We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Haycock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haycock Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
GreenLeadersBronze level
putney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have just returned from an amazing stay - from arrival to departure the Hotel team were superb. My business commitments take me all over the country and this is one of the best hotels I have ever been, the staff were attentive, the food was excellent and the room superb. I was in the older part of the building in a spacious split level room, certainly had the wow factor, I will be back with family for a quiet weekend. Compliments to the Manager and staff for maintaining such a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in older part of Hotel are amazing oozing with character
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PutneySimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaycockManager, General Manager at Haycock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your recent stay with us.

The entire team at the Haycock take great pride in maintaining this beautiful hotel and providing outstanding customer service so I am delighted to hear we are one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel with your family in the near future.

Kind Regards
David Moeller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    192
    128
    95
    74
See reviews for
142
303
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My party of 12 attended the hotel's summer ball on Friday 20th June '14 and in all honesty could not fault the hotel staff for their diligence in ensuring that we had a wonderful time. Dinner was very reasonably priced and was excellent, made more palatable by a donation of 10% of the ticket price to "The Parkinsons charity". The hotel demonstrated that they weren't out to increase their profit margin by increasing the cost of their very extensive list of fine wines. The evenings entertainment was provided by a superb live band playing music from the every decade from 50's to the present day. My party stayed the night and were very satisfied with the quality of the beds and room cleanliness. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.

This is the first review that I have written and I am not associated in anyway with the hotel or any member of staff. I've written this review in the hope that you will be tempted to attend their New Years Eve Ball which I'm sure will match our Summer Ball experience. I feel confident enough to book a very much larger party for this event.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in the really beautiful limestone village of Wansford just of the A1 between S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martin_lock20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaycockManager, General Manager at Haycock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Martin,

It is great to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to write your very first Trip Advisor review about the hotel and Charity Ball we held last Friday.

I have passed your wonderful comments onto the team who are all thrilled that our first Charity Ball went so well and raised so much money. One of our continued aims is to contribute and work closely with the wider community and is something we will be aiming to do through our forthcoming events.

I look forward to welcoming you and your guests back at our New Years Eve Dinner Dance.

Kind Regards
David Moeller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First of all it is a beautiful venue and many guests have complimented us on our choice. The location and the hotel itself is very beautiful. Secondly We have been very happy with the service. As our wedding was somewhat unusual in its itinerary and meals offered, we very much appreciated the flexibility shown in every aspect, especially the baking of a German recipe cake. Bryony, the wedding coordinator has been fantastic in the year ahead of our wedding, always friendly and helpful, accommodating our every wish, giving us advise and making sure we do not forget any of the traditional details. Our meetings were most helpful, productive and calming. We were able to decorate the ballroom the night before and it was no issue at all that we were only able to do this during night hours. Any decorating items chosen by us were allowed; lights, bunting, real candles, fantastic. Thank you for recommending the Disco too, our DJ was fantastic and most, if not all, our chosen songs were played. Thanks also to Dan, our coordinator on the wedding day who looked after us very well, he was pleasant to work with and very attentive. We felt well looked after and want to thank all waiters and waitresses as well, which cleared tables quick, worked their way through the lighting of 90 different lanterns and figured out how each one opens. When I asked for more water on the table the young guy came to find me to report it was done. We loved our spacious bridal suite and would stay again any time. We loved sharing breakfast with all our friends in the morning where we were spoilt for choice. All in all the best day of our live, thanks to the Haycock and its staff. We recommend the Haycock, not just for weddings but also for a relaxing lunch in the beautiful garden and surrounded by the lovely houses in Wansford, near Peterborough.

Room Tip: The rooms with window seats are the most beautiful. Big bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaycockManager, General Manager at Haycock Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mandy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the review of your wedding day.

It is always lovely to hear such positive feedback about our staff and the service they provide. I will ensure these comments are passed onto the team.

I am delighted to hear that our team were able to make your big day everything you wished for and we all hope to welcome you both back into the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
David Moeller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The room is old and average and needs some degree of refurbishment. Staff at the reception are one of the most impatient, unfriendly (and perhaps rude) front desks staff I've ever encountered. The hotel looks nice and well kept from the outside but that's all it has to offer. Will not come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaycockManager, General Manager at Haycock Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear CookieMon,

I am deeply saddened to read that your experience of the Haycock was not to your expectations, or to our normal standard as you can see from previous reviews.

Staff training is on-going within the hotel, to ensure that every effort is made to guarantee that all our staff are trained to provide a high level of service. I have spoken with my reception team to ensure that the issues you encountered during your stay are not repeated.

Should you wish to return to the Haycock, please can I ask that you let me know so that I can personally welcome you back to the Hotel.

Kind Regards

David Moeller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to the Haycock for Sunday lunch on Fathers Day. The setting is lovely but unfortunately the food was just not up to scratch. Three of our party had starters (1 x melon, 2 x salmon) which were well presented & tasty. However the main courses (pork & beef roasts) were disappointing. The Yorkshire puddings were chewy, pork dry, roast potatoes weren't crispy, the parsnips were soggy. Overall, the food seemed to have been reheated badly. The desserts were good but didn't make up for the main course. The fathers in our party were treated to a goody bag which was a nice touch. Our bill was adjusted as we were not happy which was good, but we would much rather have had a lovely meal!! Would not rush back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaycockManager, General Manager at Haycock Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Nicola,

I was terribly upset to hear that you were disappointed with your fathers day meal. As a father myself I appreciate the importance of the spending quality time with the family.

I understand that my duty manager on the day adjusted your bill accordingly and should you return to the hotel, can I please ask that you contact me directly prior to your arrival so that I can personally welcome you.

Kind Regards
David Moeller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We had passed through Wansford a few times and noticed the Haycock.

We decided to stop for lunch here. The service was excellent, everyone so polite.

The food was excellent too with brilliant presentation. I had chips, each cuff identically and cooked in lard or dripping I believe.

We'll definitely visit again but this time for dinner.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlennRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaycockManager, General Manager at Haycock Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Glenn

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and the Bentleys Restaurant.

Kind Regards
David Moeller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Myself and now wife had our wedding at The Haycock and the service from start to finish was exceptional. Bryony our wedding coordinator was fantastic answering all of our questions and taking the strain off us both. On the day, Dan took over to make sure everything ran perfectly - and it did. Dan, Bryony, the waiting staff and Diane on reception were all incredible and nothing was too much trouble.
I would highly recommend this venue and not only for weddings. We cannot sing their praises enough and we shall be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tone0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaycockManager, General Manager at Haycock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Tony,


I was delighted to read that you were taken care off, both on the run up to your big day and on your Wedding Day.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the team here at the Haycock, which I have personally passed on.

Wishing you both all the happiness in the future and we hope to be welcoming you back for you anniversary.

Kind Regards
David Moeller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.6 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#2 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#10 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haycock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haycock Hotel

Property: Haycock Hotel
Address: London Road | Wansford, Peterborough PE8 6JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haycock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Macdonald Associate Hotel, The Haycock Hotel is one of the finest ­­­­3-star hotels in Peterborough. Set in the idyllic surroundings of Wansford, on the River Nene, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ the motorway and only 80 miles from London, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Our hotel is also a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms.Our hotel in Wansford is perfect for country adventures; roam the amazing countryside and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haycock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haycock Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing