We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Basic but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two evenings whilst attending the motorcycle show at the arena. The room was clean and functional, the breakfasts were very basic but ok and the staff were helpful. Do not eat at the Harvester pub next door........it's awful, slow not worth the money. There were only two members of staff behind the bar during the weekend the show was on !. In conclusion, a reasonable but very basic hotel which is ok for a one night stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Peterborough, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, great to read your bedroom was clean and functional and the staff were helpful. Sorry to read your comments about the pub next door, next time try us (we have a limited menu) or the Cuckoo pub around the corner is fab, hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    165
    75
    20
    9
See reviews for
56
100
32
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very clean room, free speedy wifi. Really friendly guy in reception. Breakfast was served on time. Opted to eat in the Harvester next door for an evening meal. My advice is do not bother. Slow service, dirty tables and miserable staff. Next time I stay I will eat on site.

Room Tip: No Baths - but a very clean shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Peterborough, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
John, many thanks for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. The hotel has a compact menu which is available all day and some items are available 24hours – give us a try next time you are here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We made this booking to minimise the travelling from Colchester to the Truck Fest at Peterborough, but we made a mistake on the dates and booked a day early. We missed the 24 hr cancellation deadline by about an hour when we realised. The hotel would have moved the booking to the following day but due to the festival they were fully booked, but the reception staff did request from the management a refund. This was not possible, so we decided to keep the room and extend our weekend. We are very glad we did. The room was great, clean, airy and very comfortable, with free unlimited breakfast and free wi fi. We requested extra pillows and they were with us in minutes. We stayed in another hotel chain the next night, and that stay made us realise that this hotel was much better, and certainly much better value for money. Will definatley use Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Peterborough, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for such a great review, Truck fest was a great success this year and the fantastic weather really helped. The staff here will always do their best to help, i hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having just stayed in a Best Western for half the price (to be fair that did not include breakfast) this was a little disappointing. The room could not be faulted. Clean, comfortable and quiet. An option of a room with bath was not given but the shower was satisfactory although the combined shower/body wash was almost impossible to extract. The bathroom was very clean though with no visible mould. The room was quite warm with no air conditioning. The window opens a little though but it is on the ground floor so not everyone would be happy with that and I imagine in warm weather it would be quite uncomfortable. The little things make a difference.... only 2 teabags, no hot chocolate or biscuits, no bottled water (although a container of water was supplied on request). The dining area is an extension of reception so it is not inviting for an evening meal. As we did not eat there in the evening I can't comment on the food but the breakfast was very basic. Quite poor hot options with no fresh fruit. Warm croissants were pleasant though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueShr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Peterborough, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you found your room to be clean and comfortable, but sorry to hear that you expected a bath, as non of the rooms have baths in them. Our food offering is an on going concern for the hotel, and we welcome your feed back.
I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Ideal for a quick stopover. Clean basic room with a basic breakfast at a reasonable price. Nothing special but ideal for what we wanted as we didn't arrive until 10.00pm and left at 8.30am, the staff were very helpful and friendly

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Peterborough, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you found the hotel clean, tidy and the staff helpful.
I hope next time you are in the area you will choose the Holiday Inn Express Peterborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk south west
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Basic clean tidy hotel that for the money does the job
Normally try to avoid express having stayed at the dump in Walsall but this was a pleasant suprise
Although I don't know what it is with express that the bloody tv reception is always poor and channels are missing and this place is no different.
Otherwise a basic good hotel and would recommend

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Peterborough, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
I am pleased you found the Holiday Inn Express Peterborough to a good standard. I was unaware there was a problem with the TV's. I will make sure this is investigated and resolved.
I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

well the room it self was fine ,we rang down for wifi code .they said they would bring it up ,waited an hour ,When we went down to reception they had forgotten ,appology ,naa.Breakfast was a farce ,you could have either scrambled egg or beans or sausages depending on which one they bothered to fill ,rubbish .

Room Tip: room fine ,just food that was rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Peterborough, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review. This was a very disappointing read. I am sorry that breakfast was not what you had expected. Breakfast is a focus for the hotel and I hope that next time you are in the area you will visit the Holiday Inn Express Peterborough so we can make sure your stay in a more pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#10 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#20 of 27 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Ferry Meadows) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Peterborough

Property: Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Address: East of England Way | Alwalton, Peterborough PE2 6HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Peterborough hotel is adjacent to the East of England Showground, an ideal base for both business and leisure guests. All guestrooms offer free WiFi access, direct dial telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. All room rates include our Express Start buffet breakfast for up to two adults and two children, children stay free when sharing parents room. Vending and high speed internet kiosks are available for use in hotel lobby. Bar area offering Sky TV / Setanta Sports The city of Peterborough hides a wealth of history just waiting to be uncovered. Visit Flag Fen - where archaeologists found the oldest wheel in Britain - and then fast forward a few centuries to discover our 'new' 12th century cathedral with the largest surviving example of a painted wooden ceiling from the Middle Ages. Peterborough has many local attractions including Nene Valley Railway, Dry Slope Skiing, Butterfly Park, Duxford Imperial War Museum & Burghley House. The Holiday Inn Express Peterborough is an excellent location for guests if visiting Cambridge, Newmarket Racecourse, Cheffin sales at Ely, Stansted Airport, Nottingham, Leicester and Stamford. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Peterborough hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing