We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”
Review of Bell Inn Stilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bell Inn Stilton
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We night stopped here to break the journey and what a little gem The Bell turned out to be. Great location near to the A1 in a peaceful village. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating and our evening meal in the restaurant was first class. No problems parking the car in a safe car park which we always find essential on our travels. No hesitation in recommending The Bell and we will most certainly break our journey here again should the occasion arise.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fife2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    111
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
106
153
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for work recently - had a perfectly pleasant and clean room, enjoyed the location and the staff were very friendly. The hotel itself is in a well-kept historic building with a more recent (but compatibly-styled) extension. There's a nice courtyard near the car park that acts as a sun trap and makes for a pleasant place to have one of the bar's local ales.

Sadly I didn't have time to check out the restaurant but I did manage to buy some Stilton Cheese to take out! All in all, very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gongladosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultan, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

On a recent trip to England we booked one of the top rooms at The Bell. Very disappointed and not worth the money we spent. Didn't realize there would be so much noise from traffic but that wasn't the fault of the hotel. HOWEVER right outside our room was a housekeeping closet!!! VERY NOISY before 7am. Not what I expected. We asked for tea to be delivered to our room. Were greeted with "don't you have tea making stuff in your room". Again considering the price we were paying all we wanted was tea made and delivered to our room. Found the staff on the desk unhelpful and quite miserable. Free Wifi was a plus except it NEVER worked!!! The Only bright spark was Hazel who ran the breakfast room. Very upbeat and happy. Couldn't do enough for you!! She isn't paid enough I am sure!!! We checked out a day early as we were so disappointed. Would NOT recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 834jayneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toptable10, Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest
I am sorry to hear that you were very disappointed with your stay. It is our intention for all our guests to have a relaxing time with us and obviously we fell short of achieving this on your visit. The village is normally a quiet place, with the exception of the annual Cheese Rolling event in May. The hotel is usually calm during the morning as the housekeeping team do not generally start until well after 7.00am. Sometimes, especially on weekdays, our business guests do need to be up and about early but are generally very mindful of other guests.
Your request for tea was far from unreasonable and should most definitely have received a more positive response and I will be looking into this. Regarding wifi, we have recently had a new system installed but unfortunately at the time of your stay our wifi provider was experiencing technical difficulties affecting not only the hotel but the whole village. I can only apologise for the lack of service which was beyond our control. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and we will endeavour to ensure our normally high standards continue to be met.
Jo Grimshaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We came here for our wedding anniversary and we couldn't wish for a more friendly hotel. Staff so helpful and polite. Wonderful family feel to the hotel. Spotless rooms furnished and decorated to an exceptionally high standard. Wonderful! Trying the restaurant tonight!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

...that have always made a difference at the Bell and why it was always one of our regular haunts since moving to the area 10years ago. However over the last couple of years the usual flawless service has not been as consistent and hence have knocked it off our 'top of the list without a doubt'. Eg Saturday we arrived for lunch...sat in nice sunny courtyard...usual lovely service from the lady behind the bar (sorry, can't recall her name but she always remembers ours...wears glasses and is sooo professional yet friendly). We choose table part in sun which had dirty crockery on it, but we expected this would be cleared shortly knowing how efficient this establishment is....wrong! Sat there, watched waiter and waitress clear other empty dirty tables....but didn't come near us! In the end they disappeared and we moved the half eaten lunches and dirty crockery to a 'clean'table as nothing worse than looking at someone else's leftovers, especially on a baking hot day....waiter reappeared took away the dirty dishes but didn't even register or acknowledge than they'd came from us, and no apology etc.
despite that, we did enjoy our food and the setting is lovely...so peaceful and well tended. Whoever does the flower pots deserves a special mention but service is where you can make the real difference hence scored average rather than good
Maybe they are a victim of their own success, but you gotta be consistent...
We tend to drive that bit further now, to places where we feel our custom does matter. Note to the lady waitress, who I think may be the owner,....a smile goes a long way, try it some time! This after all the hospitality business!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiraboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toptable10, Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we very much appreciate the time taken to review the hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you found our service and overall demeanour not up to our usual high standard. I would like to thank you for the positive comments especially regarding our Bar Manager, Sue and our well tended surroundings.

In hindsight I can only apologise and I will endeavour to ensure all staff greet guests in a welcoming and positive manner. I very much hope that you will return to The Bell at some future time and find things back to normal because, as you rightly state, it is the little things that make all the difference.
Jo Grimshaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I got married 18th july at the bell inn. I was so impressed with the service from everyone on the team. I had no stress on the day so i could enjoy my day. I would recommend the bell inn to anyone that is looking for a venue. The food was amazing (especially the chocolate brownies). The room that we stayed in over night was lovely as well. Again i can not thank them enough for everything they did. My mum could not sleep as it was so hot so went downstairs and someone set up a table in the court yard for her and made a cup of tea. So again thank you for looking after all of us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteLenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little gaddesden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had dinner which was very good, breakfast which was quite good. Our room was clean but tatty and very dated. If the room was historically classic in its Decor it would have been better, but it was tatty 1970s. Pretty courtyard

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and despite a wedding reception was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toptable10, Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. I am sorry you were disappointed with your room, we obviously have an ongoing policy of refurbishment and updating where necessary and your comments will be taken on board. We hope we may look forward to seeing you back at The Bell at some future date.
Jo Grimshaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
6.5 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
353 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#6 of 27 in Peterborough
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 27 in Peterborough
333 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
778 reviews
8.1 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Inn Stilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Stilton

Property: Bell Inn Stilton
Address: 33 Great North Road | Stilton, Peterborough PE8 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Stilton 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn, historically an important stop on the Great North Road between London and York, is one of the finest surviving examples of a 17th century Coach House. Famous as the Birthplace of Stilton Cheese, this popular inn sits at the heart of the village.Built around the old courtyard our Village bar and Bistro, Galleried Restaurant and Bedrooms have been skilfully blended into the ageless stonework offering old world charm, relaxing comfort and the most modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bell Inn Stilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Stilton Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing