We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a course I was doing through my work. The conference facilities were good with well stocked rooms. And my room was clean and comfortable just what you want when away from home overnight. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    204
    86
    25
    18
See reviews for
65
114
39
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batheaston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice clean welcoming hotel, excellent helpful staff, who go the extra mile to provide great service, staff went out of their way to provide a special dietary need. An excellent experience, we will use again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

booked into the holiday inn west in peterborough for my anniversary on arrival we had been upgraded and was made to feel very welcome.
in our room was free bottles of water x2 a tin of pringles and a bar or chocolate as well as the tea/coffee tray.
there were also comfy slippers and a towling robe for each of us.
we spent some time in the pool and jaccuzi before going out for dinner.
had an amaing nights sleep on the biggest bed ive ever seen
in the morning we went down for breakfast and there was enough food to feed an army and just as many choices as well
will definatly stay here again and would definatly reccomend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: definatly book early for good deals and look at an executive suite as definatly worth the little ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a very average hotel. It has a seventies vibe about the place as you pull in, it just doesn't look modern. I was there for work and check in and check out we're ok, and as I was working nights it was fairly quiet.

However I had a twin bedded room which I didn't like as I much prefer a double bed, and the door was very stiff and heavy causing me to drop my room service tray as I tried to put it outside.

Room service itself was ok if a bit limited but it was quick to be delivered. Breakfast was however very good.

I also didn't like the non slip mat in the bath for shower use which appeared to be some sort of strong paper that wrinkled up when it got wet.

To sum up neither good nor bad, just average.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baldipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is very helpful. I am pleased we provided a comfortable base for you and we will work hard to become better than average.

Kind regards,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed here last week as working in Peterborough. I arrived to check in and the blond haired receptionist in her 20's was very unwelcoming - She gave me a very frosty welcome. Someone had spelt me surname wrong when booking my reservation and I had a five minute debate with her that the name they had was wrong. No 'I do apologise let me get your name corrected for you'. I felt like pulling my driving license out as proof of ID in the end.

Room hadn't been cleaned properly as there were the remains of someone else's crunched up crisps on the floor underneath the desk where TV stands. The evening meal was lovely - I had the sirloin steak / Breakfast was just OK.

Would I stay here again.... Erm no - Not unless I had to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am sorry that we did not demonstrate a more caring welcome to you. I will take the time to discuss your impression with the reception team and do hope you will forgive us this shortfall.

Kind regards,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed with a party of work colleagues attending an awards ceremony in the hotel, all of my previous visits here have been great with good efficient service, that has prompted me to use other hotels in the group wherever I can.
This visit was different, the welcome at reception was non-existent, I was clearly registered by someone who was not enjoying their job and I was getting in the way of them doing something else.
After the ceremony we returned to the bar where we wanted to order some food, as the meal had been pretty poor, not sure if that was down to what was requested or another drop in standards, we have used this hotel for large functions and had excellent food and service, but again this had dropped - I don't eat dessert, but they insisted on dropping a plate of some tart or other in front of me and then refused to take it away until I had mashed it into the plate to make it look like it had been eaten.
Anyway returning to the bar, they only had one thing available of what was advertised on the menu, so we ordered three of these. After an hour and a half we were told that the night porter was doing other things and would get round to it when he was ready (it was gone midnight by this point) we told him to forget it and went to bed hungry.

Not a good experience and we will be thinking twice about coming back again, which is a shame because this was a great place to stay, the rooms remain comfortable and clean, but so are the rooms in the other hotels in Peterborough.

Room Tip: Try the Bull, or the Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your recent stay did not measure up to your previous experiences. I will certainly take the time to discuss your observations with the hotel team and we will make efforts to address the points you raise.

Kind regards,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed one night. Fabulous - staff were all excellent, smart, professional, curteous and efficient. Bar staff on saturday evening were attentive and polite. Room layout and cleanliness very good indeed. Food was also very well presented, served up in good time and tasty too. Pool and changing rooms sufficient for a one night stay with polite, well mannered reception staff.
We struggled to find anything wrong with the whole experience. Nice to feel very traditionally English. A spacious building, excellent parking and very reasonably priced. Really impressed. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: It looked like all rooms were very good. No view at back just roof and aircon units looking from 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Generalmanager45, Manager at Holiday Inn Peterborough West, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sam907,

Thank you for your lovely and kind review. It is always encouraging to read of a pleasurable stay.

Kind regards,,

Robert Ford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.9 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
766 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
400 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#8 of 27 in Peterborough
902 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Peterborough West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Peterborough West

Property: Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Address: Thorpe Wood, Peterborough PE3 6SG, England (Formerly Peterborough Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
#4 Business Hotel in Peterborough
#7 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Peterborough West 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Peterborough is situated just 2.5miles from the City Centre and the East Coast mainline train station, 5 minutes drive from the A1M and opposite a challenging 18 hole golf course. The Holiday Inn Peterborough West is easily accessible and ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. Our recent refurbishment means huge investment and fantastic new facilities throughout the hotel including air-conditioning wireless internet access and refurbished bedrooms and bathrooms. With 17 modern, air conditioned meeting rooms, fantastic conference and banqueting facilities, Holiday Inn Peterborough West provides outstanding facilities accommodating up to 400 delegates. A visit to our Club Moativation health and fitness club will help to ensure your feeling at your very best throughout the day with a range of excellent facilities including an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, dance studio, fully equipped gymnasium and beauty salon.Another great place to unwind is our restaurant and bar. Friendly & informal, the perfect venue to relax with friends or colleagues. Our restaurant offers an extensive range of dishes to suit all tastes whilst the bar offers light snacks and drinks throughout the day. In compliance with English Law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking areas at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Peterborough West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Peterborough West Hotel Peterborough
Peterborough Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing