We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel, 1st Class Service”
Review of Haycock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haycock Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this Hotel on our honeymoon in one of their 4 poster bedrooms. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend the Hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a hotel with a touch of class. The staff were very friendly and we received first class service with a smile. Our room was clean and very comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was lovely! Breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice with hot breakfast cooked fresh. We also had an evening meal in the hotel and were very impressed, first class food and superbly presented in a lovely atmosphere. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens, perfect!! The only negative thing (though a minor issue) was that our room was located at the front of the hotel and our windows had only heavy curtains for privacy. Blinds would have made a difference. There are couple of pubs in the area within walking distance but you really do need transport to get the most out of the surrounding countryside. Overall, a fantastic hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Evening meal a must and well worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

We have enjoyed several meals at the Haycock over the last few years. the food has always been good and the service has always been attentive.
This time however our Sunday lunch left us distinctly disappointed. Again we enjoyed lovely food but the service was much slower than it should have been considering that the restaurant was barely a third full with two waiters in the room.
It is a shame that a place with such potential lets itself down with a lack of attentive service.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freckle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have just got back from a wonderful weekend, 2 night stay and I felt I had to let others know what a great place to stay. We had DBB, the food was amazeing the service second to none, from the moment we arrived the friendliness of all the staff was fantastic, infact I would say the most friendly hotel I have stayed. I will deffinately be going back soon.
Sue & Peter (Hertfordshire)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueljcgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Visited The Haycock for the first time having passed it countless times on the A1 always wondering what it was like. 14 of attended a birthday celebration over Sunday lunch and I have to say it was one of the best Sunday lunches out that I have had. Beautifully cooked beef, excellent yorkshire puddings and a good selection of vegetables, preceeded by a lovely smoked salmon starter on a bed of potato salad which was to die for!
The waiting staff were excellent, attentive, warm and friendly and the barman was also first class. I would happily recommend The Haycock and now I've been there after all these years I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

booked a christmas party night at the haycock as a suprise for my daughters 21st celobrations party of 22 guest ! sat 11th dec their 2nd one of the season apparently !,booked 7 rooms to stay over agers from 21 to 65 , stayed for the wk end , good food good drink , tadd pricey tho !!! we add a bottle of bubbly in our room to get ready more than happy to give us bucket of ice and champs glassers ! every bod happy with their rooms . let me in to the ballroom in afternoon to decorate the tables , had a problem with top tier of cake it fell off the cheff sorterd it out for me ! was great . the evening was fab disco good partyied all nite wine on tables pre orderd was good just as arranged ! booked a table of 14 for breakfast to eat to gether was good service good , little problem with a gluten free guest but 21 out of 22 guest all fed watered and partyied the nite away is all good all round id say ! so a big thank you to all the staff at the haycock for makeing my daughters suprise 21st birthday a wonderfull wk end for me and my guest . our pooch even came along and stayed in our room for the nite no problems at all , it made our wk end having him with us and took part in all the celobration .

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cool_leigh912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We visited the Haycock for lunch, despite having read poor reviews of sunday lunch when there was Weddings on, but decided to try nonetheless. ...And sadly we were poorly attended by the staff.
The Waitresses seemed to be in abundance and I could almost excuse the staff for taking so long to bring the menu, so long to bring the wine we ordered, taking so long to bring the bIll that we walked out and tried to pay at the bar, if there was none of them and they were all at the wedding party but there was a few of them and they didn´t seem to be busy or rushed off their feet. The food was excellent and was of worthy of comment but the service was poor and took the shine off a lovely meal.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank TomandBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Me and my husband chose the haycock hotel after attending one of their wedding fairs, where all the staff where above and beyond helpful.
When we decided this was our venue, the wedding co-ordinator theresa, and her staff were there every step of the way.
I could not thank them enough for their passion and enthusiasm, our day was made so special and i couldnt have asked for anything more.
Before the day no question was to much trouble and likewise for special requests.
On the day, our guests were met with the highest of friendliness, cleanliness and enthusiasm.
The food- what can i say, absolutly fantastic... we paraded the head chef to our guests who, like us held him with the highest regard.

We were delayed in leaving our room, the checkout time had passed, this was no problem for the staff, not once did we feel rushed to finish our day, or to leave this fantastic venue.

This small peace of paradise hidden from the a1 was our perfect place to get married.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annycarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#15 of 27 in Peterborough
354 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
852 reviews
5.4 mi away
The William Cecil at Stamford
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#10 of 27 in Peterborough
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haycock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haycock Hotel

Address: London Road | Wansford, Peterborough PE8 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range: £54 - £1,323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haycock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Macdonald Associate Hotel, The Haycock Hotel is one of the finest ­­­­3-star hotels in Peterborough. Set in the idyllic surroundings of Wansford, on the River Nene, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ the motorway and only 80 miles from London, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Our hotel is also a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms.Our hotel in Wansford is perfect for country adventures; roam the amazing countryside and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Haycock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haycock Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing