We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch in the bar”
Review of Bell Inn Stilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bell Inn Stilton
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“lunch in the bar”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Went for lunch in the bar, had to wait a while for the table but thats my fault for not booking, so next time i would book as its very popular especialy as it was a saturday lunchtime at 1o'clock , so if you every thinking off going id book. It has a great open fire which i lucky if to sit next too, it was good too as the fire wasnt roaring so it wasnt too hot, great selection to choose from sandwiches to main meals. i choose one of the sandwiches, chicken and sweet chill on malted bread, was lovely came with a small salad and crisps, we shared a bowl of chips which were pently.
so to end a great pub with great food. thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    111
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
104
150
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

just had a lovely break at this hotel with my husband. We stayed for one night and had the dinner bed and breakfast which was lovely. The only downside was the intermittant humming of the water system (I think) that was going in the night and did keep me awake at some point. Also, a radio alarm clock and a mini fridge in the room would be welcome additions. Overall, I had a lovely time and the staff were all very friendly and attentive especially the lady who looked after us at breakfast I think her name may have been Heather but not sure. Would definately recommend this hotel and can't wait to be treated again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My girlfriend and I first came across this stunning coaching inn last summer, we have been back a coupleof times, but today was our first experience actually eating a sit down meal there.

The moment we arrived, we were welcomed and a call was made to the restaurant staff to come and collect us. We were directed to a lounge room, with big comfy sofas, and a fireplace, and offered drinks, or the option of going to our table early.

Throughout the meal, we could not believe how amazing the food was. Everything, from the melt in the mouth beef, to the sublime creme brulee was just perfect. Bread rolls and a bottle of water were offered as standard, and the stunning 3 course was finished off with a pot of tea for me, and a huge cappucinno for my girlfiend.

Just before leaving, we went to reception and booked again for later in the month!

The Bell is literally the most wonderful place. The staff are amazing, the venue is incredible and full of character, and the food left us feeling like royalty.

Thank you guys, and we look forward to seeing you very often over the next couple of years (not to mention our wedding!).

:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Fantastic place. Really special atmosphere with friendly staff. We ate in the bistro. I had pork belly and then a sticky toffee pudding. Both courses were just beautiful. I can't recommend the food enough. It was simply delicious. The bill for four of us with several drinks and a bottle of wine was very reasonable. We will most certainly go back.....excellent!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is now the second time that we have spent time with family here just before Christmas. Always a lovely welcome at reception which goes right throught to the bar and restaurants. The food as always in the galleried restaurant was superb. We stayed on Saturday night and after our meal the four of us went down to the bar for a last drink. The bar man asked if we were resident in the hotel and when we said yes, he found us a quiet area to sit with a lovely fire and "you can sit here as long as you want". Everyone left us to chat and it made our evening complete.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Joined seven great friends last night for a great Christmas meal in the Galleried Restaurant. It was perfect, as always. We started the evening in the traditional downstairs pub in this old coach inn. Ended it in the resident's "snug", and then stayed over in one of the four-poster bedrooms. We all had a fantastic time. Great beer and wine, fantastic food, fairytale setting and extraordinary service. What more can you ask? This has been our go-to restaurant for group functions since we discovered it eleven years ago. That it also has a great, traditional pub and the best sticky toffee pudding on the planet make it a complete destination. It's worth going out of your way for.

Room Tip: The four-poster bedrooms are a perfect balance of old-time charm and a gleaming, modern bathroom/sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEN57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went for a meal at the Bistro last Saturday and it was without doubt the best meal out I've had in ages. The atmosphere was friendly and warm, and although the Bistro itself was quite quiet it meant that we could enjoy the conversation. The staff were very friendly and the service first class.
I had one of the board specials (Beef Stroganoff) and it was very tasty and piping hot, the meat was very tender. It was hard to choose what to have from the varied menu, as it all sounded delicious. We chose our own vegetables, rather than those on the menu, it was not a problem. Nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly recommend it. Incidentally, our son had his wedding there 2 years ago, and I couldn't fault that either.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browns38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
6.5 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
348 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 27 in Peterborough
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
767 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 27 in Peterborough
329 reviews
8.1 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Inn Stilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Stilton

Property: Bell Inn Stilton
Address: 33 Great North Road | Stilton, Peterborough PE8 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Stilton 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn, historically an important stop on the Great North Road between London and York, is one of the finest surviving examples of a 17th century Coach House. Famous as the Birthplace of Stilton Cheese, this popular inn sits at the heart of the village.Built around the old courtyard our Village bar and Bistro, Galleried Restaurant and Bedrooms have been skilfully blended into the ageless stonework offering old world charm, relaxing comfort and the most modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bell Inn Stilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Stilton Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing