We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but getting tired”
Review of Haycock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haycock Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norfolk, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but getting tired”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed recently for an event and overall we enjoyed our stay. The History of the hotel is pretty awesome as it was a coaching inn alongside the "great North road" (beautiful location) in the 16th century and the people who have stayed there make up a who's who of the heritage of Britain.
A big old rambling building whose interiors have in part been modernised. Getting a bit tired now and it does need some tender love and care and investment. Although there is free wifi in the lounge and I understand, the business centre... the room WiFi cost £10 for 24 hours. I wish proprietors would realise that as service providers, to pay for WiFi in a hotel (and airport etc) irritates modern users and it becomes another negative point towards staying.
The staff were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    197
    134
    99
    76
See reviews for
153
309
24
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way home. A wonderful atmospheric hotel with a good comfortable room and facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good with good choice for dinner and breakfast.
It is set in a lovely village retaining many of the 17th century features of a coaching inn and with l lovely gardens by the river. The hotel exudes its history. It has all the modern accomplishments to make an enjoyable stay together with the quirkiness of times past.
We would certainly recommend and hope to return again and stay a little longer.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woldsman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights last week and enjoyed almost everything.

The service was outstanding, standard of food is well above average and the staff are a pleasure to deal with.

It is refreshing these days to see the managers mingling with the guests. If only others did the same.

My only concerns are the price of a drink and the bedroom.

£4.00 a pint is unacceptable and will no doubt force gusts to the pub across the street, this must have an impact on the restaurant trade at the Haycock also.

The room was well over due a refurb. It is well maintained and clean but you can tell the staff are trying hard to make something dated look new.

The lack of Internet in the bedroom is also unacceptable in 2012.

I loved my time at the Haycock and will return on a weekend with my wife but due to the lack of Internet I can not use the Haycock again mid week. A shame for me as I have to stay in Peterborough 4 times a month with my work!

My advice, invest in the bedrooms and facilities while keeping up the hard work with the service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markmcg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Bathrooms clearly not had a refit for decades - 80's decor. Toilet barely flushed. Rooms tired and poor cleaning standards - skirting boards black. Bed uncomfortable, but with very tired bedding needs replacing. No card system for electric so you could leave lights on when you leave - I don't agree with this. Also - door doesn't automatically lock like in most hotels. Car park is a health and saftey nightmere.
Food was passable. High point: the staff who try very hard indeed, well done guys.
Location is lovely - Wansford is beautiful - don't miss a trip on the Nene Valley railway while staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germanwelshboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great Hotel now with MacDonalds, staff particularily in reception are amazing, courteous and helpful. THe hotel is a little tired with a restricted menu.A revamp of the restaurant is due. Explore the rates as anumber of local hotels will match or be better value than the Haycock

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to the Executive Rooms which are large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

You get used and expect Ryanair and Easyjet to fleece you at the checkout but never a hotel.
Wrong

Stayed they will helped themselves to a little bit extra. "it's company policy"

As I was attending an event I had no choice but to stay here but wouldn't revisit and urge others not to vist at all.

The bedroom was tired and dated, £4 for a pint seeems a tad steep though the staff were friendly and accomodating.

So if you have to go here book through a consolidator to get the best rates and pay them not the hotel and save yourself a fee.

Simples

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whyayepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed for one night in late September. The room was fine and staff helpful. Our evening meal was expensive (£90 inc wine) and did not come up to expectation. The menu was pretentious, the wine we ordered from the wine list was no longer available, the portions were small and uninspiring and we were told that we owed £5 extra on our bill for the steak main course. There was no mention of this on the menu and after a "discussion" this was changed. When we commented on the size of the portions, a member of staff said that her husband liked big portions too. We don't eat a lot, but do expect to feel satisfied at the end of a meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newlyretiredleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 27 in Peterborough
333 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
778 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#3 of 27 in Peterborough
438 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#6 of 27 in Peterborough
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haycock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haycock Hotel

Property: Haycock Hotel
Address: London Road | Wansford, Peterborough PE8 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haycock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Macdonald Associate Hotel, The Haycock Hotel is one of the finest ­­­­3-star hotels in Peterborough. Set in the idyllic surroundings of Wansford, on the River Nene, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ the motorway and only 80 miles from London, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Our hotel is also a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms.Our hotel in Wansford is perfect for country adventures; roam the amazing countryside and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Haycock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haycock Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing