We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad nights sleep”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was looking forward to staying here as it is well located for easy access to the main road and had the leisure facilities I was looking for. I specifically wanted to use the pool before work and called central reservations who confirmed the pool would be open at 06:30 (even at the weekend).

Due to a "cold spell" the heating had been turned on (1st June) and our room was hot with the air con turned off all throughout the hotel. I would have opened the window but I could already hear everyone outside reception smoking and talking as the room only has single glazed windows. I think there was a party or wedding reception and our room was right above the main door. As it was late we couldn't move rooms and sadly I didn't get a good nights sleep and woke up exhausted.

In the morning I also found that the times I'd been given for the pool were wrong, I had booked this hotel specifically for this! I couldn't use the pool before work.

I made the staff aware of this and they did allow us a free late check out and offered 300 IHG points, sadly I rarely stay in IHG hotels so this was a poor reconciliation. I did ask for a refund as I stay in hotels regularly and expect a good nights sleep which I didn't get.

I wouldn't stay here again until the rooms get double glazing. The bar is lovely and staff very friendly and understanding.

Room Tip: Do not stay above reception due to the single glazed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deewhyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear deewhjoe,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you encountered a number of problems during your short stay with us. I will ensure that our central reservations department are aware of the leisure club opening times. As you mention it opens at 7.30am at the weekend and 6.30am during the week.

Best wishes,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    202
    85
    25
    18
See reviews for
64
111
38
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Check-in was extremely quick, staff were polite and very helpful.

Room was clean and had all amenities that you would expect at a Holiday Inn.

Used the restaurant for both breakfast and evening meal, the breakfast choice is superb and staff on hand with tea's and coffee. Evening meals are a little bit pricey but good standard.

Overall would recommend to colleagues when staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Kelly g,

Thank you for your kind review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.

Best wishes,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

twelve of us (family) stayed overnight as we were attending a wedding not far from Holiday Inn, we had lovely rooms, very clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating the lovely lady named Linda in the dining room set up tables so that we could all eat breakfast together, nothing was too much trouble - and a lovely breakfast too. I would certainly recommend this Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: My husband and I had room 107 it was very spacious, huge bed - bigger than the normal king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear barbara c,

I was very pleased to read that you and your family group enjoyed your short stay with us. I will be pleased to pass on your comments to Linda and I know she will be delighted that she helped make your stay enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent place to stay. Staff is very polite and professional. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Excellent the gym and the pool to relax a little bit. Breakfast buffet rich enough to get you going for the rest of the day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alabarda1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear alabarda 1973,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I know the hotel team will be equally encouraged.

Kind regards,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Have just spent three nights at this hotel for a work. Food was good and staff very helpful. The fish and chips were particularly good. The phone signal is not brilliant which meant the Mi Fi wouldn't work and the hotel wifi was expensive. Surely in this day and age this should be free, July apparently? There is Plenty of free parking. But all in all it is a decent hotel as you would expect from Holiday Inn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Colin R,

Thank you for your review. I know the Chef will be delighted that the fish and chips were singled out for a mention. I do note the point regarding wifi and you are correct, from July you can enjoy complimentary wifi by joining the IHG Rewards Club.

Best wishes,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just stayed for the one night but would definitely stay again and we will tell our family and friends what great value it is.. We loved the gym, sauna and jacuzzi .. Had a lovely breakfast too.... Staff very helpful and smiley :-)

Dorothy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 850Dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear 850Dorothy,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of the leisure club. It's a great way to relax.

Best wishes,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Bentley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Have just spent a week at this hotel for a work course. Food was superb and staff very helpful. Only problem was wifi was expensive. Surely in this day and age this should be a free service. Plenty of free parking.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear philsuarez,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the conference you held here. I note the comment about wifi and from July you can enjoy it for free if you become and IHG Rewards Club member, free to join with many benefits.

Kind regards,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.9 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough West

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Address: Thorpe Wood, Peterborough PE3 6SG, England (Formerly Peterborough Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
#4 Business Hotel in Peterborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough West 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough is situated just 2.5miles from the City Centre and the East Coast mainline train station, 5 minutes drive from the A1M and opposite a challenging 18 hole golf course. The Holiday Inn Peterborough West is easily accessible and ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. Our recent refurbishment means huge investment and fantastic new facilities throughout the hotel including air-conditioning wireless internet access and refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. With 17 modern, air conditioned meeting rooms, fantastic conference and banqueting facilities, Holiday Inn Peterborough West provides outstanding facilities accommodating up to 400 delegates. A visit to our Club Moativation health and fitness club will help to ensure your feeling at your very best throughout the day with a range of excellent facilities including an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, dance studio, fully equipped gymnasium and beauty salon.Another great place to unwind is our restaurant and bar. Friendly & informal, the perfect venue to relax with friends or colleagues. Our restaurant offers an extensive range of dishes to suit all tastes whilst the bar offers light snacks and drinks throughout the day. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking areas at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough West Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing