We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel (but will never win hotel chain of the year)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“OK hotel (but will never win hotel chain of the year)”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on a buyagift deal. The hotel is easy to find and is in a pleasant location. No major problems; our room was clean and comfortable and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

But the hotel IS rather tired and in need of a make-over. In the meantime some attention to detail would improve things; for instance, the bathroom door needed a few drops of oil to stop it squeaking, one of the bedside lights needed the bulb replacing and the curtains only just covered the windows. Yes, it is nit-picking, but little things do count.

The buffet breakfast is only average, but a nice touch is that your eggs are cooked to order.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveanne-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    87
    84
    53
    47
See reviews for
41
83
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Awful hotel...mouldy bread at breakfast & hairs (you can guess what kind) in the bathtub pretty sums it up!

Take my advice and don't stay lots of other hotels at same price that are far nicer!!!

Dated hotel in dire need of a refurb, clean and modernisation. Didn't even have a lift!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hollands24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked a 2 night stay In this hotel with bed and breakfast, never been to Peterborough before so not knowing what to expect, looking at this hotel before we booked, we noticed the lovely surroundings around the hotel, which are very nice and that it was only a 20 minute walk to the town centre, we had 2 lovely sunny days so was ideal to walk around by the river nene and to the city ctr :-) the room was lovely and clean and the staff pleasant to talk to and very helpful, would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel staff very friendly and made you welcome, but unfortunately the hotel didn't live up to the staff's qualities. The room that we were given (yes we should have asked to be changed but we were late in from a wedding reception elsewhere) drew the same response at the same time from both of us.....smoke! It has obviously been a smoking room before the ban and as non smokers we could tell!! The decor is also 'tired' and in need of a refurb. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food. We had had better facilities for less money when we've stayed away before. All in all rather disappointing,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlovers1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hants
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a 2 night stay via Buyagift.com & were very pleasantly surprised. The room was fine, clean & had a nice view over the rowing course.
The quality of the food was a great surprise. We ate from the specials list (rather than the predictable, corporate menu) & I must compliment the service & the quality, especially of the chicken, bacon & mushroom pie which was excellent.
The cost was reasonable, unlike some hotels whose service is inferior.
Well done to the staff in the restaurant & the chef, who couldn't have done better.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river or rowing course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumpygravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Tired and dated and a bit sorry for itself... I imagine it was quite nice once upon a time..
Room basic but no air con and the pillows on the bed looked liked they should have retired 20 years ago!
Ground floor bedroom window only 1 latch so not very safe at all. Food however was not bad at all and the only saving grace was the pleasant views of the lake.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Checked in quick and easy, nice view from room but no air con and smell from lake ?? Bar man is Britain's last hope but friendly enough. Food was nice but hotel looks tired and in need of 60 minute makeover.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 27 in Peterborough
332 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#18 of 27 in Peterborough
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#10 of 27 in Peterborough
575 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough

Property: Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough
Address: Thorpe Meadows, Peterborough PE3 6GA, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Peterborough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Hotel Peterborough, this Peterborough hotel is the ideal setting for a short break or business trip and overlooks a serene lake which is home to Peterborough’s International Rowing Course. When choosing from hotels in Peterborough for your stay, this hotel in Peterborough is located just off the A47 with great transport links to the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Peterborough Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing