We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food on A1”

The Sibson Inn Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 432 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food on A1”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stopped here on Good Friday for lunch on our trip up to Yorkshire from Surrey.
They say f1rst impressions count.....very friendly staff, good menu choice and the place is clean.
A great alternative to the dire fast food outlets along the A1. We both enjoyed our light lunch, the fresh Devonshire crab salad was particularly good and nicely presented.. We both agreed that on the next trip up we will be stopping. Importantly they serve food all day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Valentine Disappointment”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived with high hopes following all the other reviews on TA; whilst the food lived up to expectation the service did not.

We had to ask for our coats to be hung up, we had to ask for the wine list, our wine when it arrived was not initially poured, there was no bread on the table whilst waiting for the first course to arrive, the fire was not lit despite the cold night, our plates between courses always took too long to clear despite staff wandering past, I was not offered a second cup of coffee. Overall, not very romantic.

The food itself was excellent but the evening was spoilt by lack of attention to detail and service. £69 per couple for the Valentine evening for a 3-course meal inc tea / coffee is not cheap when service is lacking, but on the overhand I am more than happy to pay more when service hits the nail on the head - in this instanced it missed the target.

Pity, as the restaurant has such potential.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sidmouth4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Valentines delight”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Well if you didn't book for the Valentines meal you missed a real treat. The menu choice was fab and the food excellent, the pork loin melted in your mouth and hubby loved the lamb. Desserts were great thoroughly enjoyed the winter berry samosa and the creme brûlée was as always a real hit. Yet another great evening with fab food, service and atmosphere. Thank you for a lovely evening :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deby_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a work meeting. Very clean rooms and all the amenities. Absolutely brilliant staff and the food is better than a Michelin star restaurant ... so pleased with the entire experience.

Helpful?
Thank Amie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding 100% will return”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great people outstanding food great location a must if staying in the Peterborough area . Or if passing through , I would recommend the ribeye steak , with a bottle of red

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigallen3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sibson Inn Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Wansford, Peterborough
 

Been to The Sibson Inn Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing