We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem - but known to the locals”
Review of Seabrook Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seabrook Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Somerset B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Gem - but known to the locals”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We've past this seemingly older style Hotel/Motel on a number of occasions when visiting Tasmania but seldom stop. Luckily on our last occasion we chose to look that little bit closer.

It soon became apparent that changes were being made. The frontage looked a bit better, new air conditioning units appeared in view, electrical wiring protruded from the eves. 'Dam' we'd better take a closer look AND to our surprise the bar areas are completely renovated and stylish, the menu indicated that the Chef was a thinker! with prices that no-one could complain about.

It was decided that we look at the accommodation. First impression - not good - the outside appearance needs attention but again we had received verbal assurance that the interior was renovated. Inside we found a totally renovated room, everything but the walls has been replaced, painted, new everything and more.

The staff in the hotel were just great. They know how to talk, laugh, joke and be efficient. Prices are good and by the number of locals eating the evening we dined there, they realise what a good deal this place is!

Every positive comment previously made, we agree with!

It's obvious that ownership/management is undergoing upgrades as finance permits.

Even if you don't wish to stay over or have made other arrangements stop by and see what imagination and professional approach can make.

My only regret is that I did not get the name of the dark headed lady who was referred to as 'the boss' within the dinning area. She was wonderful and capable of making everyone in attendance feel as though they belong there, while operating and managing other younger members of staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Seabrook Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks Richard, and you are spot on in regards to the progress of our renovations.
We have some great staff in the kitchen and our floor staff want to see you come back - so please do.
We will pass on your compliments to our staff..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked this hotel a while ago - at the old price. Since we booked - the rooms have all been upgraded - with new beds, A/C. TV and the bathrooms have been all modernised and retiled. The room had been freshly painted. when we arrived we were given an updated room - and the price quoted previously was honoured. We were not asked to pay an updated price for the refurbished room.

The room also had tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge.

The room was huge with plenty of room

Off street parking was available.

Considering the location of the motel section - attached to the back of the hotel - it was very quiet at night.

Dinner was available in the Hotel dining area - and house guests were guaranteed a table. In fact Monday to Thursday have dinner specials for $12 - and the meals were HUGE - we could not finish our meals.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Seabrook Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
George, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit at the Seabrook. Our refurbished rooms are becoming popular and we are pleased to now be able to offer updated accommodation in Somerset.
Please visit us again - We're certain our chef will be happy to cook for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The family and I are regular diners at the Sesbrook.
With 3 kids in tow, the $10 meals suit us to the ground.
Kids and I usually enjoy chicken schnitzel which comes with a complimentary sauce (dianne is great as is garlic cream). Teenage son enjoys a rump and wife has a great plate of crumbed scallops.
Meals are always quick, the only let down is the salad which accompanies the meal, but for ten bucks can one really complain??
Drinks are regular bistro prices.
The venue also has coin operated games for the kids, this provides a distraction of meals are delayed on busy nights. There are also pokies/ keno and TAB for those inclined to have a flutter.
The $10 meals ate only Mon to Thur so make sure you get in and try them, I am certain you will be back.
Parking is right st the door.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Manager at Seabrook Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thanks for your great review - our bistro is a great place for a family dinner - please visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We paid the extra to stay here after reading the trip advisor reviews and it was well worth the extra $15. We have just enjoyed one of the nicest bistro meals that we have had in years! I chose the rump steak after reading the reviews on trip advisor and I have to agree, at times you're able to pull it apart with just pressing your knife and fork onto the steak. The mixed vegetables served included silverbeet, swede, corn, potatoes and lovely sweet carrots. My husband had the chicken Kiev and loved it too. The vegetable soup was great and had a hot bread roll with chilled butter and you cannot go past the two for one desserts. Excellent value for money and the specials board is even more tempting. The rooms are large and quiet (we are in number 9 at the back). They also have a fridge with plenty of tea and coffee supplies. We have ordered breakfast in the morning from an extremely reasonably priced menu - for example... I ordered the poached eggs on toast ($7.00) my husband has ordered the bacon and eggs for $10, but they have a serve of cereal or toast with various spreads for just $2.00 - If it is anything like dinner, I think we have just found our Westcoast bolt hole. The staff were professional with a cheery smile and they make a great lemon, lime and bitters. Yes, the hotel room's decor can double for a scene out of Starsky and Hutch, but they are tidy, clean and comfortable with flat screen TVs. We have stayed in hotels all over the world (both expensive and budget), sometimes you just need somewhere to lay your head and feel secure (and full!!). This is that spot!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFinerThingsForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Seabrook Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi and thank you for your great review. We enjoy hearing from our 'happy guests'. Our meals get great reviews. We are part way through a complete room renovation so when we see you again you may enjoy one of our new rooms. Thanks again, from Lindy & her staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We enjoyed a $10 Special on our way home last night. Not expecting much for $10 we were both amazed at the quality and size of the Rump Steak, perfectly cooked medium rare, with mushroom sauce, chips and salad. Deserts were on special at $6.99 buy one get one free. We chose Sticky Date Pudding and Pavlova Roulade both excellent and generous serves. Lots of families present and a wonderful atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Mon - Thurs $10 meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zholsz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Seabrook Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your great comments... We try hard to always have meals that are excellent value. Spread the word..... Hope to see you again soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay here. We were booked for 2 nights but stayed for a 3rd.
Lindy & all her staff were just lovely. Very friendly & helpful. Our room was cosy,clean & comfortable (even if a little dated). We had breakfast (which was delicious) delivered to our room each morning & had dinner in the restaurant each night. The food was always wonderful & great value. My only complaint would be that the meals were so large I could never fit in dessert.
So impressed were we by the food, the value for money & the service that we travelled back here from Devonport to have our last meal in Tassie. Thanks Lindy, girls & Marcus (the chef)!

Room Tip: Though this hotel is on the Bass Highway, noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Seabrook Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi Sharon,
Many thanks for your positive review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Seabrook Hotel. We are working through a complete renovation programme at the moment and soon all our rooms will be updated and air conditioned. Looking forward to seeing you back again next time.
Regards Lindy & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Close to the beach, large rooms, comfy beds, lovely food and large bar. The staff were very helpful in the bar and at check-in. We had a meal in the bar in the evening and the price was great considering the amount of food you got. We had a family room so had 2 twin beds and a double which were all very comfy. We filled in the form to have breakfast delivered to our room in the morning and it was great. We could pick the time it was brought to the room and a huge selection to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
2.3 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
20.7 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.8 mi away
Leisure Ville Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
4.8 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabrook Hotel

Property: Seabrook Hotel
Address: Bass Highway | Somerset, Somerset, Tasmania 7322, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seabrook Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seabrook Hotel at Somerset is located on the Bass Highway.Very close to the Burnie (Wynyard) airport. Free parking on site. Accommodation rooms being updated commencing Feb 2013. "Famous"Bistro meals - lunch & dinner- 7 days. Bottleshop, Tote & gaming room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Seabrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing