We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More miss than hit”
Review of The Cuckoo

The Cuckoo
Ranked #93 of 474 Restaurants in Peterborough
Price range: US$24 - US$40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Cuckoo in Alwalton is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location right by the A1.
Large beer garden out the front, decent decor and reasonably priced.
Popped in for lunch on a Saturday...failed to hit the mark. Food was bland, portions were small and food was luke warm.
Was busy, but even so. Did mention out to the staff, who apologised.
Shame...been here when it's quieter, and food was spot on.
Average at best...disappointing

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STR159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear STR159, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment from your last visit at The Cuckoo, once again we are sorry that you found the food bland, the portions small and luck warm, we have taken you comments on board and will make sure this not happen again in the future. However we are pleased to hear you have had pleasant experience with us in the past and hope you visit us again and give us a chance to turn this negative experience into a positive one. All the very best. Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent range on menu, with good cooking. Reasonable range of draught beers.
Decor is attractive. Converted barn.
Reasonably priced.
Was busy when we turned up on Friday evening.
Must be popular with the locals.
Parking was easy.
Friendly staff.

Thank Drpkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Drpkm, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Cuckoo. We're happy we could meet your expectations! we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! it's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice pub to visit for a meal. Not really a drinker's pub, it offers a good range of bar and restaurant meals in a nice friendly atmosphere. Sunday lunches are especially popular. There is a beer garden with plenty of outside seating where dogs are welcome. The parking is convenient. Generally a nice place for a couple of drinks and some good food.

Thank SLPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Slpayne, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Cuckoo! Your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to The Cuckoo! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place in a quaint village with thatched roofed cottages. Staff friendly and the food was great!!

Thank redshoesr4dancin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you muchly for the five stars! we all at the cuckoo appreciate your wonderful comments and are looking forward to your next visit. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’m sitting in the restaurant having just finished my ‘Lamb Duo’ with a side of cheesy mushrooms. Wifey had Chicken & Thyme pie.
Beautiful. Couldn’t have been nicer.
And cool music too!
Cheers Guys.

Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Cuckoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Richard I, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best wishes,
The Cuckoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cuckoo also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cuckoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing