We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bread etc”
Review of Rex Bakery

Rex Bakery
Description: We are an award-winning, Real Bread bakery specialising in Sourdoughs & world breads. We hand make everything ourselves on the premises, and only use organic flour. We care about slow food & take our time to make bread well the old-fashioned way, so that it's tolerable to digest and utterly delicious.
Restaurant details
Description: We are an award-winning, Real Bread bakery specialising in Sourdoughs & world breads. We hand make everything ourselves on the premises, and only use organic flour. We care about slow food & take our time to make bread well the old-fashioned way, so that it's tolerable to digest and utterly delicious.
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Really friendly people and great bread made on the premises. Only criticism - they have a gluten free cake but not gluten free bread.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RexArtisanBakery, Owner at Rex Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thanks for your 5* review! Just wanted to explain about gluten-free cos we're passionate about this :)
1) Only about 1-2% population is actually coeliac & unable to process gluten. As we are a working bakery there are plenty of gluten particles in our atmosphere so we doubt we could ever be wholly gluten-free
2) The vast majority of customers who ask about gluten-free, are actually gluten-sensitive. In fact, they find they are sensitive to poorly fermented gluten - bread up & down the high street made too fast to be digestible. In Rex, all our organic bread doughs are made with long fermentation principles. That means there is plenty of time - up to 3 days with sourdoughs - for the bread to fully ferment, allowing the gluten to slowly denature & making it highly tolerable to digest.
3) We happily offer samples of slices of our signature Rex sourdough for worried customers to try, and have hundreds that are buying from us for these health principles, despite being gluten-sensitive. Our breads are chemical, additive & "improver"-free - and above all, DELICIOUS.

As you can maybe tell, we love what we do..... we're convinced that it's not whether it's gluten but the way the gluten is treated, and that means taking time. Hope you feel reassured to come and give our Sourdoughs a chance!!!! And thank you for giving us the chance to go on a bit... :) Hope to see you back again with us soon!!!!!!!!!!! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The Rex Bakery team make some of the best bread I have had anywhere )) The Pan Gallego has to be my favourite

Mix that with super coffee and a brilliant team working there it's no wonder that my family and I are regulars.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank srs0london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

I just popped in for a coffee whilst waiting for a doctors appointment, the coffee was good and I liked the look of the bread so bought a couple of loaves. Best food buy I a made for quite a while. The service was also very good.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Bony1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

The bread here is so varied , tasty and fresh. My favourites are the sourdough and the raisen and rosemary. The cakes are delicious too and the staff really friendly . Just had a coffee and croissant , delicious

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

How lucky the citizens of Little Chalfont are!! I was passing at lunchtime recently and stopped to find a sandwich. Dropped in at the Rex just by chance and had a delicious sandwich - smoked bacon, avocado, mushroom, followed by an orange cake which was also excellent. And nice coffee too.... But it's not just the food that's good. It's also such a cheery & friendly place. Great atmosphere with a lovely welcome. Completely brill!!!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Captain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rex Bakery also viewed

Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire
Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire
 
Sarratt, Hertfordshire
Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire
 
Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire
Little Chalfont, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Rex Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing