We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service at a hotel ever received”
Review of Bell Inn Stilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bell Inn Stilton
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst service at a hotel ever received”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We chose the hotel as a convenient and pleasant location for a business meeting. Convenient yes, pleasant, far from it!
We needed a location halfway between Cambridge and Oakham and had our two children with us plus laptops to keep them occupied.
On arrival we were received in a very frosty manner by the receptionist, who advised that we couldn't expect tea/coffee in fact any drink until 6pm when another staff member came in. Even when the staff member came in we were still not asked if we wanted drinks.
Then, when we were in the middle of our discussion, with our two children sitting quietly watching a movie, a man came in and very rudely interrupted, saying 'what's all this?' I explained that we were there to have a little meeting and were waiting for drinks. He then stared at us for a few minutes and then suggested that we moved in to a meeting room. Again, there was no offer to take a drinks order or food for that matter, which we would have considered.
To add insult to injury, during the meeting my partner fainted and when my business colleague went to reception, whilst given a glass of water, still unbelievably, no one came to check if everything was alright. I would hate to be there in a greater emergency!
Needless to say I would urge anyone to avoid the place, unless you enjoy 'Fawlty Towers' style service without the laughs!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruttle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toptable10, Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
I was present at the hotel on the occasion in question and was bemused by the interesting interpretation put on events in this review. The guests in question walked into the hotel past the Reception desk without so much as a word until the Receptionist on duty asked them if she could help. They informed her that they were there to have a meeting (no booking had been made) and have drinks. It was politely pointed out that the public Bar was closed until 6.00pm but that they were welcome to use the area which is in fact the Residents Lounge of the hotel. The guests then proceeded to set themselves up in the Lounge, installing their two children at different tables and plugging in laptop computers for them to be entertained by. No request was subsequently made for tea or coffee although a coffee station was set up in the area. Neither did they at any later stage request drinks, other than one lady coming to ask for a glass of water which was immediately given to her but no mention was made that anybody was unwell. It was only when the other lady went into the courtyard and it was evident there was a problem, as she was very tearful, that a member of staff spoke to her to ask if she could help. Clearly this escaped their recall of events. Previous to this they had been offered use of a meeting room as the children were making ample use of the Residents Lounge as a play area. They then left as they arrived, without the courtesy of a word but having had free private use of a meeting room for an hour and a half.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    111
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
104
150
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We only stayed one night on our way home but would certainly visit again. The room in the old part of the hotel overlooked the old Great North Road but there was no traffic noise.
We enquired about eating in the bistro but it was suggested that as we would be the only people eating in that room it would be more atmospheric to eat in the public lounge area - good recommendation. The food is of a good pub quality, with a bias towards the inclusion of stilton cheese!
The service was excellent. We left something behind in the room at checkout, they contacted us as we were driving north and posted it out to us, to arrive at home the following morning.
The hotel's location being just off the A1(M) makes it a very good alternative for a lunch stop instead of service areas.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr250man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Lovely oldy worldy hotel in the pretty village of Stilton. The food was exceptional and the staff very friendly.
The disapointment was that my colleages all had nice rooms in the hotel but the room I was given was not connected to the hotel and it appeared that additional rooms have been added which althouth neat and tidy were not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We found the Bell by chance, looking for a decent breakfast near the A1, and liked it so much, we now make it a regular overnight stop and have never been dissapointed. The building is lovely, beds comfortable, and bathrooms excellent. detail is good with plenty of lamps, and our rooms have always had two decent chairs.

The staff are exceptional, with the small friendly touches that make the difference. we love the cozy sitting room upstairs - loads of comfy chairs and an open fire.

The food is excellent with a knowledgable chef happy to share source of ingredients. Restaurant is maybe a touch expensive, but food at the bar comes from the same kitchen.

Breakfast is freshly cooked with great selection of alternatives

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptripsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Stayed one night at the Bell as we were attending a function there. Friendly staff. The room was in the eaves and it was not possible to stand up in large areas of the room because of the eaves or beams. Would recommend booking a room on a lower floor. Modern bathroom but poor water pressure in the shower and a very dangerous beam in the middle of the bathroom. Breakfast was very good, cooked to order and nicely served.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
6.5 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
348 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#8 of 27 in Peterborough
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
767 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#15 of 27 in Peterborough
329 reviews
8.1 mi away
Haycock Hotel
Haycock Hotel
#16 of 27 in Peterborough
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Inn Stilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Stilton

Property: Bell Inn Stilton
Address: 33 Great North Road | Stilton, Peterborough PE8 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Stilton 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell Inn, historically an important stop on the Great North Road between London and York, is one of the finest surviving examples of a 17th century Coach House. Famous as the Birthplace of Stilton Cheese, this popular inn sits at the heart of the village.Built around the old courtyard our Village bar and Bistro, Galleried Restaurant and Bedrooms have been skilfully blended into the ageless stonework offering old world charm, relaxing comfort and the most modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bell Inn Stilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Stilton Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing