We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Puesta del Sol
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aposentillo
Certificate of Excellence
Amagansett, New York, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Nice hotel, very private, big rooms with perfect sunrise views. Out of the way, they had free kayaks to go paddling in the manglares. Beautiful long beach with a good surfing wave a short ride or run away form the hotel with an amazing sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Loved the place. Very secluded and safe. The food is amazing and fair in price. The beach is awesome and the staff is very friendly. The only inconvenience was driving about 2 km of unpaved road with no road signs announcing the hotel before getting there. I would recommend starting your day as early as possible and if you are not staying, drive back before sunset.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douuzer305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The location of this hotel was exceptional. The water was clear and fresh, the pools were well situated and so close to the beach that you could smell the sea air as you swam, played water sports, and just lingered in the water to watch the volcanoes. Being there was a WOW moment. It seemed we were the only people there. This I liked, but it made me wonder if it could be made more available to other travelers. The rooms were the best I have stayed in, and the views were spectacular. The sunrise behind the string of volcanoes across from our rooms will always be remembered.
Beyond the location, the service was great. The rooms were first rate. The bar and restaurant were right on the water. The food was fresh and delicious. We had the best cevichi ever. We also went fishing. There is a marina right at the hotel. A very contemporary and unusual find in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: The second floor has a better view of the water and the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marytravelirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

It was luxurious with a charming rustic appeal. I loved every second! The lap of luxury spiced with just the right amount of pure Nica. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is authentic and very surreal. It was my first trip to Nicaragua. I will treasure it all of my life. The remote location of Northern Nicaragua made the trip eye an opening adventure of pure joy. We surfed, caught fish, ate fresh mangos everyday and deeply relaxed. In room massages are a treat. I really love this place and have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfratoSanOno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

This is a magical place for people who want to have it all, relaxation, beautiful scenery, great accommodations and food, and recreation, including tennis, horseback riding, fishing and kayaking. Sunsets on the private beach were glorious. This past time was my wife, son and myself. The last time, 4 years ago, was with extended family where we prevailed upon the owners to prepare a special feast for us which included freshly prepared lamb. We found the staff to be very attentive to our needs and requests.
I felt the value for the money was excellent, considerably beter than our trip to Costa Rica two years ago.

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank michael827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Just returned from an amazing vacation in Nicaragua at a most relaxing place for my family including three teenagers, Marina Puesta del Sol. Though we appreciated the hotel for its comfort, privacy and excellent service, our 3 teenagers were never bored. In addition to the usual water activities, there was fishing, horseback riding and paddling around in kayaks. Economically, it was an exceptional deal for my family. Also, the Marina management and staff kept all things running very smooth - the generators kicked in fast when the quirky Nicaraguan power problems occurred. The rooms were spacious with great views. Our initial trip to Central America was all that we hoped it would be - Marina Puesta del Sol was our good fortune!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BookmomDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Beautiful location that is easy to get to by Nicaraguan standards, but wouldn't recommend. Very over priced and the service and hotel are substandard. We didn't have power the first night and water the second. This is common in Central America, but this hotel states that it is the best and charges for it. Stay at Hotel Chancletas. It is also in a beautiful location and less than half the price. You won't mind if you don't have water or power. It is very casual and basic, but it is well priced. When we were there, we were the only guests, in the hotel, at Puesta del Sol and Hotel Chancletas was full. It is sad that this beautiful hotel (Puesta del Sol) was built and there is obviously no management or atleat one that cares.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aposentillo
21.9 mi away
Redwood Beach Resort
Redwood Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Mechapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Los Portales
Hotel Los Portales
#1 of 3 in Chinandega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones de Chinandega
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tapas and Surf
Tapas and Surf
#5 of 9 in Chinandega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel de Campo Apastepe
Hotel de Campo Apastepe
#4 of 9 in Chinandega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
15.1 mi away
Farallones Hotel
Farallones Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chinandega
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Puesta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Puesta del Sol

Property: Marina Puesta del Sol
Address: Playa Aposentillo | Aserradores, El Viejo, Aposentillo 26200, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Chinandega Department > Aposentillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aposentillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marina Puesta del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With nineteen deluxe suites in two charming colonial style buildings, and a thirty slip modern marina, we welcome you to a beautiful escape. Step back in time to a world where relaxation and rejuvenation are the order of the day. Let us indulge you with our top quality service and attention to detail in this secret paradise. Relax and unwind in the spacious Standard and Deluxe suites, or experience the opulent Master or Presidential suites. Open the French doors and step onto you private terrace for a spectacular view of the waters of Aserradores. Select suites are available with a spacious hydro-massage whirlpool where you can relax and unwind. Or enjoy a cool beverage in our beautiful pool at the marina as you take in the majestic view of San Cristobal volcano. At "El Muelle", you'll find a large assortment of delectable dishes and beverages under the palm roof palapa at water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Puesta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Puesta Del Sol Hotel Chinandega Department

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing