We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel-would go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Helpful staff on Reception- changed my room from ground floor to second as I was a 'lone female' - never had that happen before! Room & bathroom reasonable size and clean! Labelled hard & soft pillows! Breakfast staff lovely and good food selection. Very happy with visit! Would have been nice to have had free wifi!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolkiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

I find Holiday Inns can vary from pretty poor and tired to excellent, this one was certainly at the upper end of the range. The room was large and airy with a large comfortable bed, it was well maintained with a good sized bathroom which again was well looked after. All in all a very pleasant and comfortable stay. I would also add that the conference facilities were good with very helpful staff. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Staff are always polite and extremely helpful. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdunkerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel looks and feels good, and it's situated in a very nice suburb-y neighborhood. My bad rating is due to the really bad customer service. Based on the description on Expedia, the wireless internet should have been included/complimentary. When I checked in, I was told that there would be a charge (about $16 a night). When I showed them the Expedia description, they argued they continued to ignore the information and argued the point in a very rude manner.

The Front Desk Manager (or person in charge) was impolite, snide and mean. She finally consulted the General Manager (or so she said), and condescendingly provided the wireless. By then, I was very angry at the poor treatment and offensive behavior.

Later that day, I went to the restaurant, and again, the staff was bad-mannered and purposely confrontational.

I was very surprised at the lack of customer service at this Holiday Inn, since I’ve normally had a good experience with the chain in the US and in other locations.

So, despite the nice hotel, the bad service is enough to put off any traveler.

Room Tip: Have the Expedia hotel/room description on hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stay here quite a lot on business and the service is excellent - the girls on check-in are always very friendly and helpful - the air conditioning in the rooms is great in this hot weather - and the black pudding at breakfast is the best

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
Thank 908alic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed here for one night at the end of May to break up our journey to North Yorkshire. As I checked in I spotted a deal for dinner that evening – disappointingly it wasn’t offered to me until I pointed it out …… I went into my room and was very frustrated to find it was a twin bedded room. I phoned reception but they were most unhelpful – I told them I had booked a double room but they informed me I had booked a “room” on the internet, apparently I should of phoned the hotel to request a double. I was annoyed because there was no customer service about my complaint, I would have paid for an upgrade if it had been offered to me. Due to this I decided not to eat in the hotel and we walked to the pub down the road – very reasonably priced meal. The room was fine and the breakfast included in the price was very nice.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to confirm your room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Could not fault anything about the hotel, all the staff we had dealings with were very helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Although the lift was out of action, it was no problem as all our bags were brought up to our room on 4th floor. It was our 50th wedding anniversary the next day, so the evening we spent at the hotel the night before really started it off well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.9 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
834 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
421 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
405 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#19 of 27 in Peterborough
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough West

Address: Thorpe Wood, Peterborough PE3 6SG, England (Formerly Peterborough Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
#4 Business Hotel in Peterborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range: £50 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough West 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough is situated just 2.5miles from the City Centre and the East Coast mainline train station, 5 minutes drive from the A1M and opposite a challenging 18 hole golf course. The Holiday Inn Peterborough West is easily accessible and ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. Our recent refurbishment means huge investment and fantastic new facilities throughout the hotel including air-conditioning wireless internet access and refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. With 17 modern, air conditioned meeting rooms, fantastic conference and banqueting facilities, Holiday Inn Peterborough West provides outstanding facilities accommodating up to 400 delegates. A visit to our Club Moativation health and fitness club will help to ensure your feeling at your very best throughout the day with a range of excellent facilities including an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, dance studio, fully equipped gymnasium and beauty salon.Another great place to unwind is our restaurant and bar. Friendly & informal, the perfect venue to relax with friends or colleagues. Our restaurant offers an extensive range of dishes to suit all tastes whilst the bar offers light snacks and drinks throughout the day. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking areas at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough West Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing