We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bull Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on several occasions and it's a wonderful place, full of character and charm. Restaurant is really good and service is excellent. The rooms are very comfortable, if a bit on the small side at times, but comfortable beds and very clean. No air conditioning makes the smaller double rooms a bit of a challenge - I'd ask for a desk fan in the summer if I stayed at that time. Lives up to the 4* rating easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prestongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear prestongirl62,
You are very kind, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.
Over fifty per cent of our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, and just a thought, you may wish to upgrade next time to one of these rooms.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    296
    124
    53
    38
See reviews for
102
290
49
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Clean and comfortable with quality decor. A decent breakfast although service a little slow as one person was serving a buffet with quite a queue! Pleasant reception staff, keen to please.
The rooms are a bit dated now but adds to the character! Lots of noise in the night unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Susie101,
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you had a pleasant stay. We are constantly upgrading our bedroom facilities, and trust that if space is an issue that you may wish to upgrade to one of our larger rooms on the next visit. I am sorry, that on this occasion there was some street noise from the front aspect of the hotel, this can on occasions be an issue to just a small number of rooms, and it may be worth remembering to when arranging your next stay, to request a quieter room.
We do of course look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hotel has a very good location right in the heart of Peterborough city centre. Our executive wing room was very nice, spacious, clean with all the mod cons you'd expect and we had a pleasant nights sleep. Staff are very friendly and the wedding reception room was beautifully decorated. Shame there isn't any outside space as Sunday was a fantastic spring day with the sun shining and it would have been nice to have a drink in the fresh air. Only downside to our visit was after checking in when we discovered that our room wasn't ready-hadn't been serviced since the previous occupants had left. Reception handled the issue very well and sent us to the bar whilst another room was found. This room was fine just a shame about the approach to it being littered with dirty laundry and cleaning materials at 15:45pm. Also we weren't best pleased about being woken by House Keeping at 09:15am the next morning to clean our room!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Andrea A,
Thank you for your review, which falls into two halves.
Firstly, I am delighted that you enjoyed the evening reception that you attended, and naturally sorry that at present, we did not have any exterior seating available on the only balmy evening so far this year.
I am also sorry too, for the problems that you experienced as a result of a late group checking out at 3pm on th day of your arrival, this did hamper us slightly, but I am very pleased that our receptionist on duty dealt with the situation well. I shall also speak to our room attendant regarding her zealousness in wanting to clean the room so early.

Regards,

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed at the Bull Hotel for the last three years as we attend a once a year event at the East of England Showground. The staff are always friendly, very helpful and efficient. It is based on one of the main streets of Peterborough and you could quite easily walk past it. But once through the main doors what a contrast - it is like walking back in time but everywhere is comfortable and cosy - even the bar area.
Food is always very good both at breakfast and for evening meals - with just enough choice so you don't spend ages dithering between one dish or the next. Choices of wine are good too.
The rooms are comfortable with everything you could need including ironing board and iron - have had a different room each time and each one has been quiet, tidy and clean.
We will back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Footloose,
This really was a pleasure to read, and I cannot thank you enough.
Thank you for your encouragement, and we will share your review with our team members at one of our next briefing sessions.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our second visit and would definitely go back again. Staff were friendly and efficient. Hotel location is superb for Peterborough city centre just walk out of the front door. Nice to see no car parking charge. Hotel has an old fashioned feel to it, but rooms are very tidy and clean. Food was great both at Breakfast and Dinner. Only slight complaint was that fixed menu did not vary much over the two nights. Other than that would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulturner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Paulturner5,
Thank you for your review, and we are all very pleased that you had a good time.
I have made a special note regarding your comments concerning the special menu and assure you that we will take measures to improve upon this.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
329 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

The Bull is a favorite spot for my Peterborough stays. True English character and historic appeal with all the needed modern conveniences. Solid free wifi walking distance from the remarkable Peterborough Cathedral and modern Westgate Shopping Mall. I recommend the Executive Rooms which are more spacious than Standard Rooms and have the convenience of modern heating & air conditioning. The restaurant and room service are of high quality and staff are courteous and professional with an orientation towards excellent guest service. An easy 10 minute walk to and from the train station or just a £4 taxi ride if you prefer. Walk through the shopping mall if during tgeir opening hours or around its perimeter and over the pedestrian overpass if the mall is closed. A true delight.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear WARSAWRUN,
That was really very kind of you, we are truly very proud of our hotel and take pleasure in doing all that we can within our power, to send our guests away very happy with our efforts, evidently so in your case.
Thank you for letting us know, and I shall make sure that everyone is made aware of your comments during the course of one of our staff briefing sessions.

Kind regards,
Alan M Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

What can i say, this hotel and staff are excellent, we have now stayed at the Bull 5 times over the last 5 years just before Christmas, we stay for 2 - 3 days do our Christmas shopping and have a break all in one go, this Hotel is great for this as you are a stone throw from all the shops, so you don't have to carry your shopping to far.
The Staff are second to none, very helpful and are always their if you need assistance, they even helped us carry our xmas shopping from the Mall to our room one year, when someone spotted us struggling with the bags.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for directions to the car park when you book as this can be difficult to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Nick L,
Thank you for your lovely review, and I was pleased to read that on each of your visits, that you have been pleased with all that the hotel has to offer. I am particularly pleased with your kind words regarding the quality of our excellent people. I believe that they really do set us apart from the rest as we tend to look for something extra in the people that we employ.
Thank you once again, and I hope that we will see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#8 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Property: Bull Hotel
Address: Westgate, Peterborough PE1 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing