We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Banyan Tree

The Banyan Tree
Ranked #10 of 417 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

One of the best Indian restaurants I've ever dined at. Some of the dishes were different to traditional Indian takeaways but were delicious. The lamb was particularly tender and highly recommended. Superb.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    120
    43
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great food and lovely surroundings. Menu varied and pricing decent. Service was polite, friendly and attentive. Comfortable and relaxed atmosphere

Would definitely recommend and will be returning.

We found ourselves in this restaurant on a Friday evening without booking, after we were bitterly disappointed with the service we had received in the Brewery Tap



Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 894vickif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and sons took me for a delicious Indian meal in the Banyan Tree, to celebrate my birthday. We have never visited the City Centre one before, just the other local 'Branch' (sorry about that!) in Werrington.

The décor inside was contemporary and very well designed and the food was excellent.

The waiter recommended the lamb dishes, saying that people come from miles around for these.

I went with the recommendation and I must say, the lamb was really tasty and was soooooo tender. - A real delight! - The rest of the family really enjoyed their various dishes as well.

It was a little more expensive than some of the other 'bog standard' curry houses in the city, BUT for a little more we gained so much in quality and really nice surroundings.

- Any regrets? YES!!!! Why has it taken me so long to try this great restaurant?

- Will we return? - Just try stopping me!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank uplandswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A good Korma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

One of my work colleagues arranged for our team to go here for a celebration lunch. The banyan tree is situated in the middle of town and close to our office, so it was ideal. The food was lovely, one of the nicest kormas that ive had. The only thing I would suggest is looking at the drinks menu prior ordering, as some of the beers are rather pricey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food but lacked atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently had a lovely meal here with my wife celebrating our wedding anniversary. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The menu was a cut above most restaurants we have tried in Peterborough. The food when it arrived was very special. The flavours were exceptional and nicely balanced.
Our only gripe would be the lack of atmosphere but this could be put down to day when went and the reasonably early time.
We will be coming back to nice establishment very soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gareth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Banyan Tree also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing