We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bull Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff at reception were very kind and helpful. My room was pleasantly purple decorated and was perfect for me, and it overlooked the main street.

Had dinner in the restaurant area for my birthday, the waiters weren't very attentive, however, the dinner itself was nice. I decided to just get room service instead of eating down there again by myself.

Only downside to having a room overlooking the street was at night, it had gotten really rowdy and kept me up. Wandered downstairs and noticed an employee at the door, so I suppose I shouldn't have been too worried about it.

Overall, was a good visit, and if I ever go back to Peterborough, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Very much worth their stars.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front facing main street can get pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulienneCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear JulienneCS,
Thank you very much for your kind words, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I do hope that should you have a need to visit Peterborough again, that you will choose to stay with us.
Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    296
    123
    53
    38
See reviews for
101
290
49
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed for several nights on business. Great Executive double room quiet and comfortable. It was just a shame about the Breakfast experience. Staff were pleasant, but not very efficient, kept having to chase the coffee and toast on each day. The selection of the Full English Breakfast was good however this was let down by the fact that the food was poor from the armour plated bacon to the fact that most of the hot food was tepid at best and cold at worst. In fact on the last day I drove to a local garden centre Dobbies were I had a Good Breakfast for half the price.

Room Tip: executive rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hunterj1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
hunterj 1957,
Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding the hotel. however the comments that you have made regarding breakfast are a great surprise as your description differs greatly from the more typical comments made on this site. Perhaps it was the price that you had some difficulty with, we source local sausages, bacon, and eggs, and as I have said before, we have pay slightly more to the local suppliers for these, and in turn do pass some of this cost on to our guests.I certainly believe that the quality we offer sets us apart from our competitors as we certainly do not provide a £5.99 breakfast such as the one provided in the local garden centres, and motorway service stations nearby, but then, we never set out to do so.

Thank you for letting us know your feedback.

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Not the usual type of hotel I would choose, but was very convenient to where I needed to be.

Has its own car park which is free to use, and was allowed to stay there for a couple of hours after checking out whilst I was on business in the town.

Hotel has a very rustic and old fashioned feel about the place. Bar area is very pleasant, lots of wing back chairs and comfy sofas, so a great place to relax with a drink.

Food was generally very good, the beef & pork burger especially was very nice, though I did find the pate starter to have a very salty taste to it. Breakfast was fine with the usual choice you'd expect of hot and cold offerings.

The room was fine, though may upgrade for a bit more space next time if I stay there again (only had standard room this time), wouldn't describe it as small, it would pass the cat-swinging test, but I would prefer a bit more space if I had to work in there for a bit. Was clean and tidy, though as some have pointed out it is warm and the fans don't do much to cool it down even with the window open. Also being above the car park and in a walled area, any noise does seem to echo and be enhanced so you are well aware of any cars or people coming through.

Staff were helpful and courteous at all times.

Overall very good stay and on the list for a revisit if I am in Peterborough again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisW178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear ChrisW178,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on some future occasion.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The Bull Hotel is an excellent hotel in the centre of Peterborough. It's not like other hotels in Peterborough from the usual chains. It has character and charm.

The staff are friendly and extremely efficient.

I stay at this hotel regularly and I am rarely disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
John ,
Thank you for your kind review, and we are delighted that you enjoy staying with us. We do try to be different from the rest, and thank you for acknowledging this. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Alan M Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really nice hotel. Good parking and nice to be in the city centre.
Room was very nice and clean, great to have aircon! The only one slight issue was that we couldn't get through to anyone at reception for room service so ended up walking down. But that was really no big deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cece520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
cece 520,
Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you had a good stay with us, however sorry that you had a problem attempting to get through to our room service department, we have had problems with our switchboard, and this will be replaced soon, thereby eliminating this problem.
I am glad that this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for one night in room 162 the room was clean but so hot as was the corridor the staff who were working up the were dripping in sweat we couldn't sleep just laid on the bed with a fan on us at £72 we expected more

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillmacbryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Gillmacbryde,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, following your recent stay, which has been duly noted.
It was exceptionally hot weather that we were experiencing at the time of your stay, perhaps with the benefit of hindsight, it may have been worthwhile for you to have upgraded to one of our rooms equipped with full air conditioning.
I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked afternoon tea at the Bull hotel for my wife and I to mark our 5th wedding anniversary. Being a Peterborough native I am very familiar with the Bull and have been there several times for meals and celebrations. We arrived 15 minutes early and greeted by a smiling receptionist who invited us to sit on the sumptuously comfortable sofa in the bar. We were collected promptly and taken to a romantic table for two. The staff are very responsive, polite and attentive. They do not feel rushed or harassed like I have experienced at similar hotels and this engenders a personalised service.

The Bull has a choice of Traditional and Savoury afternoon teas all served on high quality crockery and silverware. Being a traditionalist and liking cake we opted for the former. There is a wide selection of sandwiches so some thinking time may be required. The scones were warm and crumbly just the way I like them and the cream fresh and smooth. Amongst the miniature deserts included a slice of Belgium chocolate torte. It was so dark and rich I savoured every mouthful.

To give some context about how good this experience was, my wife and I have made special trips to Harrogate for afternoon tea at Betties. The Bull had its work cut out for it compared to what is arguably the best afternoon tea in Britain. Without disrespect, Betties has just lost its top spot for me.

I encourage you to sample the exceptional service, quality and surroundings of the Bull. For a city centre hotel it has the feel and style of a country retreat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geekzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
GeekZilla,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, praise indeed.
We are all very pleased with your comments and very grateful to you for posting your thoughts which are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again.
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#9 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#10 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Property: Bull Hotel
Address: Westgate, Peterborough PE1 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing