism is that the bill states "service not included all tips go to the staff". If you add the tip to the credit card it does not go to the staff, so tip the staff in cash if you can.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Owner at Twin Boys Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your visit and thanks for taking the time to post a review. Regarding the tips, we encourage guests to leave a cash tip. We, the owners, don't want to take the tip and believe a tip acts as an incentitive to the staff to provide our guests with a good experience, However, you are correct in saying that tips left by card don't get passed on as it becomes to complex as it is treated as usual restaurant earnings and therefore subject to tax, VAT, etc. Perhaps we need to alter the bill to say "all cash tips".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What happened? ??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This used to be my favourite restaurant in Ruislip. Went again with friends and ordered what l usually do the stir fried seafood. My friend ordered another dish and asked them to make it mild. Both dishes were super hot and barely edible not like they had previously been cooked. My friend complained and eventually they brought out a bowl of prawns which were miserable. The service was poor could barely get any attention from waiting staff to get water for our burning mouths. The only good thing was the starter. No plans to go back.

Helpful?
Thank amkd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Owner at Twin Boys Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Sorry to hear our food was too spicy for your taste. You don't mention the specific dishes you ordered but some are difficult to tone down. For example, Thai curries are made with a pre-prepared fresh curry paste. It is difficult to make these milder without them becoming completely tasteless. With other dishes, the spiciness is a quintessential part of the dish. If this was the case with what you ordered, our staff should have explained this so apologies for that. We note that Twin Boys used to be favourite restaurant in Ruislip Manor. I searched in vain for a previous good review from you. This is of course the problem businesses have with review sites like Trip Advisor, When we do a good job, guests don't always take the time to post a review but when something goes wrong, they're happy to let everyone know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Local Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I must say that I was very impressed with the food , service and ambiance.
This was the first time I have visited Twin Boys and will 100% be back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Owner at Twin Boys Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
It''s good to hear you enjoyed your visit and thanks for taking the time out to post a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the best, but I have had worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The food is ok and normally arrives fairly speedily. There is a good choice of different Thai dishes and everthing I have tried has been cooked well, with decent portions.
Service can be variable. I have had wonderfully attentive service on one occasion, but total apathy on a couple of others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olafski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Owner at Twin Boys Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comments. We are certainly aiming to the best so your comments will help us focus our efforts on areas where we may need to approve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twin Boys Thai Restaurant also viewed

Ruislip, Greater London
 
Ruislip, Greater London
Ruislip, Greater London
 
Ruislip, Greater London
Ruislip, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing